Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect Present
Having just received my first copy of this from Amazon I am now ordering further copies to give as presents to all my nieces and nephews - I may even try and persuade my own youngest children that they are not too old to be read too! The poems themselves are of course classics but Axel Scheffler's beautiful (and funny) illustrations are what will make children treasure...
Published on 14 Nov 2009 by C. P. McGregor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cat's The Eay To Do It!
A good recording if you can't get the T S Eliot original. Clearly recited, and great fun for cat overs.
Published 1 month ago by David Gordon


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect Present, 14 Nov 2009
Having just received my first copy of this from Amazon I am now ordering further copies to give as presents to all my nieces and nephews - I may even try and persuade my own youngest children that they are not too old to be read too! The poems themselves are of course classics but Axel Scheffler's beautiful (and funny) illustrations are what will make children treasure this book and demand that it be read and re-read. If you are still in the habit of reading to your children then I urge you to treat yourself and them with this lovely book. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Games, 29 July 2004
Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats is a superb book of light verse. Some of the language might be a little difficult for young children (though it's always good to learn new words), but your kids are certain to warm to such a disreputable bunch of street-cats! Adults too will enjoy the skill and wit of Eliot's rhymes. Personal, I'm a big fan of the poet and I rate this collection alongside The Wasteland and The Love song of J. Alfred Prufrock.
Of all the editions available I think this is the one to own. Edward Gorey's illustrations are very funny (particularly his illustration of 'Firefrorefiddle the Fiend of the Fell!'). If you don't get this one, then the Faber pocket series with the cat painting on the cover is also very nice (that one contains the original illustrations, which are quite sweet).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as Julia Donaldson!, 31 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chosing to have this book illustrated by Grufallo artist Axel Scheffler is a masterstroke, and the verse shows how much of a debt long-time Scheffler collaborator Julia Donaldson holds to TS Eliot.
Am must for all Eliot, Donaldson/Scheffler and cat fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cats, 30 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Remembered from school days, brought back many fond memories, enjoyed the poems even more now than in my school days. Liked the black and white illustrations, they add to the humourous note. Funny and gently wicked antics of these memorable cats. A real joy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic cats slink stylishly into the 21st century., 19 Nov 2009
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I remember these poems from my own childhood, and loved Bentley's pictures but my children have grown up with Axel Scheffler's Gruffalo and other Julia Donaldson titles and so were attracted immediately to this book by the familiar illustrations and with good reason. And what a wonderful selection of poems we they found inside, accompanied by Scheffler's depictions of the different cats in his easy-going and good-humoured style. T S Eliot's verse is rich with rhythm and rhyme and language that reminds you of a bygone era, and yet the Cats with their many temperaments remain bright, fun and appealing three generations later and it's no wonder that this strong collection sparked a musical that endures equally well. A treasure that no child's bookshelf should be without, and a brilliant gift for a cat-lover of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Work, 5 July 1999
By A Customer
Although easily outselling The Wasteland or, probably, all of Eliot's other works put together, this richly worded collection is frequently dismissed by critics as frivolous. The poems are rarely included in Eliot anthologies and are probably much more frequently read by children than by adults.
However, there is much in Old Possum to intrigue the literary critic - as well as his/her child.
Firstly, the mixture of sounds, the repetition and the language are all distincly Eliot's own. His recurrent themes of the passing of time and nostalgia are all there, and couched in a glorious rhythm so in tune with, say, Four Quartents, that it does not take an expert to find the similarities.
To the child: read this book for fun. To the adult familiar with Eliot's less accessible works: read it to remind yourself of the man behind the poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful illustrations, 12 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Hawes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just seen this book in town and rushed home to buy it (at almost half the price!) My grandchildren love all the books they have with Axel Scheffler illustrations - The Gruffalo, Stick Man etc.- and I know this will be a great favourite. Can't wait to read it with them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving T.S. Eliot, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Kathleen Braden "Kat" (Concord, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We used to own the same performance on a cassette tape, but it disappeared. I looked everywhere I could think and was so relieved that I could order it on cd from you. It arrived very quickly and was in perfect condition.

We have been enjoying it so much. It is delightful and brings back great memories. John Gielgud and Irene Worth are magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 10 Feb 2008
By 
I have always loved these poems. Elliot really managed to capture the personality of different cats in his different poems, which will sparkle out to anyone who has ever loved or owned a cat, a little bit of the Rum Tug Tugger here, a bit of Bustopher Jones there... cats to a tee, and wonderful fun! Buy a copy with Edward Gorey's fantastic illustrations, they really bring the poems to life. I'd also recommend this to future cat owners - heed the words of 'The Addressing of Cats' - you've got to treat cats with respect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cat's are people too, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I woud recommend it to any parent it is a great way of teaching kids about the different types of people in the community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats
Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot (Paperback - 4 Oct 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews