Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great under all aspects
I'm italian and I know italian literature about the Great War is excellent both in quality and in breadth (altough it is often more devoted to specific topics than to general overviews of the whole war). It is always interesting to see it from a foreigner's point of view, years ago I read Schindler's Isonzo that while it had some qualities it also left a lot to be...
Published on 4 May 2009 by R. Barbieri

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The White War
Well written and very well researched but it is impossible to follow the battle descriptions without a seperate atlas opened. The book almost fatally lacks decent maps. I have had to use a wine atlas which has reasonably good detailed maps of the relevant areas to get a good understanding of Mr. Thompson's otherwise excellent battle narratives.
Published on 25 Sept. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars It's difficult to add to the many excellent reviews below, 26 Feb. 2015
It's difficult to add to the many excellent reviews below, but I remember this as one of the finest works of military history I have ever read. And of course it's not simply a history of a war: Thompson writes beautifully about the culture and society that produced the war, and the literature that the conflict provoked. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good coverage of the overall political context and a few ..., 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good coverage of the overall political context and a few personal accounts that brings the writing to life. A bit light if you are interested in the more tactical context of the actual fighting in mountains but this is not meant to be criticism of the quality of the book, it is just an observation on the focus of the narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WW1 History, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very Interesting, While dreadful things were happening at the Battlefields in France this book "The White War" gives an insight and moving account of what it was like on the Italian front. My Uncle was there and I now understand what he went through as he fought and was wounded at Trentino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The White War: Life and Death on the Italian Front, 1915-1919 (Paperback)
For someone whose grandparents were from this area its a great read for a background on how Trento/Alto Adige ended up as being Italian provinces. It also shows how the Italian army did things and I am still amazed the Austro-Hungarians didn't end up conquering all of Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White War review, 19 April 2011
This review is from: The White War: Life and Death on the Italian Front, 1915-1919 (Paperback)
This book is so interesting for those who would like to learn about the little-known war being fought on the Italian/Austro-Hungarian front during WWI. With so much attention given to WWI struggles in the better-recorded areas, it is easy to overlook the battles that were fought and the hardships endured on the Italian front. A great insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The White War, 25 Feb. 2010
By 
Rita (England UK) - See all my reviews
This is a remarkable historical record, researched in great detail. It makes compulsive reading. We discovered the area of the battle when on holiday a year ago and were delighted to find that a book had already been written on the subject. It gives all the information we could want, and makes enthralling reading on an appalling subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars personal history, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White War: Life and Death on the Italian Front, 1915-1919 (Paperback)
carefully written. personal voyage, well recorded.
if you want that delicate feel as to what happened in the war then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks!, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White War: Life and Death on the Italian Front, 1915-1919 (Paperback)
Excellent book about the little known WWI conflict between the Italians and Austro/Hungary always over shadowed by the war in Flanders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White War: Life and Death on the Italian Front, 1915-1919 (Paperback)
Highly recommend if you are interested in this period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good only criticism the maps were not too clear on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The White War: Life and Death on the Italian Front, 1915-1919
The White War: Life and Death on the Italian Front, 1915-1919 by Mark Thompson (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews