Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written collision of fact and fiction
I read this book whilst on leave for 2 weeks and have nothing but praise for it. The writing is liquid and the characters are defined and developed so brilliantly, it's a real pleasure to read. It is a fairly long book, but it's one worth persevering with.
I shed a tear or two towards the end, which surprised me as much as it did the author in the part of the book...
Published on 2 Aug 2005 by Steve Dimmick

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really a beach read
I bought this book as a holiday read but its not really a page turner, although the author does try to create a bit of suspense by only unfolding the full story right near the end.
Having been brought up in Rhodesia/Zimbabwe I was quite interested in some of the early origins of the country and this book gave some of that insight, especially the period of the early...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by TJ Birchall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written collision of fact and fiction, 2 Aug 2005
By 
Steve Dimmick "@CardiffRead admin" (Cardiff & London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Paperback)
I read this book whilst on leave for 2 weeks and have nothing but praise for it. The writing is liquid and the characters are defined and developed so brilliantly, it's a real pleasure to read. It is a fairly long book, but it's one worth persevering with.
I shed a tear or two towards the end, which surprised me as much as it did the author in the part of the book I was reading!
To provide you with a synopsis is tough as the book combines so many genres, being as it is part biography, part travel book, part history, part page turner, part autobiography etc etc.
In a nutshell, Owen Sheers finds an old book in his father's study that details the life and work of Arthur Shearly Cripps. Owen's intrigued that one of his ancestors was a poet too and decides to investigate to find out more.
Sheers then combines an account of the investigation whilst imagining the life and times of Shearly Cripps... By the close of the book you feel that you've gained a real feel for both Arthur and Owen and a real respect for Father Cripps and the African people he befriended.
Looking forward to the next novel from this already acclaimed poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really a beach read, 10 Aug 2010
By 
TJ Birchall (Weybridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Paperback)
I bought this book as a holiday read but its not really a page turner, although the author does try to create a bit of suspense by only unfolding the full story right near the end.
Having been brought up in Rhodesia/Zimbabwe I was quite interested in some of the early origins of the country and this book gave some of that insight, especially the period of the early 1900's whne it was moving from a tribal community to one dominated by European norms of land ownership and trade.

I think this along with books such as Mukiwa, The Crocodile eats the Sun and Don't lets go to the Dogs Tonight give some sense of what it was like to be a European growing up in an African country.

A good read...but a lot more cerebral than a beach book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIDN'T GATHER ANY DUST IN MY HANDS..., 15 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Hardcover)
One to fox the Faber marketing department, perhaps - defiantly planted in the middle of a triangle whose three points are The Novel, Biography and Travel Writing - this is a great book, and all the more exciting for breaking out of any category you try and put it in.
Sheers is fortunate to have uncovered as interesting an ancestor as Arthur Cripps, a poet and radical missionary to Zimbabwe in the early years of the 20th century. The beauty of The Dust Diaries, though, is that he's extrapolated and expanded the sketchy information previously available about Cripps into a spell-binding narrative. By turns celebratory and mourning - awash with fury, brimful of joy - The Dust Diaries is a necessary book about Zimbabwe, its history and its present. A book about one individual whose extraordinary influence, there and then, will resonate powerfully here and now, about Sheers himself, and about us - and how we find ourselves, and place ourselves, in our world.
The film rights must be on the table by now. Read this, before they turn it into a film.
This reader - the happy owner of an uncorrected proof copy (sorry, Faber) - was entranced. Really pleased to be among the first to read it. Ace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 21 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Paperback)
I read this book on a holiday which allowed me to read it word for word and take in the description of the scenery and to take in the characters. It was a beautifully written book that brought tears to my eyes on more than one occasion - not necessarily because it was sad but I found it so incredibly touching. A wonderful book and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 1 Feb 2009
By 
GGP (Guernsey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Paperback)
An excellent book. I read this after Owen Sheers 'Resistance' and was certainly not disappointed.
The Dust Diaries is an excellent 'take' on a journey of discovery and a great exposure of life in the African bush in the early 1900's and slightly beyond.
One of the best reads in years....totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true labour of love, 28 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Hardcover)
This exceptional book almost defies categorization. It explores the mystery of the life and work of an early and remarkable anglican priest to the young country Rhodesia. Starting from a few relics this young Welsh writer tracks and discovers and recreates many wonderful stories in his kinsman's life. As he travels and researches Owen Sheers beautifully describes the country both now and in its earlier development as he empathizes with the people he comes into contact with, bringing his theme to life wonderfully. In a gripping narrative he reveals a remarkable biography and describes the heritage of the life of Fr Sherley Cripps, in doing so he sheds light on contemporary problems in modern Zimbabwe where Cripps is still fondly remembered and celebrated for his achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Must Read' for anyone interested in the history of the African continent, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Paperback)
A remarkable and poetic book which draws the reader into the life of the Rev Arthur Cripps - a man of and before his time with values that apply equally now as they did then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spell binding, 31 May 2013
By 
Nico (Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Paperback)
Found myself really swept along by this book it just had a bit of everything really. So beautifully written Shear's description of his own trip through Zimbabwe searching for clues and traces of a long dead relative made me feel that I was back in Zim myself. A really interesting and different story. Wasn't your typical book about Rhodesia/Zimbabwe by any means. But then again, Shear's relative wan't your typical clergyman let alone Rhodesian settler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an inspiring man, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Hardcover)
You have to admire Arthur Cripps. He worked hard to look after the people he lived with in Southern Rhodesia but found it difficult. He was financially poor and a truly spiritually rich man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Owen Sheers' first novel, 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Dust Diaries (Paperback)
The Dust Diaries is superbly written.I enjoyed it so much that I have bought a copy for my friend for Christmas. Very good price for a new book from Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dust Diaries
The Dust Diaries by Owen Sheers (Paperback - 3 Mar 2005)
7.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews