Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic drama about the original 'angry young man'
Look back in Anger is not only a classic of the British theatre, it also had reverbatory effects around the world upon its release in the 1950s. The play features some of the most vivious confrontations and acidic language I have ever read, and is ideal material for male and female monologues. Jimmy, the protagonist, has perplexed audiences and directors alike - how can...
Published on 19 May 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A level text
Purchased as a set text for my daughter who is taking A levels. Whilst the play itself was quite a radical production in its day, the theme and context are quite dated and rather staid. I guess I would not have purchased it, had it not been a set text.
Published 13 months ago by fingers finnucane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic drama about the original 'angry young man', 19 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
Look back in Anger is not only a classic of the British theatre, it also had reverbatory effects around the world upon its release in the 1950s. The play features some of the most vivious confrontations and acidic language I have ever read, and is ideal material for male and female monologues. Jimmy, the protagonist, has perplexed audiences and directors alike - how can any woman stand to live with him, let alone be drawn back to him after seemingly 'escaping'? But that is the lure of Jimmy's character - his sheer charisma. He is a James Dean for the English middle-classes, without the stunning looks, but with more reasons to rebel. The imagery of the play is at once subtle and exciting: Osborne is a master at creating visual and audio contradictions. In LOOK BACK IN ANGER this is manifested in the contrast between the bestial (animal) imagery, the unbridled lust of the protagonists, and constant reminders of religion, the Church, and the 'proper' society that Jimmy wishes to tear Alison away from. It is a drama of passion, bitterness and regret, with a shocking climax and a disturbingly ambiguous conclusion. Essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading!, 30 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
I went to Waterstones to check this play because of the many references to both play and author. I was so strongly hooked that I sat there and then and read the whole thing. Then I went on and ordered it all the same, because my library couldn't be missing such a work. The characters are incredibly strong and well defined, big emotions and powerful controversy are stirred, and its a beautifully ironic twist on love and British post-war youth with poetically expressed existentialism/nihilism seamlessly integrated at various moments. This play redefined British theatre (and, for me, youth and pop culture) with its bold subject matter. Read it - see it!

(apologies, when I get really excited about something, like I obviously did here, i find it hard to put into words, but I had to add my review, if nothing else, to restore the deserved balance in the rating)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great play, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
This play is brilliant - I'd love to see it live. The relationships between the characters are so three-dimensional that even just reading this play, I was completely and utterly sucked into their world. The play is touching, dramatic and unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exceptional, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
A brilliant piece of writing, strong characters with powerful storyline.
A tenacious love triangle involving Jimmy an intelligent, yet disaffected young man, Alison his upper class wife and her best friend Helen. A Welsh lodger Cliff, attempts to keep the peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A level text, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
Purchased as a set text for my daughter who is taking A levels. Whilst the play itself was quite a radical production in its day, the theme and context are quite dated and rather staid. I guess I would not have purchased it, had it not been a set text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars look back in anger, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very beautiful and passionate. It's very easy to be drawn to the character of Jimmy; to loathe him and be enchanted in equal measures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Using it for college, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
I bought this for a course I am taking it was in brilliant condition and I am really enjoying the play itself. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
It is what it says, the script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
PEnis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Had to buy for my English Lit course and I ..., 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Back in Anger (Paperback)
Had to buy for my English Lit course and I must say it is not to my taste at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Look Back in Anger
Look Back in Anger by John Osborne (Paperback - 6 Nov. 1978)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews