Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animals imagined in all their guises...
Lines have to be drawn in anthologies, as Paul Muldoon is quick to mention in his introduction. Through the poems he has chosen, his erudition and knowledge are beyond doubt, but I still can't help being just a little disappointed with the lines drawn, the poems missing - a very personal disappointment though it may be.

The great and good of canonical...
Published on 2 Dec. 2009 by LittleMoon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of poems
Good collection of poems if you can understand the depths of poetry, otherwise they seem to be beating about the bush. Poetry is not everybody's cup of tea.
Hari
Leamington Spa
Published on 24 May 2013 by Hari


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animals imagined in all their guises..., 2 Dec. 2009
By 
LittleMoon (loving my life in the rain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
Lines have to be drawn in anthologies, as Paul Muldoon is quick to mention in his introduction. Through the poems he has chosen, his erudition and knowledge are beyond doubt, but I still can't help being just a little disappointed with the lines drawn, the poems missing - a very personal disappointment though it may be.

The great and good of canonical English-language poetry are lined up (very occasionally some in translation) from Dante, Chaucer, Shakespeare, Lovelace, Clare, Swift, Pope, Wordsworth, Keats, Coleridge, Dickinson, Kipling, Frost, Yeats, Eliot, Auden, Moore, Bishop, Hughes and Plath. Of course, there are one or two surprises too!

Delights include Gerard Manley Hopkins' "The Windhover"; Elizabeth Bishop's "The Moose" and D H Lawrence's "Bat"... but no doubt everyone will have their own favourites accounted for here. There are also interspersed rhymes from childhood like "Baa Baa Black Sheep" and "Cock Robin" alongside chunks from Whitman's "Song of Myself" or Browning's "The Pied Piper". The alphabetical ordering offers the reader quite an eclectic mix of time and style, as well as some interesting thematic juxtapositions.

Why only four stars then, which seems a little mean? I just wish Muldoon had been a little more daring and selected some more modern poems from the last 50 years or so; poems not yet tried and tested as the majority of this anthology are... and I can't help feeling his refusal to accept work in translation (with certain exceptions) frustrating.

Still, there's so much to admire here in this poetry that "brings out the best in us" as Muldoon observes, that no reader will leave this anthology unmoved.

From Thom Gunn: Considering The Snail

The snail pushes through a green
night, for the grass is heavy
with water and meets over
the bright path he makes, where rain
has darkened the earth's dark. He
moves in a wood of desire...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dipper's delight, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
T. Hyde - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
This is a set book for an Open University course that starts in September. Never did a set book give me so much pleasure. I read at least one poem a day and it's always a delight. The poems are among the best our literature has to offer; all styles, all ages. The animals do not dominate. I often forget that there is an animal somewhere in the poem. If I have one gripe it is that the editors offer no explanations of achaic or dialect words. For example, anyone who is unfamiliar with the Scots language will have trouble with some of Robert Burns' texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Anthology., 17 May 2009
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I initially needed it as a study aid and in the beginning just flicked through it but after reading the whole anthology, found it an absorbing and delightful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for certain courses., 7 Feb. 2014
By 
Pete F. (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
Bought for an Open University course that I was doing, it was listed as essential reading for the OU AA100 'The Arts Past and Present'
course. It provided all the information that I needed and was not too expensive - just make sure that if you're buying books for higher education that you buy exactly the right edition (as listed on your course details) or you may not have the same information as everyone else on your course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beastly Indeed!!, 7 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
This is one of the books recommended for AA100 Open University. It is packed full of poetry Coleridge, Hughes, Heaney, Larkin, the list goes on. Each poem features animals. This book is for anyone who enjoys poetry, whether student or not. Value for money and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just fluffy bunnies!, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
I bought this book for an OU module, and at first was not impressed. However, as I became more familiar with it it grew on me. There is a wide variety of poetry, including ditties such as 'There was an old lady who swallowed a fly' and traditional poetry such as 'The Flea' by John Donne, the (for me frankly unfathomable) Sylvia Plath poem 'Ariel' and some very graphic poems by Ted Hughes. A very comprehensive collection,arranged alphabetically rather than chronologically, which leads to some interesting juxtapositions, and without much of the sentimentality sometimes found around animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OU Set Book, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
Bought for upcoming OU course. I have started to read some of it and it's a mixed bag of challenging poetry and interesting, easier to read ones. Hoping that it is one of the latter that we have to study on the course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ou course requirement., 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
This is a requirement from the Open university and was readily available from Amazon. They also gave guidelines to other requisite books and reminders as needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 24 July 2011
By 
hayley (nottinghamshire, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
Item arrived fast ad in good condition, a really good buy at a bargain price very happy with this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Faber Book of Beasts, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. Mn Edwards (staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Book of Beasts (Paperback)
Set book for OP course. Lots of fun poems, and some not so fun. Just lots of beast related poetry....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Faber Book of Beasts
The Faber Book of Beasts by Paul Muldoon (Paperback - 19 Oct. 1998)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews