Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible.
As a student, I have been to a poetry day where Simon Armitage himself came to discuss his poetry with us. The most fascinating thing that he revealed to us about this book, was the idea behind the title - as a young person himself, he would often play a party game with him friends to meet new people which consisted of striking a match and holding it until it burnt to...
Published on 12 Jun 2010 by J. Ludman

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disaappointing
I chose this from somebody elses rating ...mistake.
Poetry is what YOU see in it ...and, hence, an individual experience.
Published 20 months ago by R. J. Hobby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible., 12 Jun 2010
By 
J. Ludman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book of Matches (Paperback)
As a student, I have been to a poetry day where Simon Armitage himself came to discuss his poetry with us. The most fascinating thing that he revealed to us about this book, was the idea behind the title - as a young person himself, he would often play a party game with him friends to meet new people which consisted of striking a match and holding it until it burnt to your fingers. In this time, the person holding the match would have to tell their life story in the seconds it took the flame to reach their hand, until they had to blow it out. This also explains the asterisk marking the start of his poems - it is meant to represent the newly struck flame. This book is genius, so well thought out unlike many of today's contemporary poets' books, I would heavily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Elvis of Poetry...., 28 July 2008
This review is from: Book of Matches (Paperback)
I think this is one of the best poetry collections of the last 30 yrs.

The opening salvo of 'My party piece' is a spine-chiller and through to the last piece in that section describing a burnt-out Armitage in self-destruct mode sitting in his car- this is a modern classic which taps the Zeitgeist in a way only he can.

And I have to agree with the other reviewer about To a lost lover - your toes curl at the combination of intimacy, sensitivity and agonising regret.

Someone once said that 'poetry is the new rock n'roll' - if Elvis were alive today he would be writing poetry like this...

Thank you Simon.

Neil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking, 14 May 2002
By 
S. Murphy (Worcester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book of Matches (Paperback)
'To his lost Lover' brought myself and my lover together. I have never been more inspired, made jelly-legged and envious of a poet. These poems seem straight forward but they are subtly layered, like slate which whilst seeming thin is actually made up of a myriad carefully arranged skins. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book of matches, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Matches (Paperback)
this is a poetry book very well written one of the best poetry books i have read it is worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a breath of fresh air, 26 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Book of Matches (Paperback)
at last a contemporary poet who has managed to combine a unique voice with such outdated notions as craft and technique. perhaps he can lead us out of the waste land poetry has become mired as it is with all those recent meaningless... poets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disaappointing, 1 Dec 2012
By 
R. J. Hobby "Ray Hobby" (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Matches (Paperback)
I chose this from somebody elses rating ...mistake.
Poetry is what YOU see in it ...and, hence, an individual experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: Book of Matches (Paperback)
This is the greatest selection of poetry I have ever read, I love the part when he writes a poem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Il Gough "catballou" (St Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Matches (Paperback)
Armitage grates a bit on me as he does not conform. However the struck matches take a bit of time to get used to, but another facet of Armitage's style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Book of Matches
Book of Matches by Simon Armitage (Paperback - 3 Sep 2001)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews