Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal introduction to poetry
This anthology - along with my S-Level English teacher - first introduced me to poetry. I would recommend it to anyone interested in poetry or the history of poetry or anyone looking to introduce someone to poetry. The selection is a wise one, for most of the poems are short and therefore digestible and accessible (particularly to children). The scope of the selection...
Published on 22 Nov 2006 by Andrew Lewsey

versus
23 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for beginner and poetry aficionado alike
... This is one of my favourite poetry anthologies. It contains a remarkably varied collection of poems covering both traditional forms and free verse, but all have obviously been carefully chosen for their accessibility. This could have resulted in a poetic 'pudding' - a mass of middle-of-the-road verse with nothing to challenge or delight the more experienced reader -...
Published on 18 Mar 2003 by S. Willans


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Rattlebag review, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
It is a grand selection of poetry with something for every mind.
My previous volume was getting dog-eared with pages missing - the answer was to get a replacement of the same book.
Seamus Heaney and Ted Hughes put together this book with old and much loved poems but many new ones as well from lesser known writers. Their selection may be hit and miss for some but will always entertain the thought buds of the many. ( i cant believe I wrote that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heaney and Hughes,an unbeatable pairing., 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
An exciting and thought provoking mix of choices by two of our greatest modern poets.Ideal for many different age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should have this!, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
A lovely book to keep and dip into time and again. You'll never get tired of this collection. I've recommended it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Lucinda (NEWTOWNABBEY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
I bought this as I had it recommended to me. I wanted a good anthology of poetry and this delivers. Delivery etc was all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must' for poetry lovers, 8 April 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Savage "anniebelle" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
A marvellous anthology. Many unknown, memorable poems and the system, alphabetical order, juxtaposes poems on different subjects .I thought it would be all modern but I was wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun to dip into, 4 Jan 2013
By 
J. Lockwood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Being organised alphabetically, this collection discourages the reader from attempting any systematic reading of the poems. Instead, you are encouraged to just take a 'lucky dip'. The choices are inspired and different from most anthologies. Marketed as a children's book, but equally inspiring for adult reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rattlebag, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
Recommended by my son. I would recommend it to anyone just beginning to read poetry. It is a great mixture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rattle Bag - far from being a rag bag, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lover of poetry, anf having heard this was one of the best poetry collections, I was delighted with the book - and, as promised by the supplier, it came in very good condition. So another great 'used' book purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry (Paperback)
one of the best anthologies I have read, contains a broad range of styles, very few of which I skip when reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A congenial companion, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Rattle Bag (Hardcover)
The choice and sequence of the poems by Heaney and Hughes is a bit like a lively conversation, ranging over ever topic under the sun in a truthful way. I see that the previous reviewer accidentally hit one star instead of five. I agree with all she said about this book, and hope my five stars will help readers when they consider this collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry
The Rattle Bag: An Anthology of Poetry by Ted Hughes (Paperback - 17 Mar 2005)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews