Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History repeating itself........
The first issue here is over the name of the book, It is NOT `Bitter Lemons of Cyprus'; it was published as `Bitter Lemons', and that title has far more contextual meaning. Lemons are bitter sweet, and that defines Durrell's relationship with Cyprus, his village, the villagers and indeed the UK, which he generally referred to as Pudding Island. I will declare an...
Published on 19 May 2007 by A. H. Franks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read if wordy.
An interesting read if rather old-fashioned writing for now-a-days, even heavy going in parts.I would have enjoyed reading more about his life in Cyprus and less details of the political situation.
Published 2 months ago by S Humphreys


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History repeating itself........, 19 May 2007
This review is from: Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (Mass Market Paperback)
The first issue here is over the name of the book, It is NOT `Bitter Lemons of Cyprus'; it was published as `Bitter Lemons', and that title has far more contextual meaning. Lemons are bitter sweet, and that defines Durrell's relationship with Cyprus, his village, the villagers and indeed the UK, which he generally referred to as Pudding Island. I will declare an interest: I adore Cyprus; this book was a main reason for me to visit, and subsequently, some 20 years ago we bought an arty house in a beautiful village. We have spent eight years living amongst some of the most generous, open and warm-hearted people on earth. This rings out from Durrell's book too. His descriptions are precise, accurate, affectionate and objective. In parallel with his attempts to make a home in the fabulously arty and beautiful village of Bellapaix, we watch in horror as the strategic political hypocrisies and cynicism play out at courtyard level. This era of Mediterranean history is not without shame for all the actors involved in it, and the victims are invariably the individuals caught up in the dangerous world of international politics mixed with nationalism, fear and misunderstandings; made the more dangerous by external meddling. Sounds horribly familiar to events elsewhere in the world, thereby proving that those who do not learn from the mistakes of history are condemned to repeat them. This book is a salutary lesson of the problems faced not only in buying a house in a foreign country, but also the problems of buying acceptance into a foreign culture, and inevitably the tragic price of failure. Bitter sweet. Bitter Lemons, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars v good, 5 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. Edward Gregory "Ed G" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (Mass Market Paperback)
Interesting read describing life in N Cyprus at a pragticularly difficult time in its history. Vivid word pictures of local populace, of terrain and of life in the area at the time. Recommended for anyone with an interest in social history, travel, life in the 50s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Mayle and Mayes came Durrell., 22 Jun. 2001
This review is from: Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (Mass Market Paperback)
Forget all those insipid Peter Mayle books and the myriad imitations that they spawned. This is the real thing; a book about settling in a new country, buying a house (the funniest chapter in the book) and the slow realisation that, politically, the situation is becoming untenable. Bitter Lemons, which starts off so optimistically, is a sad commentary on the inability of people to get along with each other. Take this book away with you this summer and Mr Durrell's unique ability to evoke the Spirit of Place (see his collected letters) will stay with you and haunt you long after you return home from your tame Greek beach holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book to read on holiday and i am glad i did. I was actually in cyprus when i read it. The characters are brilliant and to think they were real. The episode where he is buying the house is hilarious,i found myself reading faster and faster as the sale got more fast and furious. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 11 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (Mass Market Paperback)
Have been to North Cyprus several times as I have family there, when visiting Bellapais, everyone makes a big thing about Laurence Durrell and his book, and yet probably, most people (like me)have never heard of him or the book,so I decided I must read it. I could not put it down, it is rich in description, and because I am familiar with the areas he talks about, it transports me there.I do not know if you would read or appreciate the book if you had not visited this beautiful island which has had so much tragic history, but if you are planning going, read the book or take it with you, and read it while sitting with your coffee, in the shadow of Bellapais Monastary.
one more thing, the house buying process has not changed much in 50 years!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enduring masterpiece, 22 Nov. 2013
Bitter Lemons by Lawrence Durrell is one of those end of Empire books that many British writers attempted in the decades that followed the Second World War. Durrell's corner of the ever-to-be-sunlit territory was Cyprus, which in the 1950s was embarking on its own bid for independence and boasted its own continuing sunlight. The book has long been acknowledged as a classic of its indefinable kind, that mix of biography, travel, politics and memoir that is obviously literary whilst not apparently aspiring to literature. It is an impressionistic but deeply serious account of the experience of a participant in the brewing trouble and change. And now, almost sixty years after its publication, Bitter Lemons still has much to say about its setting and subject.

Lawrence Durrell went to Cyprus in the 1950s. At the start of the book, it is not obvious that he will soon be an employee of HM Government, a colonial officer charged with making sense of events that were already rapidly running towards violence and insurrection. The author's arrival and initial activity as a teacher form a light but keenly observed prelude to the book's later journey. The purchase of a village house in Ballapaix is both comical and empathetic. There is much that is farcical, but throughout the author presents himself as merely another participant. Nowhere does he express anything other than respect and affection for the local foibles and nowhere does he appear to place himself either detached from or in control of events. Equally, the school in which Lawrence Durrell works displays much that is caricature, but the scenarios are never anything less than completely credible. His interpretation of teenage girls' curiosity about their foreign teacher as attraction may display just a touch of vanity, but throughout the narrative convinces the reader of its participation in events, rather than its invention of them.

Bitter Lemons is replete with the keen observations and arresting reflections of an interested traveller. Here is someone who immerses himself in local life and culture. He does not come to study this society as a detached observer, an anthropologist, self-defined, pointed towards a self-directed purpose. Neither does he come to impose his own values, assumptions or will on communities whose social interaction and culture clearly do not conform to his own values. Lawrence Durrell seems to rejoice in the differences he records and he usually stops short of judgment when confronted with experiences that contradict his expectations. And he speaks Greek.

But Bitter Lemons is also a political book. It attempts no analysis and so always stays on the journalistic, even impressionistic side of events. There is a movement to break colonial ties, to end colonial rule. ENOSIS is a concept that embodies Cypriot union with Greece. EOKA is a military campaign, a terrorist action in current terminology, designed to fight the British. And sure enough, there is Durrell, already on the island, already accepted in his community, already a Greek speaker, a ready-made listening post for local gossip, and an intelligent gatherer of intelligence. Thus he is adopted by the colonial authorities and paid for his services.

Lawrence Durrell never really tells us the nature or extent of his duties. The activities he describes within the covers of Bitter Lemons suggest that his presence was low key, perhaps inconsequential, rendering him little more than another observer, even at his most active. But surely reality was tougher than he describes and there must be at least one more book in here that might relate what he actually did.

Well before the end, the eventual direction of events seems assured. There will be struggle, death, injury, treachery and finally accommodation, however ephemeral. But the real joy of Bitter Lemons is Durrell's ability to communicate the seriousness of the conflict and aspiration through a prism of continued affection and association. There is a story of a young man who postpones his joining of the armed struggle for independence from the British because he has won a university place in England. There is also the committed anti-cleric who observes that opposition is expressed through affection. And thus, via a light, impressionistic touch, Lawrence Durrell creates a text that delves surprisingly deep into a complex but enduring relationship between nations, cultures and interests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of two cultures, 3 Feb. 2007
By 
Dr. E. Korusoy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (Mass Market Paperback)
Hope, discovery, humour, tragedy and greed are portrayed with great literary skill in a captivating and very readable style in this excellent non-fictional story. Although easy to miss among the miriad of wonderful characters brought to life by Durell, there are some very real political undertones in comparisons with Crete and the description of the Greek revolt against British rule in the 1950s. The book implies that, in an attempt to keep hold of control over the island, Britain exploited the soured relationship between Greece and Turkey to set up a federation in 1960 that it knew would remain divided and in need of constant British involvement. Those familiar with the later tragic consequences in 1963 and 1974 will lament the the divide and rule policy of a dying British empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very human background to the EOKA uprising in Cyprus, 22 April 2013
By 
Jay R (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently spent a week in Kyrenia and this book was recommended to me several times on the first day as background reading. Downloading it that evening, I read it with great pleasure and some surprise over the next few days. My image of the man was previously that of the effete older brother that Gerald Durrell portrayed as 'Larry' in 'My Family and Other Animals'. The person that comes over in this book is very different. He is observant and entertaining, with a lovely (if a little dated) turn of phrase. While the book is essentially autobiographical about his three years living in Bellapais in the early 1950's, through his friendships with a wide range of amusing local characters we get the background to the EOKA uprising which broke out against the British in 1955. The book clearly draws heavily on his notes made at the time and was published only two or three years later. It gives a very real impression of an unwilling uprising born of frustration that could have been resolved at a local level but became unmanageable once it became an international issue. In that sense it is a sad but very human book. Forty-three years ago I served as part of the United Nations Force in Cyprus - some time after the Eoka uprising. I wish I had known to read the book then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My father was stationed in Cyprus in the late 50s early 60s and this book has always been a favourite of mine as it captures com, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lawrence Durrell wrote this book based on his life in Cyprus in the late 50s. My father was stationed in Cyprus in the late 50s early 60s and this book has always been a favourite of mine as it captures completely what Cyprus was like then. It is completely different now since independence and partition but you can still glimpse the old Cyprus now and then. Cyprus is one of my favourite places in the world and this book is a very personal thing for me and I love it. It is beautifully written and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Cyprus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I ever read., 13 Sept. 2010
By 
J.M. Tissot van Patot (Rotterdam, Nederland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the most inspiring books I ever read. I loved it cover to cover. This one and "Esprit the corps" are really funny at places, but also moving tales of living in other cultures. The tragic history of modern Cyprus is an alarming background of this very personal tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bitter Lemons of Cyprus
Bitter Lemons of Cyprus by Lawrence Durrell (Mass Market Paperback - 3 July 2000)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews