Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of wisdom, 23 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
This first volume of "The Philokalia", which means "Love of the beautiful", provides spiritual and plain common sense guidance which are invaluable in today's material obsessed and stressful world. The book layout helps the ordinary layman to not only intellectually understand what spiritual forefathers discovered, but the real gems of reading this, as well as the other volumes, is that it confirms what I have discovered for myself, and it allows for that "Ah ha" experience in awakening to new revalations.

Be warned that this is not pop psychology. "The Philokalia" is the reading equivalent to proper meditation, a subject that is covered in the texts. I am glad to have discovered these volumes as they have been a source of great help to me and have seen me through some tough times.

Needless to say I can't recommend these books highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Serious Call, 26 Nov. 2008
By 
Fmg Sarah "Monomachos" (Mauritius) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
To all Christians who would like to deepen their prayer life, tired of the shallow offerings of modernity, this is the book to read, under the direction of a priest or elder. But mind, as the translators stress, in the preface, the reading and interiorising of the book cannot be divorced from a participation in the liturgical life of the Church and the reading of Scripture. It is not just another "method" or vague "spirituality", not to be likened to zen and such like. It forms part of the true Christian tradition and as such cannot be separated from it. Otherwise not only the reading would be useless, but fruitless as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
I bought this book for a friend who recently converted to Orthodoxy and for my husband. As my priest explained, it is a heavy book for a beginner, and therefore it is better to be studied once you have a better insight. Nevertheless, I feel one can take a seed for soul from it and grow with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionary, 24 Nov. 2011
By 
Dave Kinsella "Jesus First" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
The Philokalia has literally revolutionized my prayer life, my private life with God. It has opened my eyes and explained things that previous books only hinted at, only gave shadows of. I would highly recommend that you get a copy.

I've read books and heard sermons by men like Leonard Ravenhill, David Wilkerson, Paul Washer, Paris Reidhead and so on, yet their teaching does not compare to the wealth of insight that this first volume provides. I can only wait in anticipation for the next 3 volumes and pray that the translators hurry up and finish the last volume!

One word of warning though. If you are not a monk, then some of the advice cannot be taken on board. Some of it is extremely severe in terms of bodily denial, and in endurance and fastings and vigils. But even in this there are principals which can be taken on board and put into practice even by the busy husband and father.

A text I would recommend that is more specifically geared toward Prayer is, but is also based on the Philokalia (though contains many texts not found in the original series, and therefore of merit in it's own right and not simply a compilation of texts from the original series.) The Art of Prayer: An Orthodox Anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars estern theology, 5 April 2009
Theology but Eastern saints and early saints. This edition is 1 of 4 volumes, and is a must if you have the others, although this series has less well-known saints in it.
Tt ought to have been a 5 volume series, but the last volume never got finished. However a must for any serious theologician or priest. I would not be without for a quick review. It gives you a quick inside into many saints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a discovery on Christian Prayer,, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book/series on Christian Prayer, coming from a non Orthodox background there are some amazing instructions on how to pray almost a road map with instructions and advice on how to get to know God. For a lay person the key is to find the balance between advice for monks and persons living in an non monastic environment. There are many guide books on Eastern non Christian Prayer/meditation practice ie Zen etc that are available, however for the Christian seeking God through Jesus Christ this is the series that I have been waiting for for almost 15 years.
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Divine wisdom, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
By our orthodox fathers

I found some of the text to be for the monk and not so much for the layperson

Having said a vast number of the text can be applied to everyday life

This book book helps me understand that TIME is only relevant to matters of the material world

TO THE WORLD UNSEEN
THIS BOOK IS THE PERFECT ROADMAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
E.P. Count Ivan Ivanovich (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Superb I look forward to collecting this series. Print similar to Penguin Classics - say a thick Dickens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monastic Lessons, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
If you know about this book it needs no review, for those who do not it is a collection of stories and letters with lessons to be learnt from deep meaningful reflection on ones life compared to those mentioned. It is not a light read and should be taken in small stages. you cant read this cover to cover and not ever use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reference book on the Orthodox tradition of prayer, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A useful reference book of documents concerning the Orthodox teaching on spirituality. Certainly to be recommended for anyone wanting to explore this subject through the years in all the Orthodox Christian tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1
The Philokalia: The Complete Text - Vol. 1: v. 1 by Kallistos Ware (Paperback - 28 Feb. 1983)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews