Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Grave matter - simply the best new doctor who story so far!
This story is excellent, with a great start where we follow the doctor and peri around the island confronted by mystery upon mystery: Who is the starnge man missing a hand rambling madly, where are they, when are they, and why are the animals and children behaving so strangely!
The plot whizzes along, and the reader is met with cliff hanger after cliff hanger, with...
Published on 25 Feb 2001 by ipswichjon@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generic but readable horror story
Grave Matter is a very simplistic but readable horror story. The main influence here are zombie movies, but given as this is Doctor Who inevitably an extraterrestrial explanation is provided. While there is little here that isn't a regurgitated genre cliché (fog-bound setting, corpses rising from the grave, mad scientists, strangers able to instantly stop...
Published on 29 Aug 2005 by Jane Aland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Grave matter - simply the best new doctor who story so far!, 25 Feb 2001
This review is from: Doctor Who: Grave Matter (Mass Market Paperback)
This story is excellent, with a great start where we follow the doctor and peri around the island confronted by mystery upon mystery: Who is the starnge man missing a hand rambling madly, where are they, when are they, and why are the animals and children behaving so strangely!
The plot whizzes along, and the reader is met with cliff hanger after cliff hanger, with excellent action and horror in the old Tom Baker/John Pertwee mould.
Colin Baker was one of my favourite doctors who seemed to be let down by weak scripts and stories, but I'd have loved to have seen this on the telly! must for any fans of Doctor who. What are you waiting for? BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sixth Doctor the way he should have been, 10 July 2000
By 
M. Saunders "marquon" (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Grave Matter (Mass Market Paperback)
This is, without doubt, the best Doctor Who story I've read, outside the broadcast stories. For me to say that is quite a feat, when I confess that the Sixth Doctor was probably my least favourite! Justin Richards has not only captured the characters of The Doctor and Peri, but manages to improve on them, making them more likeable and "real" than they appeared on TV. The dialogue is perfect, particularly for the Doctor: you can hear Colin Baker's voice every time, but again I have to emphasise that the Sixth Doctor in this story is a far more rounded character than the "Doctor Whooligan" we saw on TV - he has affection for Peri and cares about the people involved in the "Grave Matter" of the title. Peri, too, does not spend the entire story moaning at The Doctor or moping about - she's in there, investigating the mystery with (and without) The Doctor. If that wasn't enough, the story's rather good, too! Borrowing elements from various Hammer horrors in order to enhance the sinister mood, but explaining the horror in Doctor Who/SF terms, the book succeeds on every level. Richards also has a very easy, authoritative writing style - the first two chapters in particular I found unputdownable! You've probably realised from the cover that this can be summed up quickly as "Doctor Who Meets the Zombies", but it's more than just that. When I think that I hesitated when deciding whether or not to buy this... Do yourself a favour and read it soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite an accomplished little tale..., 30 Jun 2001
By 
finna (LONDON, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Grave Matter (Mass Market Paperback)
A sinister and chilling story, well constructed, and with a little more to think about than usual. Some similarities to Coldheart and Deep Blue in its' portrayal of an alien invasion from within and transformation of human beings, but this story manages to rise above both of these with its' compelling storyline and characters. Justin Richards keeps the story going with several unexpected twists to the plot, and the sixth Doctor and Peri are brought vividly to life in a story that seems almost made for them. It's quite a fun story in places too, in some ways almost like an adult Scooby Doo adventure. Overall, a great read, with some truly memorable moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generic but readable horror story, 29 Aug 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Grave Matter (Mass Market Paperback)
Grave Matter is a very simplistic but readable horror story. The main influence here are zombie movies, but given as this is Doctor Who inevitably an extraterrestrial explanation is provided. While there is little here that isn't a regurgitated genre cliché (fog-bound setting, corpses rising from the grave, mad scientists, strangers able to instantly stop conversation by entering the local pub, etc) the small cast of well-rounded characters and action scenes are enough to keep the pages flying by. Things rather fall apart at the end with a protracted 'house under siege' climax, and the 6th Doctors solution to the zombie problem is an anti-climax, but Grave Matter is a reasonably enjoyable romp. A basic but readable horror story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Grave Matter, 4 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Grave Matter (Mass Market Paperback)
Grave Matter sees the Past Doctor Adventures back to usual territory after the light-hearted Verdigris. Featuring the 6th Doctor and Peri, and written by Justin Richards, I was hoping for a great read.

Sadly Grave Matter doesn’t get off to a brilliant start and after a reasonably interesting first chapter the pace slows to a crawl. Richards is usually the master of getting you hooked in from the first few pages, but here he lets himself down. Plot wise the Doctor and Peri have arrived on an island off the Cornish coast which seems a little bit anachronistic but it soon becomes clear it is in the present day, the island just shuns most modern technology. Something is still fishy though, with new arrivals Sir Edward Baddesley, Dave Madsen and Christopher Sheldon causing all manner of odd behaviour in the wildlife and local populace. Things do pick up after the first 50 odd pages, but just as the novel starts to get interesting, it descends into a mediocre zombie plot which whilst not bad, hardly sets your imagination alight.

The 6th Doctor and Peri are one of my very favourite pairings. Bar the totally out of character Doctor in The Twin Dilemma I was always a great lover of Colin Baker’s Doctor, with the writing and people in charge letting him down. Sadly he doesn’t fare well in Grave Matter either with Richards opting to write him as a shadow of himself. The 6th Doctor is bold, brash and bullish, but here we see very little of that with a Doctor much more akin to the 3rd. Peri also isn’t great, she’s fairly generic as companions go anyway, and here she doesn’t do much to say she’s Peri. It’s almost as if it was a 3rd Doctor and Jo Grant novel with a few lines changed to fit this era of the show.

Sadly things don’t really pick up when you get to the supporting cast, which is unlike Justin Richards who is normally pretty good. All the characters are clichéd and stereotypically, the grieving brother, the insane but friendly patient, the dodgy newcomers etc. etc. Richards also usually manages to serve up a decent plot twist or two, but here you can see everything coming a mile off.

Grave Matter is basically Doctor Who by numbers with a generic cast. It could be any Doctor with any companion and it would still deliver the exact same experience. The story makes up for this somewhat, but it’s still very middle of the road and nothing you’ve not seen before. Apparently Richards wrote it at short notice, and it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Grave Matter (Mass Market Paperback)
I did enjoy this book but I will admit that it is probably not one of Justin Richards best. I think this book would be better suited if it had been set after the dark story, Revelation of the Daleks. Still a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Grave Matter (Mass Market Paperback)
A Very good read; a blend of comedy and horror - that defiantly suit the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Grave Matter
Doctor Who: Grave Matter by Justin Richards (Mass Market Paperback - 1 May 2000)
Used & New from: £0.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews