Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second part of my favourite duet ever
This is a truly compelling and wonderful novel. Following on from `The rainbow opera' it is the perfect second half of the `dreamhunter duet'. Together they create a great story, following realistic characters that you can't help but care for. It is suited more to older teenage girls as it incorporates adventure, love and magic but still relates to the real world. The...
Published on 16 July 2008 by Miss Leola

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Logie
this book is a bit confusing at first and took a while to get into but it got better as it went on. Stick with cause you will enjoy it
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by D. Beer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second part of my favourite duet ever, 16 July 2008
By 
Miss Leola (York, England) - See all my reviews
This is a truly compelling and wonderful novel. Following on from `The rainbow opera' it is the perfect second half of the `dreamhunter duet'. Together they create a great story, following realistic characters that you can't help but care for. It is suited more to older teenage girls as it incorporates adventure, love and magic but still relates to the real world. The language may be a little hard for younger readers because of the time it is set. To me, there is nothing missing from this duet but I can understand that it may start a little slow for some people but once you have gotten into it, there's no putting it down. It will have you dreaming constantly and will stay with you long after the final page has been turned. There are even some unexpected surprises, which keep you engaged chapter after chapter. I would recommend this duet to older readers who love fantasy, especially if the idea of `dreamhunters' fascinates you, like it does me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rest of the story to the 'The Rainbow Opera', 10 Oct 2008
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the sequel to Elizabeth Knox's 'The Rainbow Opera' - in fact it's more like the second part of the first book, where both books make up the 'DreamHunter Duet'. Can't really say what the book is about, as it would rather give away the first book's story-line. The books title says it all anyway. The second my daughter [14] finnished 'The Rainbow Opera' she wanted this book ASAP. My daughter loved both books and highly recommends them. Don't get confused and buy 'DreamHunter' by the way, as that is the US title for the first book [called 'The Rainbow Opera' in the UK].

Kiwi author Elizabeth Knox lives in Wellington [New Zealand] and has won many literary awards, with her most famous novel being the 19th Century romp 'The Vintner's Luck' about a visitation by an Angel. Her style can be described as 'poetic and intense, obsessed perhaps with the concepts of consciousness, sensation, and memory, plus she has a dead eye for atmospheric and telling landscapes'. She's also quite funny as well.

Potted plotline to 'The DreamHunter Duet': Laura lives in a world just like ours but with one difference, her world has The Place. The Place 'is an unfathonable land filled with all kinds of dreams that are invisible to all but a select few. The celibrated Dreamhunters catch larger-than-life dreams and relay them to audiences at the magnificent palace of dreams: The Rainbow Opera'. But within The Place lies a dark........

Sounds interesting? Is The Place just a land of dreams or is it also, perhaps, the stuff of nightmares? Well get the books and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting sequel, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was every bit as good as the first in the series. It was an exciting and fast moving story, an original idea and it ended well. As with most children's books, it had a happy & satisfying ending which is sometimes what you want from a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dream quake, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought the first book on a whim, then found out there was a second book, hence straight onto amazon and ordered the book, it was with me within 2 days read it the same day, thoroughly enjoyed the both books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very happy to find there was a sequel to the dream opera, and it did not disappoint. The plot was well thought out with a good ending that answered all the questions and mysteries created throughout the story, with several unexpected twists throughout. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars leaves you wanting more !!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The final and second book, brilliant older teen fiction bought for my daughter but i have devoured every second of them as well.

The plot line keeps you guessing till the end with an unexpected twist.

The only slight negative is that i felt the very end was too rushed and left you wanting to know more of the characters. Maybe this is just because they were so enjoyable you don't want to leave them behind.

Thought provoking and very original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute perfection. Beautiful language and vivid imagery. A great imaginative journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Logie, 11 Oct 2009
By 
D. Beer "Logie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this book is a bit confusing at first and took a while to get into but it got better as it went on. Stick with cause you will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dream Quake (Dreamhunter Duet)
The Dream Quake (Dreamhunter Duet) by Elizabeth Knox (Hardcover - 4 Jan 2007)
£11.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews