Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book
Deserves its status as a 'modern classic' - should be read by every 9-10 year old (and every narrow-minded teacher - see above) who thinks that only boys can play football and that all little girls wear frilly pink dresses and play with dolls! Entertaining and thought-provoking.
PS the theft of the 10 note is not seen as 'cool' and much of the story revolves around...
Published on 21 Jun 2008 by Kate Cooks

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the turbulent term of tyke tiller
this book charts the mischivievous emploits of tyke tiller and his best friends pitthead and danny writen by Gene Kemp. This book is one of those books which has a great storyline with a adventure based genre. It is all about a friendship between tyke and dannny, who will do just about anything for each others friendship to stay as close as ever. There's even a twist:...
Published on 8 Dec 2009 by K. Cope


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 21 Jun 2008
By 
Kate Cooks (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler (Faber Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Deserves its status as a 'modern classic' - should be read by every 9-10 year old (and every narrow-minded teacher - see above) who thinks that only boys can play football and that all little girls wear frilly pink dresses and play with dolls! Entertaining and thought-provoking.
PS the theft of the 10 note is not seen as 'cool' and much of the story revolves around Tykes effort to return the money to its rightful owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 July 2007
By 
V. Blackledge "Viv" (Hull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had the audio cassette of this book when I was younger, my sister and I loved it so much we wore the tape out!! This story is cleaver and funny, with a revelation at the end, the story is so engaging you almost forget the twist every time you read (or listen) to it.

Every child should read this brilliant story!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler should be read by all girls and boys, 8 July 2008
Once in a while, a story with a simple but brilliant twist comes along and says, "Now why would you think that?" Such is the case in this story of best friends Tyke Tiler and Danny Price, who wreak havoc wherever they go. Not that they always do it intentionally. Danny, not being the brightest crayon in the box, doesn't always know not to take ten pounds from a teacher's purse. Fortunately, Tyke is always there trying to set things straight.

The whole term is a trial for Tyke who has to, at one time or another, fish a sheep's skeleton from a stream, perform chores around the house, steal a test to make sure Danny passes it, deliver electoral leaflets around town and beat up either slimy Martin Kneeshaw or his henchman Kevin Simms. But the real challenge is ringing the broken school bell that was last rung by an ancestor of Tyke's a long time ago. Climbing the roof without a ladder and pushing the bell without falling off or damaging the school will be the real test of Tyke's daring.

Tyke, of course, is a nickname and the subtle hints all over the book of how horrible the real name is sets the reader up for the surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, thought provoking., 21 May 2002
By A Customer
This book is excellent for teachers to use as a whole class book at Key Stage 2. I read it in year 7 and thoroughly enjoyed it. It focuses on Family life, school life and gender issues. There are chapters which touch on strong personal feelings and also politics. I highly recommend this book, which will surprise you until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service. I purchased this book for my husband as he said it was the book that got him enthusiastic about reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a stocking filler at Christmas for my grandson. He was pleased with it and thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found an old edition in a library in a small town near Paris. I liked this book
and was astonished that there are no new copies in amazon in USA.
My 11-years old daughter also liked the book. It is nicely written
and has unexpectable ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Turbulent term of Tyke Tiler, 24 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler (Faber Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book when my godmother gave it to me as a birthday present! It was a enjoyable read and it had everyday problems in it! It has a big twist in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the turbulent term of tyke tiller, 8 Dec 2009
By 
K. Cope - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this book charts the mischivievous emploits of tyke tiller and his best friends pitthead and danny writen by Gene Kemp. This book is one of those books which has a great storyline with a adventure based genre. It is all about a friendship between tyke and dannny, who will do just about anything for each others friendship to stay as close as ever. There's even a twist: just when you thought you were sure of something it turns out all different. :) :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent and funny book with a surprise ending. My granddaughter (10) really enjoyed this and would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler (Faber Children's Classics)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews