Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2004
An excellent book....as are all of R.W. Brunskill's books. Well thought out and illustrated, easy to read. An excellent reference book for anyone studying Architecture and buildings. I used his books endlessly when researching for one of my degree modules about the development of a particular building type. Usually one can find endless books on stately homes and houses of great popularity, but to find such an indepth research about the lowly barn, cottage or farmhouse is quite difficult. His books and this one in particular proved to be totally invaluable throughout my degree. I think this book and his others, however would appeal to anyone, not just students, who is interested in the development of 'lesser' but I believe more interesting buildings and give a new outlook to them. I wish that the author would write more books like this and his other titles as there are so few books written about this kind of architectural development.
0Comment| 100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
Extremely detailed and offers a complete overview of the subject. Plain English is used throughout making the book suitable for the casual or learned reader equally. The illustrations are very clear and helpful and are an essential ingredient in this type of book.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
I'm a planning officer, and with no formal architectural training bought this book to be able to better explain myself to building professionals. It does exactly as I'd hoped and, having done quite a lot of looking around before I chose this, I'm happy I made the right choice.

As an excellent overview of architecture, including some very informative illustrations on historic buildings and vernacular architecture, it's a really helpful book to have to hand.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
The perfect book for those who enjoy everyday (Vernacular) architecture.
Essential when i'm out and about looking at farm buildings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
An excellent pocket guide to the construction, development and features of the more ordinary and unsung buildings in our countryside
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Yet another great little book with
so much content. A good series in every case compact but full of detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
With this book you can "read" buildings people live and work in along any street with a new understanding! It will fit in an overcoat pocket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Wonderful old book I have had for years - this purchase was a present for an architect friend who didn't know of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Only halfway through the book right now, but so far it is incredibly informative and interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
The third id the series of useful guides to local architecture
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)