Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but scary
A storyteller is pulled in by police for investigation into a number of child murders. The author's stories feature brutal, harrowing and explicy child murders, all told in a eerie fairytale manner, and the murderer has been copying these scenarios. So. inevitably the police suspect the author is the murder and set to break him into confessing.
This is a great play,...
Published on 26 Jan 2004 by salemskye.com

versus
1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hardly likely
I have to say that I read this book with great enthusiasm, desperately looking for the point of it all. Martin McDonagh has of late, started writing plays which do not centre around olde-Ireland. This can be quite a shock when one sees In Bruges and The Pillowman. Having seen this production lately by a Galway group, I can say that the play is far from overated. Far...
Published on 11 Mar 2009 by Portaderry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but scary, 26 Jan 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
A storyteller is pulled in by police for investigation into a number of child murders. The author's stories feature brutal, harrowing and explicy child murders, all told in a eerie fairytale manner, and the murderer has been copying these scenarios. So. inevitably the police suspect the author is the murder and set to break him into confessing.
This is a great play, and written with such energy that it really needs to be seen in performance. But if living in a theatrical vacuum like me , the second best option to to buy the text and 'play' the scenes out in your head.
The shocking conclusion is just as brutal and harrowing as some of the authors stories, and leaves you cast adrft in your thoughts. Cracking play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossibly Funny, 24 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
This play deserves a resounding cheer for managing to approach a potentially controversial and difficult subject (the massacring of tiny infants) with startling ease and intelligence. The dialogue is second to none, and the play offers excellent two and three-handers for theatre students to use for rehearsal and showcase purposes. I was lucky enough to watch the play at it's recent run at the National Theatre, and the production lived up to the writing in winning style. I was lucky enough to get my copy signed by the entire cast, and I can't stop re-reading this truly brilliant play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
An integral play in modern and current drama. Incredible script and should be read by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
For all those 1st year students this book is a must read, a very twisted drama which many critics have portrayed as a sexual abuse towards kids but there's more to it, a story that tells a story and really opens your mind to the truth of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant play!, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
I saw this at the theatre and loved it. It is simply superb, dark, funny and yet surprisingly playable characters for actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully Dark, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
The plot is about the detention of a playwright, who is suspected to be involved in a series of gruesome murders, which are eerily similar to the Grimm-like stories he has written. It is a engaging piece of writing and I would recommend it to anyone who's not afraid to explore the darker side of humanity and fairy tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars storytelling, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
I say I love it but that's not really how you would describe it. Love it in the sense that it is well written and even though the subject matter is quite hard to swallow it was a fascinating read. Recommend second reading though as the first time around you get caught up in murders of the children by the storyteller (won't give anything away) so on second reading you start to question Katurian's motives for writing such horrific stories, somehow reminding me of Grimms fairy tales. A must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is my favorite thing that I've ever read., 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
Maybe I just ruined it for you, but seeing how, like many great things it succeeds on multiple levels, at least three; I don't think I did. How something can be so incredible and fly under my radar for so long is one of the things that would keep me up at night if anything could. The "In Bruges" writer/director gives large doses of the only two qualities I want: wit and profundity. The dialogue is superb, but even it takes a back seat to the overall depth and pure story that unfolds. I abhor gruesome things, but unlike a young B.E. Ellis a young M.M. spins the grotesqueness to achieve something more than just thoughtfulness about the pure shock of it.

I jumped on this because Adam on Filmspotting said it was amazing, so I owe him yet again. Please tell me something that reaches the heights (wrong word) of The Pillowman with anything close to the same economy and I'll read it immediately. I'm almost glad I read this instead of seeing the play because I had time to stop and laugh out loud, and some remove from the intensity. NOTE: I read this in two sittings, 1/3 first and then the rest the next night; I assume this had a positive effect and ensured substantial immersion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The price of storytelling, 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
This is a wonderfully worded play by McDonagh. By means of a totalitarian setting, this is a concise portrayal of the social responsibility of writing, sly elements of literary criticism, and the magnificent power of words. Shocking, exciting, and hard hitting, I imagine its true power would be seen in its intended stage performance. A must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like "In Bruges"? You'll like this., 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pillowman (Paperback)
Martin McDonagh's "The Pillowman" may not seem as thought out as his 'Irish' plays but it's incredibly enjoyable - either in production or on the page. You often get a sense reading it, that you could (if you wanted to, and had the collected works of Pinter and Beckett, and a DVD of Czech absurd theatre) write this yourself. Overall, it doesn't seem inspired. But there are inspired moments - little touches that McDonagh has probably been storing in a notebook. Like the alternative story of Hamlin, where a man chops off a boys ears ( - thereby saving him from the Pied Piper).
The setting in a police interrogation room can be interpreted as fantastical or nondescript - it's particularly Kafka-esque. It's easy to take a lot of this play for granted, but at it's heart is a difficult relationship between two brothers.
If you liked the irreverent comedy and relationships of McDonagh's "In Bruges", you'll definitely enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pillowman
The Pillowman by Martin McDonagh (Paperback - 20 Nov 2003)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews