Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


159 of 161 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars * * * * * * Finally a real magic book for pros.
Recommended to me by a magician (a good one). I bought this book. I know how you feel, you've bought loads of books all full of tricks with plastic cups and rubber bands, that wouldn't amaze a 3 year old. Me too I've got volumes of them, Well now it's time to get your hands on a "proper book"
Finally a real magic book that actually teaches you something. I can now...
Published on 20 Jan 2005 by Dave

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too advanced
Bought this for my teenage son for Christmas. Unfortunately he soon lost interest as I think it is maybe for people who want to do advanced card tricks. A big part of the book is on how to learn to shuffle the deck rather than the tricks. Instead he went on YouTube and got tricks of there.
I would probably recommend this book if you want to do more advanced card...
Published 22 months ago by M. Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

159 of 161 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars * * * * * * Finally a real magic book for pros., 20 Jan 2005
By 
Dave (Morecambe, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Recommended to me by a magician (a good one). I bought this book. I know how you feel, you've bought loads of books all full of tricks with plastic cups and rubber bands, that wouldn't amaze a 3 year old. Me too I've got volumes of them, Well now it's time to get your hands on a "proper book"
Finally a real magic book that actually teaches you something. I can now shuffle a deck and keep the top card in position, move it to the bottom, hide it in the deck, keep a stack of aces at the top whilst shuffling, or even shuffle keeping the whole deck in order. Have I read the book? Not yet - I am only half way through the first chapter. You see my point.
Every single word is worth its weight in gold, no fillers, no plastic cups, just genuine skills, secrets and good tricks.
But don't be afraid, as mentioned above the book teaches "everything" starting with how to hold the deck, and going through a series of different shuffles and moves. each move is accompanied by a few tricks that utilise that move. There are also practice routines that build up your dexterity.
Later there are more complex tricks that build upon previous knowledge and full routines explaining how to move from one trick to the next, setting up the cards for the next trick as you perform the previous.
Get the book, get some cards, and get reading.
Tips: - get some good bicycle poker cards, several packs both red, and blue.
It helps to have someone else read the instructions to you, as you hold the cards. It's impossible to manipulate cards, hold a book and read at the same time.
Start at the start, and don't rush it.
Look, just buy the damn book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book to learn card magic, 19 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This is a brilliant book on card magic. It is a complete course covering everything from how to hold the deck to producing tricks that will astound an close-up audience (I've seen them done by David Blaine). Each chapter covers an essential manipulation and then gives you tricks based upon it.
The reason I rate it so highly is that it is easy to learn for a beginner but the tricks are 100% professional - none of those rubbish tricks you normally see in books.
How would you like to be able to put the Ace of Diamonds into someone's hand and the Ace of Spades in another and have them change places without touching?.....read on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for your education, 19 Nov 2002
If your just starting out with cards then this book is for you.
Dont get sucked into using gimmicked cards, take the royal road and be a king with a deck.
You will learn not only routines (tricks), but the lessons you need to build your techniques up.
It covers all the basic skills and takes you on through to the real hard core of card manipulation.
To say this book has been helpful would not pay it justice, the looks on peoples faces and the reaction I get, when using skills learnt from this book, make the money and practice worthwhile.
I would also highly recommend J.J.Bobo's coin manipulation book.
with the two books you will be able to perform anywhere at anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 6 April 2003
By A Customer
This is quite simply the best beginner's course in sleight of hand card magic there is. The only thing that can even contend is Roberto Giobbi's Card College, and this costs a fraction of the price.
Without a doubt I would reccommend this book to anyone who considers themselves a beginner or intermediate card man. The book includes definitons of all the basic sleights: palming, hindu shuffle, overhand shuffle and many others and some truly classic effects, like Cards Across and Now You See It.
If you're a beginner, go out and buy this now. If you're more advanced go for ECT but by all means get these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Royal Road to Card Magic, 12 Jan 2004
Quite simply one of the greatest books ever written on the subject of sleight of hand card magic. This book is one of the very first to teach card magic in structured way. Taking the student by the hand, focusng on one individual technique and then it's many applications.
The quality of the effect are simply outstnaidng; the last chapter contains material of the highest calibre. Routines like Everywhere and Nowhere, The Conus Aces and The Ladies Looking Glass are the finest mysteries ever created.
All that is required fromt the student is passion, patience and dedication; to learn, study and practise. Everything is here for the student to progress.
Many great magicians started with this book; I was one of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best start to conjuring, 29 May 2002
I have had this book on my bookshelf since I started my interest in magic some 20 years ago ... and I still refer to it. The effects and techniques you learn are no mere one-off tricks but are the foundation of good card magic.
There are techniques that have been developed since the publication of this book which will not be included (although they will often be based on ideas included in the book), but there are also very practical techniques that seem to have gone out of fashion for no particular reason. Even magicians (who probably have a copy of this at home) will be stunned and totally fooled by some of these techniques.
If you are interested in learning to be a performing magician, you cannot go wrong by starting here. Now go out, enjoy yourself and entertain your audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Way In, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Peter "I'm here because I need something to d... (Hassocks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone taking an interest in card magic, Royal Road is the definitive way-in. It's the one book that practically every experienced magician will recommend, and has yet to be bettered at this low price point. As a guide through the world of card magic, it's now rivaled by the fabulous Card College series, but the Card College books are only available from specialised magic dealers, and the whole set will cost you back well over £100.

Sure, a lot has been done with cards since Royal Road was written, but everything stands on the foundations laid out here by Hugard & Braue.

Forget about buying expensive individual tricks at magic shops. Get Royal Road and a deck of cards, and you're literally set for months of amazing fun and learning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books in Card Magic, 11 Aug 2000
This is one of the best books you'll ever buy on card magic...it has often been described as the 'The Bible of Card Magic'. It is an absolute definate for all those starting card magic as it clearly (with illustrations) outlines all the popular sleights and accompanying each sleight there are a selection of some very nice tricks. For those that are already competent in card magic, I have no doubt that this book already rests on your bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Nov 2002
When I started learning magic I wish I had heard of this book a few years ago. I still pruchased it though due to the high amount of quality material I have read from Hugard in the past, including Expert Card Technique. This book is second to none with other beginning card magic material.
I still refer to this book often when trying to see if something I am doing can be bettered in appearance.
Simply, if you are beginning card magic buy this first, master it and be brilliant then shift to Expert Card Technique which will help better your skills even further.
And at the price of this, its a bargain item when compared to other magic books (I usually spend £20+ average)
Yours In Magic,
Alex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only way to be a Pro, 14 Feb 2007
Ask any pro, what book should i get to start of card magic/manipulation. They will all say RRCM. This book will start you of as a begginer, push you onto intermediate and if you follow it carefully you will finish a very experienced magician/mechanic.

I will say there are some slights in it which will require alot of practice i.e the pass but man learn them as they are indespensible. Once you get into this book you will realise what is possible. Get it and start at the beggining. Learn each move and some tricks with them. Not all the tricks are brilliant but most of them have a "wow, how did you do that" factor. This is well worth the buy.

Once you are finished with it and can do all the tricks get Erdnase book. Its the next step.

Good luck

God Bless - John 3:16
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Royal Road to Card Magic
The Royal Road to Card Magic by Frederick Braue (Hardcover - 23 Jan 1976)
Used & New from: £9.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews