Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomprehensible but Erotic
I've just finished reading this book for the first time. As a middlebrow I realised early on that there was no point wondering exactly what Durrell meant - just read on, otherwise one would never get through it. The book is aimed at far more intelligent and cultured people than myself. (It would be nice if there were an annotated "For Dummies" edition - but perhaps it...
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by Kim

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great literature but....
This book was suggested at our book club. The English is beautiful, but it has become boring. I thought I would really enjoy it as it is set in the part of the world I know and although the sounds and smells are there, this could have been written using half the words.
Published 7 months ago by Mrs M A Stobie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomprehensible but Erotic, 26 Jan 2011
By 
Kim (Llandrindod Wells, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justine (FF Classics) (Paperback)
I've just finished reading this book for the first time. As a middlebrow I realised early on that there was no point wondering exactly what Durrell meant - just read on, otherwise one would never get through it. The book is aimed at far more intelligent and cultured people than myself. (It would be nice if there were an annotated "For Dummies" edition - but perhaps it would be impossibly long. I'd probably buy it though.) What I got out of this primarily was the depiction of Justine as a woman who inspires spiritual love. It reminds me of the pre-Raphaelites who are generally denounced as pornographers nowadays. It's surprising to me that Durrell is not denounced similarly. Certainly the Justine character is hyper-erotic. Perhaps the characters in the story are mythical rather than realistically human. Anyway I've ordered Vol 2 - "Balthazar".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 24 Jan 2014
This review is from: Justine (Hardcover)
The Alexandria Quartet and Justine are probably the most beautiful books I have ever read. They would be my desert island choice as they contain layers within layers of exploration and depth. I admit to being a Proust lover so these were light reading in comparison, with far more going on. Plus, having spent time 20 years ago, in Alexandria, I still have a picture in my head of the elegance and faded decadence of the time that Durrell was writing about. There's also no point just reading Justine - it's only a prologue really. Things become much clearer, or more complex, with Balthazar. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great literature but...., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justine (FF Classics) (Paperback)
This book was suggested at our book club. The English is beautiful, but it has become boring. I thought I would really enjoy it as it is set in the part of the world I know and although the sounds and smells are there, this could have been written using half the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Navel-gazing, 8 Jun 2013
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Jack Klaff narrated my audio version and he gives a sterling performance. I wonder what he thought of this book. Did the ten hours it took to narrate feel as interminable as the ten hours it took to listen?

Egoism and narcissism in simile-land. Hours and hours of people trying to find themselves and looking for meanings in their lives whilst using the word 'exiguous' a lot. Hated it and it will now be deleted from my kindle as punishment for ruining two days of my holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why bother?, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justine (FF Classics) (Paperback)
I rarely give up on books, but I did on this one.
I didn't like any of the characters, couldn't care less about Alexandria and as another book club member commented, "if you're going to have lots of sex in a book, surely someone should be enjoying themselves!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justine (FF Classics)
Justine (FF Classics) by Lawrence Durrell (Paperback - 20 Mar 2000)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews