Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doubtful edition of good book
No edition of Larkin's poems could ever be a waste of paper, and anybody without them should buy at once: but please note that this is not the 1980s edition of the same name, and has been cut. It has the same title and editor, and looks like the same book - indeed its blurb is the same - but many of his juvenile poems are omitted and the arrangement is no longer...
Published on 4 April 2003

versus
184 of 189 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The wrong edition
If you want an edition that doesn't contain more than forty poems from Larkin's maturity, then this is the one for you. If, however, you would like to be able to read what Blake Morrison called 'Larkin's last great poem' ('Love Again') or other examples that stand comparison with his best work, like 'Marriages', 'Letter to a Friend about Girls', 'Strangers', 'Autumn',...
Published on 22 Dec 2007 by Mr. C. O. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A poetry of ideas, 8 Jan 2010
This review is from: Philip Larkin: Collected Poems (Paperback)
A very enjoyable collection of poems covering a wide range of subject matter. Larkin's poetry is primarily a poetry of ideas - about life and how we live it - and it contains many rewarding insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collected Poems, 9 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I found Larkin whilst studying for my A-Levels, so was a perfect poet for an angst ridden teenager! His poems are often cynical and bitter, but there is often so much more to them that just that. On reflection and with repeated readings as an adult, you see the depth in the themes Larkins writes of, as well as the eloquent way he does so. It would be easy to dismiss him as just another 'grumpy old man', but you'd be missing so much.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was in exceptional condition with only slight fading to the page edges and the priced corner of the dust jacket cut away. Delivery was prompt. I am pleased to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He knew a lot about being human., 9 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Philip Larkin: Collected Poems (Paperback)
Remarkable, beautiful, sad.

These poems have meant so much to me all through my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Larkin: Collected Poems (Paperback)
It was what I wanted!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Critical, truthful and revealing., 17 Aug 2009
This review is from: Philip Larkin: Collected Poems (Paperback)
There is no doubt that the poetry in this book is brilliant. larkin was a master at conveying his thoughts and criticisms of mankind. His diction evokes strong imagery and his critical mind also had the ability to pick up the details of life, which every human can identify themselves with. The standard of poety is five-star, however, the pleasure I gained from reading the poetry was only four-star. This was simply due to personal taste, and I would nevertheless highly recommend this to anyone enthused by poetry. While this edition may not contain all of Larkin's poems, it does give a good range of his work and is certainly worth while for anyone reading him for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philip Larkin, 23 April 2004
This review is from: Philip Larkin: Collected Poems (Paperback)
I studied the Whitsun Weddings for my A Level English Literature course,that was the first time i was ever introduced to Larkin's poetry, and ihave to confess at that time i found him to be a severely bleak anddepressive writer. However, that is not to say i didn't like his poetry,in fact i found it refreshing to read something with such a realisticoutlook. The thing about Philip Larkin is that he doesn't dress anythingup, he tells it purely how he sees it, and quite often this is what deterspeople from reading him. I would urge people not to be deterred though,because although he may be difficult for some people to get to grips with,Larkin is an excellent poet and well worth the effort of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collected Poems by Philip Larkin, 19 Jun 2009
By 
Ratbag (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Larkin: Collected Poems (Paperback)
Excellent collection of the author's poems. I was amazed at how many the collection included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A librarian's lofty disdain., 28 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Collected Poems (Paperback)
The view from Larkins' ivory tower was such that he felt able to look down on and sneer at much of "ordinary" humanity, a somewhat typically British, middle-class disposition. This stance is redeemed, however, by his keen understanding of the deep undercurrents that animate and sustain society, such as the quest for meaning and significance in an otherwise bleak and uncaring world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too few stars allowed to show my full assessment, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
Philip Larkin is the greatest (and most under-rated) poet in English. This book should be owned, continuously and closely retained, and shared with others as if it were Holy Scripture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philip Larkin: Collected Poems
Philip Larkin: Collected Poems by Philip Larkin (Paperback - 17 Feb 2003)
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews