Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll laugh. But it cuts like a knife
This is one of the "realest" books I've read for a long time. Much has been written about how our sense of expectancy and potential as teenagers so often fizzles out into mediocrity, and how friendships made at that time are more intense than any in later life. But Lorrie Moore has described it brilliantly well, in her story of the close friendship between two teenage...
Published on 3 April 2010 by Four Violets

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Dissapointing.
Published 3 months ago by JANE fISHER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll laugh. But it cuts like a knife, 3 April 2010
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the "realest" books I've read for a long time. Much has been written about how our sense of expectancy and potential as teenagers so often fizzles out into mediocrity, and how friendships made at that time are more intense than any in later life. But Lorrie Moore has described it brilliantly well, in her story of the close friendship between two teenage girls Berie and Sils. Of Sils: "She could never become boring. If she lived where I lived then, at the moment, that was enough."

The frog hospital was a sad attempt to heal creatures wilfully hurt by boys; and the males in the book are generally ineffectual, damaging or absent. At best perhaps, irrelevant. The book is very funny, but at the same time it's sharp. In fact it cuts like a knife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read again and again, 23 Aug 2006
By 
E. Eason (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I haven't read this book for a few years, but it's always remained one of my favourites. brilliantly written, sad and funny, I would recommend this to anyone - but mainly women probably! It's a great book to keep and go back to after a year or two - the story is just as good the second time round, as it's the lovely and vivid style of writing, rather than any major twists or suprises, that make this such a good book. I love it. In fact, after writing this, I might read it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just wonderful, 18 Oct 2014
By 
Shona Jones (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such writing. I defy you to read it and not be moved by the tiny complexities of life and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming of age, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully illustrates the powerful friendship between two teenage girls in small town America. It reminded me of a friendship of my own at that age and the passion I felt for my friend. There's something very poignant about that age where you feel your feelings incredibly strongly and Moore perfectly evokes both this together with the subsequent nostalgia we can often feel in remembrance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A poignant and exquisitely written novel., 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
"Who Will Run the Frog Hospital" is a superb novel! It tells the poignant story of woman's life in a rich and poetic prose whilst being moving, humourous and nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's short and has some interesting parts but not much story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finely observed emotion, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Angus Jenkinson "angusjenkinson" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Moore is most noted for her brilliantly written short stories [[ASIN:0571239366 The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore]. An impeccable stylist, she acutely navigates the comedy and pains of life. Novels are inevitably less tightly woven - but the larger expanse enables an exploration of an emotional landscape. It's more about the territory than a plotline heading for a destination. And here the territory is the emotional life of two best friends, girls in the heady passage towards adulthood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Will Run the Frog Hospital?
Who Will Run the Frog Hospital? by Lorrie Moore (Hardcover - 1 Dec 1994)
Used & New from: £7.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews