Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb volume with wide appeal
This is a beautiful hardback book running to around 150 pages and it has now become a matter of routine to order this annually published volume - this one is Portfolio 23.

The book is sumptuously printed on good quality gloss paper and contains not only some wonderful pictures but also a really informative commentary on both the wildlife and pictures...
Published 15 months ago by Pepper

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgraceful production spoils fantastic images.
I now have 2 copies of this book, both of which will be returned to Amazon and we'll see if it's a case of 3rd time satisfactory.
This is a book that should recognise and do justice to the talent of the photographers work presented within, sadly this is not the case with the 2 examples I have in front of me. In fact I would go as far to say I've not seen such poor...
Published 13 months ago by Mr Sceptic


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgraceful production spoils fantastic images., 8 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
I now have 2 copies of this book, both of which will be returned to Amazon and we'll see if it's a case of 3rd time satisfactory.
This is a book that should recognise and do justice to the talent of the photographers work presented within, sadly this is not the case with the 2 examples I have in front of me. In fact I would go as far to say I've not seen such poor quality in printing and production for a book of this type - this view based on owning and having seen a fair number of photography books across various genres.
Both books are plagued with white specks, some which appear to be paper dust and can be wiped away with a soft cloth, others are firmly stuck to the page. This is particularly distracting on darker areas of images and seems to be especially prominent on the black pages within the books.
One of the books has numerous images where there appears to have been a problem with the printing as there are areas of white specks on the images which are clearly not paper dust or similar, and are clearly not part of the image (a comparison between the 2 copies I have confirms this as some images in one book are ok, but not so in the other copy).
On one image there are large purple splodges printed within the image, again absent in the same image on the other copy - overall there appears to be little consistency between the 2 copies I have.
Finally one of the books has a whole section, p51-72 where the pages have been incorrectly cut or bound and so every image and section of text on these pages is noticeably askew.
The images themselves are spectacular, inspirational and worthy of 5 stars, but have been badly let down by the production of this book (were quality control on holiday?) hence a 1 star rating unless a significantly better copy turns up. I'm so frustrated with this I am going to write to the publishers for their comment as I really think it is an insult to the achievements of the photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD PHOTO'S , BUT , OF INSUFFICIENT SIZE ON THE PAGE ?, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
I saw the exhibition at the Natural History Museum and thought the photographs were superb , helped greatly by size and back lighting . Whilst a relatively small book is unlikely to do them justice , I was particularly disapointed that in most cases in the book they are framed and only partially filled the page .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb volume with wide appeal, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
Pepper (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful hardback book running to around 150 pages and it has now become a matter of routine to order this annually published volume - this one is Portfolio 23.

The book is sumptuously printed on good quality gloss paper and contains not only some wonderful pictures but also a really informative commentary on both the wildlife and pictures themselves. In many cases there is also an insight into how the picture was taken and what the photographer set out to achieve. For the technically minded every photograph has details of the equipment and primary settings used to capture the image - the brands Canon and Nikon are unsurprisingly the most frequently occurring!

This book is a gem for both photographers as well as those with an interest in nature. Ours is left on the coffee table throughout the year and browsed with great frequency by us as well as visitors. This book makes an excellent Christmas present although, be warned, once you buy it, it's likely to become an annual purchase.

In summary, a superb book in terms of both content and production. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Photos, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
We buy this book every year when we go to the exhibition but this year were unable to. Thankfully this book is of such a high quality that it is almost as good as going to the exhibition. The photos are amazing and are great to go through your children with.

Word of warning: If you are going to go through this with young or impressionable ones, make sure that you don't go through the last section of the book (about the ivory trade), which while very worthwhile can be a little harrowing and gruesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Amazing!, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
I saw the pictures in the Natural History Museum exhibition and bought the the book as a result. It's a wonderful reminder of a truly amazing exhibition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book of photography, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
You can't beat the photographs in this book. I bought prior years books and you keep coming back to them time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Such poor print quality!, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
J. Rayner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
This book does not do justice to the photographers who won the awards this year. It is a very poor quality publication with dust from the page cuttings being embedded into the ink while it was still wet on some pages and on others the pages were cut on the skew and so the photos are not straight.

Not impressed at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bad delivery service, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
Got it for Mum for Christmas, wasnt dispatched until well after Christmas.
She was more than happy with it in the end but I was upset that she didnt get it in time for Christmas, or indeed soon after Christmas.
Would definately recommend the book, but not the supplier I got it from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful images, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
It never ceases to amaze me the lengths photographers will go to to get the images they want. These images demonstrate that the time and effort spent is well worthwhile and the wildlife photographer of the year and young photographer deserve their accolade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 (Hardcover)
I collect wildlife photography books and just like the rest of the Wildlife Photographer of the Year books its fantastic. I will keep buying them for the stunning pictures, the remarkable subjects and very talented photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23
Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 23 by The Natural History Museum (Hardcover - 16 Oct. 2013)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews