Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe-Inspiring
I am a huge fan of Sylvia Plath's poetry and, for me, this selection is where it all began back when I was a student. All the great poems are included here, such as 'Daddy', 'Ariel' and 'Tulips', printed in chronologic order. What I love most about Plath's poetry is the theme of identity; trying to understand herself and the times at which she doesn't is the cause for...
Published on 7 Nov. 2002 by Darren Rugg

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Selected Poems
Wonderful poems by Plath which helps the reader understand more about her life and ways of wrinting as a poet. A inspiration selection with indepth meaning and understanding can be found in her selected poems.
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by S L Koh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe-Inspiring, 7 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of Sylvia Plath's poetry and, for me, this selection is where it all began back when I was a student. All the great poems are included here, such as 'Daddy', 'Ariel' and 'Tulips', printed in chronologic order. What I love most about Plath's poetry is the theme of identity; trying to understand herself and the times at which she doesn't is the cause for such isolation and vulnerablity. Clearly, there are some extremely depressing aspects to her work - the hospital visits, the suicide attempts and death in general, yet for me these just add more depth and profundity to her work. What many people all too easily forget I think, is that there is also much that is uplifting here too. Poems of motherhood and the joy that insires in the poet are evident in 'You're' and 'Morning Song'. I would almost be criminal not to read this selection alongside her fabulous novel 'The Bell Jar' just to see how deeply personal both her prose and verse truely are, all relating to events in Plath's difficult life. Personal favourites would have to be 'Ariel' and 'Cut' - the later makes you feel weak by the end of it! Yet, over all the rest, the final two poems of the selection, which were indeed her final poems, written days before she took her own life, 'Words' and 'Edge' are pure perfection. Indeed, the sense that Plath knew what she was about to do, even when writing these poems, is made clear; "The woman is perfected./Her dead//Body wears the smile of accomplishment". Plath is a fanatatic writer and this is a fantastic selection. My only criticism of this selection is it misses out some wonderful poems, such as 'Lady Lazarus', but still is utimately awe-inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvia Plath Selected Poems, 6 July 2009
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
This is a lovely selection of poems by Sylvia Plath and has encouraged me to read more of her work. The recent BBC4 poetry programme on her Wuthering Heights woke me to the wonderful poetry of Sylvia Plath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
Have to have these poems for my English lit a level and the book is really good. Love the poems and there is a fair amount of room to write around them (although not an awful lot)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poems of Sylvia Plath, 24 Jan. 2015
These poems mark the space, for me, where Plath chose to lay her head; give life, before life engulfed her circus mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star for the service but cannot say much about ..., 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
5 star for the service but cannot say much about the book as it was a gift to someone else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with it, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
Bought for my daughter for her syllabus. Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
Excellent edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
great collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Selected Poems, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) (Paperback)
Wonderful poems by Plath which helps the reader understand more about her life and ways of wrinting as a poet. A inspiration selection with indepth meaning and understanding can be found in her selected poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry)
Sylvia Plath - Selected Poems (Faber Poetry) by Sylvia Plath (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2003)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews