Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold, simple storytelling
I never read this book when I was a boy, and my children missed out on it too. I read it for the first time recently, and this weekend tried it out on my two grandchildren aged five and seven. They've never heard of Ted Hughes, and don't know what a poet laureate is, but they know a good story when they hear one. They came down from the ceiling, sat still and quiet,...
Published on 6 Oct. 2008 by John Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a bit boring for my son!
The start couple of chapters captured the attention of my son; however, the latter chapters included much of a slower pace, and my son wasn't too excited.

Having said that, the book is indeed classical and included much science fiction; however with current 'modernism' science fiction seems much fictional than before!
Published 10 months ago by Ahmed Elmahdy


‹ Previous | 110 11 1216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The iron man review, 31 Jan. 2005
By 
Jack Conrad (Tamworth, England) - See all my reviews
We would give Ted Hughes a medal for this book and opinions added in the book. We thought it was good, the way he includes feelings on both sides of the story and his persistence with this throughout. This book would not have been anything if Andrew Davidson did not put the detail in the shading and all of the rest of the pictures even though he would not be able to if Ted Hughes did not put as much detail into the description of the iron man. The plot is the iron man is not accepted as part of the community and also a strange monster comes to take over the world. What will happen? The main characters are Hogarth, the iron man and the monster. Hogarth lives in what we think is England. That is the setting of the book. The repetition of Ted Hughes made the book an interesting book to read because it keeps you on the edge of your seat. A five star book and still a top class book to read in primary schools around the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kilmorie Butterflies review of The Iron Man, 9 July 2012
This review is from: The Iron Man: A Children's Story in Five Nights (Paperback)
Hogarth is a little boy who has a big adventure. Whilst out fishing he meets a man made entirely out of iron. His head is as big as a bedroom and his eyes were like the headlamps of a car.
The farmers decide to trap the iron man to stop him eating all of the farm machinery and they feed him on scrap metal instead.
After a while a huge space bat angel dragon landed on Australia, his head was resting in the Atlantic Ocean. News of this quickly spread around the world. The Iron man told the government of his plan to defeat the space bat angel dragon and there was a battle of challenges.
To find out whether the Iron Man is victorious enter the world of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as gift., 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iron Man: A Children's Story in Five Nights (Paperback)
Grandson liked this one too. Bought along with 'The Hodgeheg'' and 'The Twits'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read it before handing it over as it will not be on the shelf long., 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iron Man: A Children's Story in Five Nights (Paperback)
In the school library as a good book. Getting rather tatty as very well liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy lay out and as actual book, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Downloaded to support child's school work. Easy lay out and as actual book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iron Man: A Children's Story in Five Nights (Paperback)
This is a must read. Fantastic descriptions, wonderful language...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great modern fairytale with a sci-fi twist. Kids love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book for children, parents and grandparents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fantastic Iron Man, 24 Jun. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Iron Man: A Children's Story in Five Nights (Paperback)
I think that The Iron Man was fantastic because its not normal and its full of imaganation. When it said about the bit where iron man fell a part it made me and my friend laugh.In the end when the space bat angel came into the story it was boring!It was just like bla bla bla.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Iron Man: A Children's Story in Five Nights (Paperback)
My 7 year old grandson is enjoying reading this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Iron Man: A Children's Story in Five Nights
The Iron Man: A Children's Story in Five Nights by Ted Hughes (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2005)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews