Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab
If you only show your children one poem, make sure it's this one. The touching and powerful Arthurian legend is brought to life miraculously in this rendition by Simon Armitage, which (unlike previous translations) will never leave you scratching your head and saying "What does that mean?" Despite retaining the strange and lovely alliterative verse of the original, the...
Published on 29 Mar 2008 by Jonathan Birch

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lean
Despite being a (former) English student and current English teacher, I have to honestly admit to finding this unfulfilling. I was very excited upon receiving this for Christmas, as I am both a fan of Armitage's work and genuinely attracted to older texts. There's absolutely nothing wrong with the poet's translation, and it is very accessible, however I just found it dull...
Published on 15 April 2012 by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (Paperback)
Great, book needed for uni studies, good for those who are interested in poetry as I needed this for my creative writing part of my English Degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff., 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved every line of this. Armitage's translation has a rich earthy quality that compliments the sensual undertone of this epic poem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be happier!, 2 Jan 2012
By 
Peter Bryld (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (Paperback)
This is a wonderful translation by Armitage. I REALLY like how it follows the alliterative form. It was easy to read as well.

Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful book, made to be read aloud. The descriptions and the marvellous alliteration captivated me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. D. Brown (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully done, the best of the many translations out there and a nicely produced hardback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (Paperback)
It's all that I expected, excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lean, 15 April 2012
Despite being a (former) English student and current English teacher, I have to honestly admit to finding this unfulfilling. I was very excited upon receiving this for Christmas, as I am both a fan of Armitage's work and genuinely attracted to older texts. There's absolutely nothing wrong with the poet's translation, and it is very accessible, however I just found it dull and uninspiring; sorry but there it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANGLO SAXON FOR EVERYONE, 9 Mar 2010
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (Paperback)
I READ THIS BOOK AT THE SAME TIME AS THE NEW TRANSLATION OF "BEOWULF".
I CAME TO BOTH "FRESH" AND AS A STRANGER AND WAS ENTHRALLED.
THE TRANSLATION OF THE PROSE IS TRULY IMAGINATIVE AND YOU SUDDENLY REALISE HOW THESE ANGLO SAXON WORKS HAVE BEEN PLUNDERED OR MINED FOR MATERIAL AND IDEAS IN MORE RECENT TIMES.
TO QUOTE JUST TWO EXAMPLES.....WAGNER'S "RING CYCLE" AND TOLKEIN'S "LORD OF THE RINGS".

IF YOU ARE TRULY INTERESTED IN ENGLISH LITERATURE BE LIKE ME AND TAKE THE PLUNGE IT IS WELL WORTH IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight by Simon Armitage (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews