Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Edition
This definitive edition of Emily Dickinson's poems is the Editor's (THOMAS H. JOHNSON) gift to the author after her well intentioned sister-in-law and other editors imposed their own punctuation and metres on the poet's work, something still perpetuated by other publishing houses and their editors, and nearly always by anthologists. While Dickinson's style is...
Published on 27 Feb. 2007 by Kim Hatton

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle
The Kindle version is not the Faber version. It has the punctuation 'modernised' and consequently the poems suffer. The only Kindle versions I can find with the original punctuation restored by Thomas H Johnson are the Poet To Poet selection edited by Ted Hughes and also Emily Dickinson: Everyman's Poetry [Kindle Edition] edited by Helen McNeil. Both of these selections...
Published 22 months ago by Rossman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Edition, 27 Feb. 2007
By 
Kim Hatton "Kim Hatton" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Poems (Paperback)
This definitive edition of Emily Dickinson's poems is the Editor's (THOMAS H. JOHNSON) gift to the author after her well intentioned sister-in-law and other editors imposed their own punctuation and metres on the poet's work, something still perpetuated by other publishing houses and their editors, and nearly always by anthologists. While Dickinson's style is idiosyncratic and highly individual it can startle the new reader with the depth of insight many of her poems show in confronting the human condition, not least in its most painful and mentally tortured moments. However Dickinson was also a keen observer of nature and had a strong independent mind when writing on faith and religion.

My only criticism of this edition is that the wealth of pages have been given too small a format and pages are apt to come loose if the book is used often. A superb edition is available in hardback but a more generous binding would have rendered the extra expense of a H/B copy unnecessary. That said the person who becomes an avid reader of Dickinson will not mind buying subsequent copies year by year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated intensity, lyrical, kind.., 15 Dec. 2005
By 
Anna Quay (Middle of England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Poems (Paperback)
I came across ED when I was an angstful teenager, and loved her for the fact she could say in three and a half lines whatever profound thing I had recently come to realise. As I grew older I noticed her poems came with me - now she was taking to task the earlier self absorption, mocking it but saying new things that were profound in their turn. In the thirty years since, I've loved her poems for the fact they point to so many aspects of life we experience but don't always find voiced, or because she voices more familiar moments with originality, brevity, or style.
If you don't know her poems then a first glance might find them off-putting - there are so many, they are numbered not named, they are impossible to read in a straight line because of all the hyphens. But don't be put off by these things. They are not just not a major problem, once you 'get your eye in' they are actually good points! For example, she fits, by virtue of those initially - irritating - hyphens - things that ordinary sentences can't (like meaning several things at once). The huge number of poems mean she covers a huge range of life's moments, the numbers instead of titles mean come to them without any preconceptions of what they are about.
Her complete works are like a kind of journey, so wide ranging and varied that there is something for every person you are likely to be. Suitable (and comforting, thought provoking, satisfying) for reflective humans of every age, not just the teenage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh so tender, 15 Sept. 2008
This review is from: The Complete Poems (Paperback)
Sad to say I only discovered Emily Dickinson as an adult, but what a treasure of tenderness and sensibility she is. Fragrant and light as the blossoms in her garden she describes so lovingly, each poem breathes true originality.
This volume is complete and in chronological order which has the advantage of giving you almost an autobiography in verse, taking you on the life journey of her ideas and emotions. However, it also means you have to seperate the wheat from the chaff yourself. (If you fancy a bit of a 'best of' than this is the wrong book for you.)
A truely enjoyable book. Shame it is only a paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 18 July 2011
This review is from: The Complete Poems (Paperback)
If you are an Emily Dickinson enthusiast or general poetry lover, this edition is the one to get.
Emily Dickinson seems to appeal to a wide range of people, and this is only part of the charm in her surviving work.
This collection is definitely worth having in your book collection to come back to time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few poets who ever perfected a method., 25 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Poems (Paperback)
I have 1000 words to tell what Dickinson means to me, an impossible task I gladly take up. I'd like to respond to others on this page. I once called Dickinson the "patron saint of lonely people everywhere," so I can identify with what one person said about teenage shut-ins. And I don't blame the person who snubbed her for not leaving a name--I'd be embarrassed to as well. Emily egotistical? The poet who wrote, "I'm nobody"? Wow. I love Dickinson's work so much because her vision of life is so fully her own, so at odds with the views of those around her. Can you imagine knowing you are the most brilliant lyric poet of your time (Whitman was more an epic or narrative poet), and knowing no one understood you? It's like trying to communicate in a foreign language that only you know. In fact, that is exactly what she did--she explodes the syntax, vocabulary, and syllabication of English and transforms it into her own private means of communication. She demands that we meet her on her ground. True, reading her work is not "fun"--there's too much pain and burning beauty in it to be an easy ride. She is not for everyone--only for those who see that life's disappointments both destroy and liberate us at the same time: comparing human hurts to trees destroyed by nature's forces, she says (in poem 314), "We--who have the Souls-- / Die oftener--Not so vitally--." Those may be the finest lines any poet ever wrote in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson - A Review by Barry Van-Asten, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. B. P. Van-asten (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Poems (Paperback)
Most of these remarkable poems by the American poet Emily Dickinson (1830-1886) were found after her death and there is a real sense of ‘intimate discovery’ and a contemporary feel to her work. Many of the poems are preoccupied with a mystical sense of the world around us and the quest for immortality and fame, which may interest modern readers all the more. Like many of the American poets of this period, in particular Walt Whitman, she is able to resonate with the modern mind and reading her collected works will definitely enhance anyone’s perception of poetry. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Deals one imperial thunderbolt | that scalps your naked soul', 7 Mar. 2015
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Complete Poems (Paperback)
This edition edited by Thomas H. Johnson returns the poems to Dickinson's original punctuation, her dashes and ellipses, that render the poetry so delicately elusive and richly allusive. Yet for all the casual, scribbled off air that these fragmented texts evoke, Dickinson is an immaculate stylist using rhyme and metre and all the tools of poetic rhetoric ('by fainter hammers further heard') to make her verse far more literarily sophisticated than it might at first appear.

There is a wonderful tension in this poetry between the claustrophobic or internal and the almost wild liberation that haunts these texts ('done with the compass | done with the chart') - and the syntactical gaps are themselves textual spaces left wide open and free.

For both new readers and old, this is an excellent edition of Dickinson's complete poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Kindle version is not the Faber version. It has the punctuation 'modernised' and consequently the poems suffer. The only Kindle versions I can find with the original punctuation restored by Thomas H Johnson are the Poet To Poet selection edited by Ted Hughes and also Emily Dickinson: Everyman's Poetry [Kindle Edition] edited by Helen McNeil. Both of these selections are available in paperback. They are wonderful! Otherwise, buy the Faber and Faber complete. The 3 stars is for this edition only, not the poems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I did not like this book, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not like this book, poems require a subtle quality that only a printed page can express. although I love my kindle i'll stick to printed pages for poems. this version was hard to read, hard to navigate and it was next to impossible to find the poems I was looking for. I do like to flick through the pages of poetry books letting fate find the poem I need at that moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful Dickinson, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Poems (Paperback)
Great poems, with informative introduction and helpful chronological information. Well edited too -- gives multiple versions for you to compare side by side when appropriate (when Dickinson wrote and revised over a period of time) and does not try to sand off the edges by replacing Dickinson's idiosyncratic punctuation and capitalization with standardized ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Poems
Complete Poems by Emily Dickinson (Paperback - 3 Mar. 1976)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews