Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, melancholy and necessary
A meditation on the thousands and thousands of people who go missing in the UK every year, some deliberately, some due to harm coming to them but many simply falling between the cracks of society, taken away by dementia, drugs, unhappiness. Deeply sad and moving.
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Jo Bennie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual writing style
The author's writing style is more of a recording of events which doesn't suit my taste or interests. Struggling to finish it and it's not a long book!
Published 8 months ago by Hannah


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, melancholy and necessary, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Missing (Paperback)
A meditation on the thousands and thousands of people who go missing in the UK every year, some deliberately, some due to harm coming to them but many simply falling between the cracks of society, taken away by dementia, drugs, unhappiness. Deeply sad and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the missing touch all our lives, 12 July 2003
By 
Linda Boa (By Oban, Argyll United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Missing (Paperback)
What does it mean to be "missing" at the end of the 20th century? This is the question Andrew O'Hagan poses in this incredibly thought provoking study of his fascination, which began in childhood, of the people who "disappear" from society. He examines all the possible reasons, from crime to depression to abuse at home to disillusionment with life. We meet young runaways, grieving parents, and many others whose life has been touched by loss. This is a must-read for anyone who wishes to consider the implications of the breakdown of community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual writing style, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing (Paperback)
The author's writing style is more of a recording of events which doesn't suit my taste or interests. Struggling to finish it and it's not a long book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift., 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing (Paperback)
This was purchased as a gift so i haven't read it myself, the person i purchased it for has enjoyed reading it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Grossly overrated, I'm sorry, 3 Feb 2013
By 
J. Wilkie "Captain Pantoja" (West of Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Missing (Paperback)
I'm a fan of O'Hagan and the stated aim of this book is laudable but it simply doesn't deliver. Of course the stories of the Missing persons are elusive and not easy to write about no doubt but I felt cheated by the end.
1. Over half the book is O'Hagan's childhood biography and really nothing to do with missing persons (though well written and perfectly readable)
2. The last 40 pages is a fairly thin retelling of the stories of Fred West's victims- hardly typical of the 200,000 missing persons talked about.

So that leaves about 60 pages of investigative reportage from around London mainly, meeting various runaways etc but never getting very far with any of it. Like a long article in the Sunday papers.

I wonder if O'Hagan looks back at this book with any embarrassment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just started reading the book 'The Missing', 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Missing (Paperback)
I have just started reading this book and so far I am enjoying it. I look forward to picking it up again every time I put it down. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Missing
The Missing by Andrew O'Hagan (Paperback - 6 May 2004)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews