Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get by in Ancient Egyptian
For the complete beginner this is one of the best books I have seen. Philip has done his homework and produced a user friendly, pocket-sized book that starts you with the a,b, and c of this fascinating writing form. There are plenty of illustrations throughout and the tone is lighthearted and certainly not acedemic. The author makes you feel at ease with his teaching...
Published on 20 May 2002 by Mr. M. A. Bowles

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for Children?
This is a cheap and cheerful example of a growing collection of 'teach yourself hieroglyphs' books. The basics are covered, but no more than that - the ability to phonetically spell out your name using hieroglyphic signs seems a fairly unambitious aim for a whole book.
In my humble view the best English-language book which DOES teach you to read actual ancient...
Published on 7 Feb 2003 by rufus lassiter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get by in Ancient Egyptian, 20 May 2002
By 
Mr. M. A. Bowles "Scientist" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
For the complete beginner this is one of the best books I have seen. Philip has done his homework and produced a user friendly, pocket-sized book that starts you with the a,b, and c of this fascinating writing form. There are plenty of illustrations throughout and the tone is lighthearted and certainly not acedemic. The author makes you feel at ease with his teaching style and soon has you hungry for more. This is one of those books you keep picking up as often as possible to do a bit more because it becomes so interesting. Without becoming bogged down in technicalities Philip introduces the basics and gradually works through limited grammar. Within a short period of time I would suggest the average reader could write their own name and string a few lines of characters together. If nothing else, you will be able to better understand commonly featured hieroglyphs associated with Pharaohs and amaze your friends by translating "Good God, Lord of the two Lands, King of lower and upper Egypt, Son of Ra, Given Life eternally..". For those who complete the book, or who are already experienced I can strongly recommend 'How to Read Egyptian Hieroglyphs' by Mark Collier and Bill Manley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully presented and facinating guide, 30 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
This book is fantastic! Not only is it interesting and informative, it is also FUN. I wanted a book that would teach me the basics of a five thousand year old 'language' and this is it. 'The Hieroglyphs Handbook' is funny, easy to read and has plenty of practical advice throughout, including straight forward instructions and facinating information. Each section is clearly laid out, with detailed directions to aid you in tasks ranging from writing your name in hieroglyphs to translating sentences. The cartoons scattered throughout add to the humour within the text, making this an enjoyable read for you (and your mummy!). I can't wait to try out what I've learnt and impress my friends. This book is a must for anyone with an interest in Ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs - children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for Children?, 7 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
This is a cheap and cheerful example of a growing collection of 'teach yourself hieroglyphs' books. The basics are covered, but no more than that - the ability to phonetically spell out your name using hieroglyphic signs seems a fairly unambitious aim for a whole book.
In my humble view the best English-language book which DOES teach you to read actual ancient Egyptian texts is Collier & Manley's book - the best introductory text since Gardiner's Grammar.
If you are at all serious about wanting to learn to read and write ancient Egyptitan, then buy their book - don't wait to upgrade to it later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enormous fun, 25 April 2013
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
I love this book so much! It is brilliant, full of really funny cartoons and practical advice. Note, that this book is not "Talk Ancient Egyptian", which never as such existed anyway as it changed over time, but it teaches you how to use hieroglyphs. It covers numbers, names (more complex than you might imagine)and some grammer, the more basic stuff such as plurals and present tense verb conjugation. Obviously in the space of the book a more systematic explanation is not possible and I don't know which language the various words shown are in. There is also a section on who the hieroglyphs were deciphered. All in all a delightful read and terrific fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's an easy read, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
This book was given to me as a novelty gift for xmas this year. It is an easy read and enjoyable for anyone in school ages.
Very hard to piece together anything to the untrained mind as it was 'bitty' and rushed through. I wouldn't advise getting this book if you are wanting to train in heiroglyphic reading. However, as a novelty gift to show a friend you understand her hobbies then it's lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hieroglyph Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback), 3 Jan 2010
By 
J. M. Clare "Josy" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
I bought this for my 9 year old grand daughter who is interested in hieroglyphics. She found it easy to follow and we sat and looked at it together. I thought it was a good first book to develop an interest in this. It was just right for her and not too difficult. If you are looking for an easy book on this subject this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast service good ebayer, 10 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
got it for a friend she loved it and was very happy with the service. It was just what she was looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to follow love photos, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
Very easy to follow Photos are amazing simple to use and great for begineers. Easy excamples given so easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach yousself Ancient Egyption, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
I bought this book for my friend who has recently been to Egypt and want to go back there again so time only next time she would like to have a little of the language under her belt and she also would like to write a little of the language too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian, 23 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. P. Hall "Phil" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian (Paperback)
Very helpfull handbook a good learning source, you can learn a lot from this book from writing your name in egyption wiriting and understanding egyption phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian
The Hieroglyphs Handbook: Teach Yourself Ancient Egyptian by Philip Ardagh (Paperback - 4 Oct 1999)
5.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews