Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great biographies of any Film Star you are likely to read.
Lee Sever's brilliant Biography of Mitchum is biographical writing at it's best. Thoroughly researched this book brings to life one of Hollywood's great Actors and rebels. What it also reveals however is the "poet with an axe". Mitchum was a phenomenally intelligent and cultured man for all his drug-taking, womanising and general roister-doistering. But he hid his...
Published on 4 Dec 2006 by M. Warburton

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Guy ?
There is no doubt that Robert Mitchum was a successful actor. It appears that he also successfully managed to hide a sensitive and caring nature behind his bad boy, heavy drinking and womanizing image.

The book goes through his life by chronicling his films. There are numerous stories attached to these films; stories that are told by former acquaintances of...
Published on 29 Feb 2008 by bibliobiblio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great biographies of any Film Star you are likely to read., 4 Dec 2006
By 
M. Warburton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care (Paperback)
Lee Sever's brilliant Biography of Mitchum is biographical writing at it's best. Thoroughly researched this book brings to life one of Hollywood's great Actors and rebels. What it also reveals however is the "poet with an axe". Mitchum was a phenomenally intelligent and cultured man for all his drug-taking, womanising and general roister-doistering. But he hid his intelligence sometimes behind characters, but nearl always in real life. Only those that got close to him or that he respected were ever allowed into the other side of Mitchum, a side which was more Mark Twain Hollywood vain. The book had me in tears come it's ending, partially for Mitchum and partially because one didn't want the book to end. I have read MANY Hollywood biographies over the years and this is by far the most outstanding I have ever read. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than just an actor, 5 Jan 2004
I collect biographies, particularly those connected to Hollywood.
All I have to say is this.."Baby, I don't care" is, without doubt, the best biography of any film star I have ever read.
Robert Mitchum was a remarkable man, a wonderful actor. Lee Server - The author of this brilliant biography - is first class in telling the life story of, probably, Hollywood's finest yet most underrated actor.
Thanks to Lee Server, I will now watch with avid interest, every Mitchum movie that gets aired on Television. Robert Mitchum was so much more than just an actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Star Robert Mitchum., 5 Jan 2004
A very well researched book on this under rated actor with quotes from family, friends (and the not so friendly)and fellow actors and covers all his movies with great depth, nothing in the life of Robert Mitchum has been left out, a warts and all biography.. I recommend the book to any movie buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Guy ?, 29 Feb 2008
By 
bibliobiblio (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care (Paperback)
There is no doubt that Robert Mitchum was a successful actor. It appears that he also successfully managed to hide a sensitive and caring nature behind his bad boy, heavy drinking and womanizing image.

The book goes through his life by chronicling his films. There are numerous stories attached to these films; stories that are told by former acquaintances of Mitchum.

The stories are mostly believable but some sound embroidered, and there are repetitive themes to them - heavy drinking, womanizing, and fighting.

The testimonies provided by former acquantances are mostly positive and this seems a bit one sided.

The book is over long (647 pages of narrative) and the repetitiveness previously mentioned seems like padding at times.

Overall I mostly enjoyed the book, and Robert Mitchum comes out of it as a likeable and talented man (most of the time). He certainly had an exciting life even before his film career, when he experienced hardship during a wandering and almost down and out existence.

Possibly a good book for movie buffs and Mitchum fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biog, surprising character: hobo poet fighter star wit, 6 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care (Paperback)
This is a high quality biography including all you could want from one: clear but not too lengthy comment on the films, insight provided by about 130 interviews and all of the stories in full and substantiated. There are all sorts of surprises through the book, such as Mtchum growing up in genteel poverty at home with no money in the house but books and poetry, which he loved, while outside, he and his brother fought the other kids of the neighbourhood.

The author, Lee Server, has an excellent command of the language without being self-conscious about it. All the tales flow so that they are not ruined in the telling, and we learn of his outrageousness as well as how intelligent and witty he actually was though he may be also be the star of very many real life bar flights. Server presents everything, but unlike the biographer that cares nothing for his subject and wants only to print salacious gossip, he's a fan and while brushing nothing under the carpet, enjoys his subject.

It's a pity considering what a guy Mitchum turns out to be that even the films that Server thinks a lot of often don't really live up to Mitchum's talent. He is great in both Heaven Knows Mr Allison and The Sundowners, with lovely, detailed, humorous and very different characters, but both films are little more than light entertainment. Deborah Kerr in the first of these is a nun again as in one of the films that had made her name, the vastly superior Powell & Pressburger film Black Narcissus, and this time has nothing to do except put on an Irish accent and act a bit innocent. Sundowners is put in the shade by another Powell film, as a matter of fact, by the spectacular scenes with sheep of The Edge of the World, Powell's first great film.

As for Mitchum's other films, many of the ones acclaimed by the author are very flawed. The Story of GI Joe is loads of guys gabbing incessantly but Mitchum good in the little he had. The western Blood on the Moon doesn't give Mitchum anything to do. The noir His Kind of Woman is spoiled by the inclusion of Vincent Price hamming it up as usual and two directors with completely different styles working on the main and last parts. The noir Angel Face is left to Jean Simmons to be the one with character. Cape Fear boasts a superb performance by Mitchum, but the family of Gregory Peck's lawyer character are laughable: the midget, miniaturised woman child of a daughter, for instance. The '70s film Friends of Eddie Coyle has another excellent performance by Mitchum but the rest of it is like a TV movie. The Yakuza has him strong and recognisable but is otherwise just another '70s film with no value today. Farewell My Lovely has Charlotte Rampling, a complete waste of space as the vamp, and Jack O'Halloran farcical as the hood. House on the Hill has him surrounded by pretty tedious characters, especially George Hamilton as his son. Bandito has barely a sketch for a plot.

Ironically, the standout great Mitchum performance housed by an equally great film is one in which he jumped far outside of his underplaying noir mould as the preacher in The Night of the Hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy it!, 4 April 2006
This review is from: Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care (Paperback)
I've read a lot of biographies and this one is truely head & shoulders above the rest. An incredible account of an amazing man. Totally honest, it's one of those books that just makes you gasp! If you're easily offended don't read it! I wasn't even a fan - didn't know a thing about him & I ended up thinking: Oh wow! What a n incredibly fascinating and intelligent character! Pulled the birds something chronic too! Just buy it. It's amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great biography of a great star..., 14 Nov 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care (Paperback)
The song Robert Mitchum by Julian Cope (from the Skellington album) says it all really. Robert Mitchum was such a dude, such a guy, so half-asleep...A true icon in this time of Adam Sandler and other half-wits.
This meticulously researched and brilliantly written biography of Mitchum is one of the best books I've read in the last year- it has everything you could ask of a book. I loved the early section where Mitchum is a proto-Beat type, travelling across America in the depression not unlike something in a Dos Passos book.
It's all here: that classic marriage proposal ("stick with me and you'll be farting through silk!") and the infamous arrest for drugs referenced in James Ellroy's LA Confidential. Mitchum made more than a comeback from this episode that saw him mopping jail floors and appeared countless times in great (and not so great) films- such as Out of the Past, Dead Man (his final performance), Home from the Hill, Cape Fear and probably his most famous appearance in Charles Laughton's masterpiece Night of the Hunter.
Not only was he an icon who Zanuck desperately tried to get to play Patton in the role that would famously be portrayed by George C Scott, but he was a droll,self-effacing comedian with as many great lines as anyone (Woody Allen? Lenny Bruce? Dorothy Parker?). The guy was a complete star and a great loss when he died in 1997- this biography is the definitive book on Mitchum and more than recommeded- even if you haven't seen many of his films (but you will want to...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The autbiography he never wrote, 9 Dec 2001
Apparently, people were always on at Robert Mitchum to write his autobiography. Mitchum was an "aspiring writer", but he never actually aspired enough to put his life down on paper. What Lee Saver has done is almost write his autobiography for him. This book is full of unsentimental anecdotes from and about the great man, which, over the course of almost 600 pages, covers his hobo period in the '30s, his first steps as an actor in the '40s, right through to his creative rebirth in the '70s with such downbeat classics as The Friends Of Eddie Coyle and The Yakuza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
INTERESTING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed every page., 20 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care (Paperback)
I have just finished reading the book. It's very well written, and I enjoyed every page - and there are over
600 pages. I have also just ordered several DVDs of some of Robert Mitchum's films that I have never seen.
I recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care
Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care by Lee Server (Paperback - 7 Oct 2002)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews