Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A passionate tale of hard-scrabble frontier life.
This is a "western" which gallops to life, and the reader feels the grit, smells the dust, and agonizes with desperate characters as they are tossed every which way, not by their own deliberate decisions so much as by the unpredictability of their Australian frontier existence.
Ned Kelly, the Jesse James of Australia, becomes human here, not a monstrous...
Published on 6 Jan. 2006 by Mary Whipple

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Complexity by construction only...
This was not a long or particularly difficult read IMHO but perhaps my expectations were too great. I had hoped to find a more elaborate and sweeping tale of rural Victoria with the transported, displaced Irish at odds with their new surroundings and new world wardens.
Instead the author has constructed a stylised autobiographical narrative recounting the well known...
Published 5 months ago by Jack Ireland


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A passionate tale of hard-scrabble frontier life., 6 Jan. 2006
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a "western" which gallops to life, and the reader feels the grit, smells the dust, and agonizes with desperate characters as they are tossed every which way, not by their own deliberate decisions so much as by the unpredictability of their Australian frontier existence.
Ned Kelly, the Jesse James of Australia, becomes human here, not a monstrous blackguard so much as a man who is forced to make impossible choices. In this tale, which purports to be the hand-written autobiography he wants to leave for his baby daughter, we follow his childhood in poverty, his reluctant "apprenticeship" to the villainous Harry Powers, his cruel imprisonment by corrupt authorities, and his attempts to stay out of trouble upon his release. The judicial system's attack on his mother, however, becomes the catalyst for Ned's life in crime, a life which the reader understands could have been completely different, had authorities simply shown more compassion.
Carey is masterful in using small details to show contrasts and to make the big picture come alive. A new pair of soft boots achieves almost mystical significance--the ecstasy of their acquisition contrasting with the strength achieved through their sacrifice. "Fresh bread and jam...barley and mutton soup," served to Ned in jail, provide poignant contrast to the poorer, leaner fare on the farm. And a red silk dress becomes a symbol for corruption in one context and love in another.
This is a vigorous, exuberant, and uncompromising vision of wilderness life and death. It is the sensitive portrayal of a young man forced to make impossible decisions to save and protect his family. And it is a passionate love story told with a warmth and sympathy that is all the more poignant for its contrast with the murder and death which accompany it. Satisfying and rewarding on all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it but that doesn't mean you will., 10 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True History of the Kelly Gang (Paperback)
Yes it won the Booker price, and yes I loved it but its' important that you realise that there is no guarentee that you will enjoy it.
The written style is main thing to worry about. The narrators voice, Ned Kelly, can be a hard read. I've heard of people who have said that the found the books style a real grind to read and have never even finished the book. For me Ned Kelly's voice is utterly unique, free of the over intellectual prose of many authors. I was swept away, inside his head, into his world. I had never read anything like it.
It is clear Peter Carey has done a vast amount of research as well as made a massive leap of imagination. The gritty story is filled with tender and powerfully sad moments. It is certainly one of the most accomplished books I have read.
My advice, read a few pages or passages before you buy. If it you like the sound of it then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical tale of outlaws, poverty, hardship and prejudice., 19 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
Peter Carey has written an unusual novel that is put together as a series of letters written by Ned Kelly the famous Australian outlaw and bushranger, who became a national hero. It is presented as a raw, personal journal, written to a daughter he would never see. This is not only a very interesting concept but also provides a good insight into life in 19th century Australia. This novel is set in the desolate settler communities north of Melbourne, Victoria in the late 19th century, during a time when the first Irish settlers in Australia faced many hardships and struggles.

Peter's novel is basically a corrective to the popular conception, among some Australians, of Ned Kelly being a thug, thief and murderer. Ned's portrayal in this work is nothing less than a folk hero and freedom fighter, a defiant exemplar of Irish-Australian cussedness in the face of colonial oppression. To the authorities, this son of dirt-poor Irish immigrants was a born thief and, ultimately, a cold-blooded murderer; to most other Australians, he was a scapegoat and patriot persecuted by "English" landlords and their agents. With his brothers and two friends, Kelly eluded a massive police manhunt for twenty months, living by his wits and strong heart, supplementing his bushwhacking skills with ingenious bank robberies while enjoying the support of most everyone not in uniform. He declined to flee overseas when he could, bound to win his jailed mother's freedom by any means possible, including his own surrender if necessary. Ned Kelly was executed by hanging for murder in 1880 in Melbourne, Victoria. In the end his mother served out her sentence in the same Melbourne prison where her son was hanged. We come to understand the poverty, hardship, and the prejudice of the colonial police force, during that period of time, particularly towards the Irish. These factors were all part of the plight of Ned Kelly and his gang. Was he a good boy gone wrong?
This is a tale of misunderstanding, foul justice, and the wringing of a family's heart. This novel is packed with history, incidents, alive with comedy and pathos, and contains everything that you could ask for in a truly great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Adjectival Good Book!!, 12 Feb. 2002
To be honest I had not heard of Peter Carey before I had heard about this book. I bought the book and found I was completely drawn into this world of Australian settlers/immigrants lives in the mid 19 th century. Ned voice was given a clarity and such depth I found I could not put this book down. I did, however, find myself wanting to find out more of Ned, and his descendants....great book. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you don't need punctuation!, 17 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This is a riveting story of the struggle of a family to survive in nineteenth-century Australia. It is told by Ned Kelly himself and the language is correspondingly unpolished with very little use of punctuation. After the first chapter or so, however, you stop noticing the language and get involved in the story. This book has been greatly hyped because of the Booker Prize but it's probably one you should judge for yourself. There's lots that's worth reading even if you're not Australian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping journal of a misunderstood outlaw, 15 Dec. 2010
This review is from: True History of the Kelly Gang (Paperback)
I don't often read novels, much preferring to view the characters, their emotion, the surroundings and any action unfold on screen. Peter Carey has, however, through taking a completely new approach to using the first person narrative, seized my imagination and achieved all that I would ask from a film in 421 pages of pure class.

Authors have attempted to tell the folk tale of the notorious Kelly Gang, but none have achieved such success as Carey. The story is told from the perspective of Ned Kelly, the leader of the gang and a supposed bank robber, horse thief, and murderer. He explains the life that led to him becoming Australia's most wanted man. Carey has written this novel in the form of rough, coarse, intimate entries by Kelly in a journal meant for the daughter he would never live to see. The famous bushranger outlines what took place during bank robberies and confrontations with the crooked men of the law- resulting in his persona of the people's very own Robin Hood. It is filled with such emotion that it is hard to remember it's not Kelly's own words. The sentences are compacted together without punctuation and scrawled in basic grammar. This is hard to grasp for the first few pages, but once you realise it's intention - to be as if its come straight from the outlaw's hand- it gives a refreshingly unique effect that nothing I have read before compares to.

We are not given any preconceptions of what a character is like, who they are, how they act as you would be in most other stories- but how Kelly sees, and feels about each character who impacted his life, whilst leaving us able to make our own judgement. Take the example of his relationship with his mother. Through his own expressions of undying love he feels for her, it is clear she can do no wrong in the eyes of her trusting son. Yet you will find yourself sympathetic towards Ned as she makes decisions that do not seem to benefit her son's well-being.

Carey uses Kelly's voice to depict what it felt like to have been a young, Irish, poverty stricken settler in 19th century Australia. His rocky relationship with his troubled father, becoming the man of the house so young, the effect his mentor Harry Power had on his life, the injustices of being oppressed by the colonial police force and the subsequent events which ended in him being branded a wanted man are portrayed with powerful moments, deeply saddening misfortunes and dry humour.

Contrary to the view that Ned Kelly was a criminal, he is shown as the brave leader of a gang fighting for their freedom from the injustices bestowed upon them.

Carey deserved the Booker prize for this wonderfully crafted novel. I cannot guarantee everyone will enjoy it as the writing style is hard to understand at first; but once you do it is mesmerising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece at several levels, 21 Feb. 2002
By 
Heather Greer (Cleggan, Co Galway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True History of the Kelly Gang (Paperback)
I often don't enjoy Booker winners for some reasons, but this was different. For me, it's a masterpiece, at two levels. One is the more immediate and always enjoyable fictitious account, warm, infinitely sad at times, sometimes funny, of Ned Kelly and his family and fellow-travellers in early Australia. The account, written for his daughter whom he never meets or sees, is often self-justifying, distorted, frank, and always self-revealing. The other level concerns the whole basis of the book - written and laid out as if it is an accurate biography based on actual archive material, it raises fundamental questions about the truth and reality of the narratives built up about 'legend lives' - and, more generally, about the basis for any person's self-narrative, incuding and especially the reader's. How much self-justification and how much 'reality' go into any of our own life-accounts? It's a brilliant, more or less perfect book. Please buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True said he your ma is your donah as everybody knows., 31 Mar. 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True History of the Kelly Gang (Paperback)
When I were a young man (a long time ago...) I read a great short story by Peter Carey, `War Crimes' it was called, and I've had an on/off relationship with him ever since. I thought his first novel `Bliss' was superb but he lost me with `Illywhacker' which I found rather dull. I've dipped in and out ever since (must read `Oscar And Lucinda' again - couldn't make my mind up about it first time around), but this is a fine novel by an obviously hugely talented writer.

Ned Kelly certainly deserves something a bit better than Mick Jagger or Heath Ledger (not that it was really the late Mr Ledger's fault - it was just a pretty rubbishy film) and here he gets a worthy memorial.

The story is told in Kelly's words and, once you get the rhythm, is easy to follow. It doesn't seem particularly anti-English to me; rather it's the eternal story of the poor being persecuted by the rich if they get too `uppish'. Class rather than nationality is the issue.

Kelly is given sympathetic treatment but is not let off altogether. The murders at Stringybark Creek are understandable but, nevertheless, brutal, and Kelly's relationship with his mother is a little odd to put it mildly.

It goes on a little too long and Mary, Kelly's girlfriend, is not particularly well drawn but Carey's ability to create a world through a first-person narrative is very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping poetic book, filled with adventures, 18 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: True History of the Kelly Gang (Paperback)
This book really deserves to win the Booker Prize twice. It's an amazingly well written book, filled with poetry from the moment you turn the first page. The character testing adventures of Ned leave you feeling sympathetic to his misfortune and the many obstacles he faces in his young life. His heart is in the right place but he is forever Beleaguered in the community. By reading this account, you have a personal insight in to this brave young man's struggle for survival and the psyche behind his actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True History of the Kelly Gang!, 7 Dec. 2012
This review is from: True History of the Kelly Gang (Paperback)
`True History of the Kelly Gang' by Peter Carey is an action packed novel based on the true story of the famous Australian bushranger Ned Kelly and his outlaw partners `The Kelly Gang'. The novel follows Ned's life and his struggle for justice for his friends and family who, as the minority group of Irish immigrants, have injustice unfairly thrust upon them due to their heritage.

Carey writes in a unique style that involves a lot of colloquial language and little punctuation, fitting perfectly with the idea that Ned Kelly himself has written these letters as an uneducated man. As it is written in a first person narrative it is almost as if it is Ned himself talking through his letters and it allows the characters to come to life through his stories and give them voices that are extremely believable and realistic.

The story is presented as personal letters written by Ned, to his fictional daughter and is made up of thirteen parcels, which take the reader through Ned's life chronologically from when he was a young boy until his life at 26 years old. The letters also tell the story of Ned's life and the events that lead to him becoming Australia's most wanted criminal. Born into a family of criminals and becoming the man of the house at a young age due to his father's imprisonment it is no wonder that Ned turned to crime once he had had enough of the authorities. He is presented as a robin hood character, helping the poorer Irish settlers, family and friends by stealing from the richer Australian people, which surprisingly makes him a more lovable and heroic figure. Each parcel gives you a little more information about the concluding parcels and tells the story of the adventures that the gang went on. From being mentored by the terrifying Harry Power to bank robberies, murders and riding through the outback dressed as women and all while dodging the authorities, of course. However out of all of the adventures of the `Kelly Gang', the battle at Glenrowan was my favourite adventure in the book as the descriptions that Carey gives really take you into the action of Kelly's famous last stand.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel, more so than I thought I would in the beginning. It has everything a great novel needs: Action, humor, emotion and even a little bit of romance. As you get further into the book the unique writing style becomes familiar and it becomes easier to read. However there were many times when I had to go back and re-read paragraphs or sentences to really understand what was going on. It is definitely a book that you have to stick at in order to understand the whole story. There is plenty of action to keep you engaged in the story and I was left always wanting to know what was going to happen next as I travelled round with the `Kelly Gang' and enjoyed the action and description, which is full and wonderfully written throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True History of the Kelly Gang
True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews