Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars11
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2009
This book is really good for a huge mixture of long and short monologues as well as a diverse range of emotions and genres. I especially liked the fact that it gives a long explanation about the play the extract is from, who first performed it, as well as when and where. The description really helps you understand the main plot of the play, how the characters relate to your character and how your character is feeling at the piece you have.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
We bought this book for our 18 year old daughter to help her with her auditions for drama school.
The monologues were great just what she needed and she has been offered two places so it really helped!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
This is a pretty good book for any ambitious actress or anyone who needs to find a monologue. I would have like to have seen more variety and more well known plays BUT when going for an audition perhaps the less well known the better!
It also gives the reader a good insight into the play and character behind the monologue as well - useful tool !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Book has lot's of different monologues, the only downside is that it doesn't mention character age, which makes this process of find a monologue that's suitable for you very hard.
I like the ''The Contemporary Monologue: Women'' book by Michael Earley much much better!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
Arrived promptly, bought as a present for my daughter a good book if you are studying theater, I would highly recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Even though I did find the monologue book helpful it would have been better if I could preview some of the monologues in the book as a lot of them were not British and a lot were also unknown so were not suitable for me. However, interesting book and some suitable monologues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Some interesting monologues but overall I didn't find it very helpful and I wanted monologues with a lot of passion in them. If that's what you're looking for then I wouldn't recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Just the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I got this for my teen daughter in High School. I hope she will use it. The cover is very un-appetizing. The book is for adults, so no pictures or anything. But the monologues look varied and have some directorial comments beforehand to help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse