Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Little Book, 9 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
When I picked up this book in the store, I expected a book about dancing and ballet positions but, to my suprise, it was a book about the ballets themselves, It was very interesting with a short synopsis of each ballet, which was to the point and a good read for while I was on holiday. A must for all those who enjoy going to the ballet, or as a guide for which play you would like to look out for on performance TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet, 29 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
For anyone who is either new to ballet or is unfamiliar with certain titles, this is an invaluable, easy to read, little hand-bag size paper back to dip into for the basic story-line. In addition, there are the notes which clarify what is actually going on in the plot; a potted history of each ballet and then the "view from the wings" which gives us a glimpse of sharing the dancers' experiences in different roles. And for those who are unfamiliar with the different steps that make up the choreography, there is a useful glossary. Ballet can be enjoyed on many levels - the music; the technique and athleticism of the dancers; the scenery and lighting; costumes; stories of fantasy; abstract interpretations; pure escapism and so on. This book is also an amazing reflection of the number of roles that Deborah Bull danced and her "views" make it a personal journey. This little book can only enhance one's enjoyment of a visit. There will be only a few occasions when the ballet one has chosen to view is not listed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book!, 16 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
At last, a book about ballet that tells you what you really need to know, with the different ballets and their themes and their history explained in illuminating, non-technical language. There are shelves of books about ballet in the shops but trust me, this is the one you need to buy first. Deborah Bull and Luke Jennings's passion for their subject shines through on every page, and they will quickly have you addicted too (and probably maxing your credit-card at the box-office). A love-letter to an art-form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Year's present, 8 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I got this for my Mother. She had a similar one when she was younger, but lost in a house move years ago. Put it this way - you can't get a word out of her! She loves it. I also had a quick look (luckly before I gave it to her) and I think it is really very good as it not only gives the history and plot but also what the dancers think of the various ballets. Very worthwhile even if you are only interested in one ballet as it puts the ballets into 'types' including modern ones. Well written and good layout/print, but there aren't any pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick steps to ballet, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
For those totally ignorant of the subject this handy little book will provide a quick background on well known ballets. Useful just before the performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab handy guide, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Just what you need if you love watching ballets but would like a bit more insight into the stories etc. As a massive ballet fan this has all the information I need to get the maximum from every show I go too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good descriptions of ballet plots, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I loved this book it describes many ballet plots and how it feels for the dancer to dance them on stage. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars feedback, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
this is a very good book my daughter is over the moon with it and as it is pocket size it goes everywhere with her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for knowledge, 31 May 2013
Great book to give you an insight to most popular ballets. Interesting to read the history behind some of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Ballet Knowledge, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
If you need a bluffer's guide to ballet this is it. The view from the wings provided by Deborah Bull, complements the historical context and plot outlines, giving what can sometimes seem a rather silly and elitist art form, immediacy and relevance for the non-balletomane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides)
The Faber Pocket Guide to Ballet (Faber Pocket Guides) by Deborah Bull (Paperback - 2 Sep 2004)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews