Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you think you know, you DON'T!
Forget what you think you think about Damien Hirst and put aside any doubts about the integrity or value of his work - this book blew my mind and is so powerful it crackles with life.
Hirst is a great talker, is straightforward and far away from the enigmatic artist who does not want to reveal himself - he lays it all out and more. He is funny as hell , has the...
Published on 15 Dec 2001 by Amy

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boys, boys, boys what were you thinking .
I bought this book cause it cost very, very little and I was interested to see if the words of Hirst were any more thought provoking, stimulating or illuminating than the "art" objects he produces. Book starts off from an idea that Hirst and his mate Burns had to produce a book like Francis Bacon's interviews with David Sylvester. Boys, boys, boys.... what were you...
Published on 2 Sep 2007 by mar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you think you know, you DON'T!, 15 Dec 2001
This review is from: On the Way to Work (Hardcover)
Forget what you think you think about Damien Hirst and put aside any doubts about the integrity or value of his work - this book blew my mind and is so powerful it crackles with life.
Hirst is a great talker, is straightforward and far away from the enigmatic artist who does not want to reveal himself - he lays it all out and more. He is funny as hell , has the ability to answer his most frequent criticisms with style and passion and swears like a trooper.
Burns is the man for the job, understanding Hirst but not being 'in-jokes-matey' about it and the pictures on every page are revealing.
All in all, an amazing book everyone should read and at a great price for what it is.
Buy it for friends who dont like art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Candid Candid Candid look inside the mind of genius., 29 Oct 2007
By 
M. Godenho "mg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Way to Work (Hardcover)
This book is a series of interviews between Gordon Burn and artist Damien Hirst. It's easy to read and provides a fascinating insight into the most successful living artist today. The questions are not always easy, and Damien's answers are frank and honest. This makes for very interesting reading.

Obviously if you are interested in art and Hirst's work then you will get more out of this book than others. But for those who want to find out more about this artist, here is a grand place to start.

The way he justifies his work, his sources of inspiration, his openness about himself all comes together nicely. Burns interviews Hirst over a series of years, some right before an exhibition openning to get his thoughts and feelings.

Why only 4 stars? I would have liked to have seen more pictures of his art, rather than pics of him ...but hey you can't have everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boys, boys, boys what were you thinking ., 2 Sep 2007
This review is from: On the Way to Work (Hardcover)
I bought this book cause it cost very, very little and I was interested to see if the words of Hirst were any more thought provoking, stimulating or illuminating than the "art" objects he produces. Book starts off from an idea that Hirst and his mate Burns had to produce a book like Francis Bacon's interviews with David Sylvester. Boys, boys, boys.... what were you thinking?

There you had an artist capable of pulling his innermost emotion from its lair and pinning it down on canvas being interviewed by an erudite, genuinely inquisitive critic of the arts. Here you have a guy who is a megally successful salesman producing objects that parody art being interviewed by Gordon Burns whose other books funnily enough mainly seem to be about sensationlist murders - you can pick most of them up here for about a fiver - so indepth interviewing skills from an informed critic we are not talking. Very, very different type of books - infact polar opposites.

I think Hirst's real interest seems to be in exploiting and pushing the boundries of the "art" market to sell his goods for the highest price and this book is one piece in his branding strategy. One branding strategy he seems to use for his "art" products is to try to link his name and work to that of Francis Bacon - which is where this book comes in. Personally I see no real similarities in approach, subject matter or execution and this book does serve to make the differences very visible. Hirst comes across as energyful but superficial. In light of what I see as the real purpose of the book I do think this book might be of interest to an aspiring marketing or sales person.

If it is art that interests you and you haven't bought the Bacon interviews I'd recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I heart Hirst, 8 Jan 2011
By 
Midge (Deal, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Way to Work (Hardcover)
I love Damien Hirst anyway, but this book is such an interesting (well, basically) interview with photographs from his private collection. An incite into the humble beginnings of a highly successful contemporary artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Way to Work (Hardcover)
This beautiful book contains but a glimps into the mind of Damien Hirst. Segments of interviews spanning Hirst's phenomenal career, this book is a must read for any fan.
Hirst's ability to communicate his ideas and thoughts are like no other. Simple and unassuming this book leads you through the thought processes to some of his best know works and shows.
An added aesthetic bonus, it also contains some beautiful photographs of the artist, not only at work, but in his home environment also.
This book is available for less than 5 pounds here on amazon, a fraction of what I would be willing to pay for it having read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Infundibulum and Diaphane. Coffee Anon. Seqoia & Apogee., 2 Sep 2002
This review is from: On the Way to Work (Hardcover)
Damien Hirst is that crazy artist guy who pickled sharks then did the sheep's head in formaldehyde, the not-so-bright-or-beautiful anatomical model 30 feet high , the moving cow, the Saatchi business and so on. But this is not a book of monographs; it is essentially a book of interviews with the artist, except that filtration strata, be they journalistic or otherwise, are removed giving the (prob. false!) impression that we hearing actual conversation with Hirst. And it works because there is none of the journalistic posturing and leading questions and prejudicial braggartry that would necessarily be found in an in-depth interview contained within a broadsheet.
Hirst's fascinations will be well known to those who have seen his work. This book or codex does not Freud or Jung itself or that work or those fascinations into the oblivion of the labelled (and those whose main "entitle" is themselves) or simply chinstroked vowelisations in the correct pitch.
Quality. I'd've given it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Way to Work
On the Way to Work by Damien Hirst (Hardcover - 5 Nov 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews