Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Cope
Best of Cope, top form. Scary lady! Should have been made Poet Laureate - mind I have heard her say she wouldnt want the title because it costs too much to run!

If you want to try some modern poetry, try Wendy Cope - funny, insightful, touching, honest
Published on 24 Jun 2006 by G. D. Griffin

versus
6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars seriously peeved
i know that if the poetry is good the price should not matter but really faber & faber are taking liberties. ok, published price 5.99, not expensive; 84pp, reasonable. 5 of those pages are section title pages, and several poems are no more than 6 lines long, indeed some are only couplets. i'm glad i bought this on amazon (noticeably reduced!) because otherwise i might...
Published on 5 Mar 2008 by Ms. Fiona Allen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Cope, 24 Jun 2006
By 
G. D. Griffin (Redditch, Warks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serious Concerns (Paperback)
Best of Cope, top form. Scary lady! Should have been made Poet Laureate - mind I have heard her say she wouldnt want the title because it costs too much to run!

If you want to try some modern poetry, try Wendy Cope - funny, insightful, touching, honest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wendy Cope poems, 22 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. V. P. Ripley "Vivien" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serious Concerns (Paperback)
Wendy Cope always delights. Much of her work is a combination of of subtle wit and clever insights into life. This is an easy reading 'dip into' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another delight, 10 Jan 2004
By 
ARD13 (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Serious Concerns (Paperback)
This collection is absolutely wonderful. Those who have read her other books will know what to expect. She is frequently laugh-aloud funny, can be acute enough about men to make this male reader wince, and occasionally throws in something very touching, either warm or aching.
Wendy Cope writes with a lightness of touch that makes it look easy. While reading it one can forget that there are other things that poetry can do. She does what she does so well that I don't miss what she doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars smart, wry, witty observations edged with knowing cynicism and affection, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: Serious Concerns (Paperback)
Whilst the poems in this collection seem to me to be of variable quality nonetheless a great many of them are smart, wry, witty observations edged with knowing cynicism and affection. Here’s an appropriate example given the weather we’ve been having recently:

January’s grey and slushy,
February’s chill and drear,
March is wild and wet and windy,
April seldom brings much cheer.
In May, a day or two of sunshine,
Three or four in June, perhaps.
July is usually filthy,
August skies are open taps .
In September things start dying,
Then comes cold October mist.
November we make plans to spend
The best parts of December pissed.

This kind of stuff doesn’t jolt your perceptions to perceive something new but often these poems do neatly and evocatively encapsulate little truths and do so with a certain gleeful joy that makes them memorable and worth returning to.

Enjoyable if not especially profound - as the poet herself comments:

Write to amuse? What an appalling suggestion!
I write to make people anxious and miserable and to
worsen their indigestion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite modern poet, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. E. A. Nicholson "Bag Lady" (Dumfries) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious Concerns (Paperback)
I love Wendy Cope poetry, and this book doesn't disappoint.
Wendy writes about everyday things and even poetry novices will enjoy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars seriously peeved, 5 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. Fiona Allen "catlover" (edinburgh, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious Concerns (Paperback)
i know that if the poetry is good the price should not matter but really faber & faber are taking liberties. ok, published price 5.99, not expensive; 84pp, reasonable. 5 of those pages are section title pages, and several poems are no more than 6 lines long, indeed some are only couplets. i'm glad i bought this on amazon (noticeably reduced!) because otherwise i might have felt a bit cheated. that said, however, it's a neat little book for stuffing in a bag or in a pocket, to bring a smile during a boring bus or train journey to/from work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serious Concerns
Serious Concerns by Wendy Cope (Paperback - 18 Mar 2002)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews