Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern Who classic
Darker, more mature than TV Who, the 8th Doctor books have introduced a lot of genuinely original concepts to Doctor Who, and many were created by Lawrence Miles. Interference is far from a traditional Who adventure - it does give the Doctor's history a major shake-up, but it's perfectly in keeping with the themes of the 8th Doctor's adventures. Not as light-hearted as...
Published on 19 April 2000 by Godfather Morlock

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unacceptable and Insulting!
The Doctor's Third Regeneration ended when he faced the "Great One" when his body was destroyed by radiation in the caves of the blue crystals. With great difficulty he was able to bring the TARDIS back to UNIT headquarters where he was forced to once again regenerate. Not according to Lawrence Miles who has now completely raped Doctor Who continuity by...
Published on 7 Feb. 2000 by Bret M. Herholz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unacceptable and Insulting!, 7 Feb. 2000
By 
Bret M. Herholz (Worcester, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Interference Book Two (Doctor Who) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Doctor's Third Regeneration ended when he faced the "Great One" when his body was destroyed by radiation in the caves of the blue crystals. With great difficulty he was able to bring the TARDIS back to UNIT headquarters where he was forced to once again regenerate. Not according to Lawrence Miles who has now completely raped Doctor Who continuity by changing the Third Doctor's regeneration completely. Does he realize what kind of effect this would have on the time stream. If the Doctor didn't go to Metebelis Three and stop the Great One with her plans, the Eight Legs would have successfully conqured the Earth thanks to Lupton and his cronies at the Tibetian Meditation Center. Or perhaps the Doctor would have faced it in his Fourth incarnation. But if he was to go into the caves, this would have ended his fourth incarnation prematurely. This would have placed the Fifth Doctor with Sarah Jane Smith and he would have never met Tegan, Nyssa, Adric Turlough and Peri. You can probably see where I'm going with this and I'll stop. For the most part I thought this book was very clever with some of the writing devices the author used, such as a transcript format for the parts that were suppose to be television shows. But unfortunately, this story is too disjointed and both the Third and Eighth Doctor hardly show up in the story at all (or meet each other). And you felt nothing with Sam's departure from the TARDIS crew. I mean even Mel's departure had more feeling than that (probably because everybody was so damn relieved that she was leaving. Thank heavens). After reading both Books of this two parter, I had almost lost all hope with the Doctor Who bookline. Until I read Matrix and The Devil Gobins of Neptune which gave me faith in the series again. I certainly hope that BBC books will clean up this whole mess up very soon. I feel this "new regeneration" is not only an insult to not only the fans of Doctor Who, but also the memory of Jon Pertwee. Remember how the Seventh Doctor shot in the 1996 television movie. Well, I'm terribly sorry Mr. Miles, but if it didn't work once, I'm quite sure it won't work a second time. I do recommend fans to buy this book and draw their own conclusion. The book has it's moments, just not many of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern Who classic, 19 April 2000
Darker, more mature than TV Who, the 8th Doctor books have introduced a lot of genuinely original concepts to Doctor Who, and many were created by Lawrence Miles. Interference is far from a traditional Who adventure - it does give the Doctor's history a major shake-up, but it's perfectly in keeping with the themes of the 8th Doctor's adventures. Not as light-hearted as Alien Bodies, but Interference is still packed with plot twists and surprises. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 26 Jun. 2000
I grew up with Dr Who especially Mr Pertwee and grieved greatly when the programme degenerated into silliness with number seven. And I am not one for manky novel spinoffs, as I am a stickler not just for detail but also for style. But this has really brought Dr Who back for me, being supremely faithful to the TV series yet also taking the character and his worlds on in a superb way. Interference One is a marvellously intelligent and imaginative read, it's well written, it's engrossing, full of surprises, and the first time I have been scared by Dr Who in 25 years.The richness of the story is very impressive. Mr Miles is a very good writer indeed and this is a fine fine piece of work. In parts it is also very moving, and the whole story just gets better in volume number two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unclear transmissions., 25 April 2008
By 
Tim Allan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was expecting this book to be an action packed, thrill a minute read. Instead it has been very slow and in suffers some major problems. The Doctor really is'nt in it that much and Fitz is practically non exsistant. The part of the book set on Dust was a real drag to get through. However there are some redeeming factors. The Eighth Doctors imprisonment seems like he has given up any hope of escape and is merely trying to prolong his life. Also a lot of the book is unclear as to what is meant to be happening and this means that I go into book two with some anticipation. It has its good points but it is no where near to being as good as it should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interference, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
The moment has arrived, it is finally my time to read the opus that is Interference by the brilliant Lawrence Miles, the guy who wrote the best book of the range so far, Alien Bodies. So what do I know about Interference before embarking on the mammoth of task of reading it? Well for the first and I believe only time, the novel is spread over two book. If that wasn’t long enough for you, each book is night on 310 pages, and has writing so small, your Nan would struggle to read it. From a story point of view it features both the 3rd and 8th Doctors and is Sam’s final story. I just punched the air with anticipation.

The main plot of Shock Tactic is that aliens have come to Earth to try to sell a new weapon to the humans, a substance called Cold. The authorities are suspicious and call for the Doctor who brings Sam and Fitz along for the ride. The story then heads off in various threads, with a future Sam, Fitz and Doctor all working on their own. Where this sort of writing normally bugs me, Lawrence Miles does it in a way which doesn’t. Everything is clear as day and you don’t have a “what the hell is going on?” moment. Just as things start getting interesting however the story stops and a whole other one is started.

The second story tells us of a planet called Dust, and the arrival of the 3rd Doctor, a blind man, and the Remote. Whilst not quite as interesting and enjoyable as the Earth based part, it still manages to entertain. Again, as soon as the plot gets interesting the book ends.

The Doctor doesn’t really get a lot to do in Shock Tactic, spending the majority of the novel locked up, however his pieces are brilliantly done. The IM Foreman bits add to the intrigue of the series as a whole as this is the name on the junkyard in Totters Lane. The 3rd Doctor doesn’t make an appearance until late on though, which is a shame, I’m sure it will be rectified in book 2 though. I was a little let down by Fitz, his bits with the others seemed to rely on him being asleep or almost asleep and his chapters were all rather short. In my eyes Fitz is the saviour of the range, so for him to have a backseat in what is the most pivotal novel thus far borders on criminal. An older Sarah Jane Smith also features and she brings K9 along too. Like Sam her bits are fairly prominent and she takes on the role of the Doctor seeing as he is absent. An earlier version or herself with the 3rd Doctor is also present. Miles has both versions down perfectly.

The main focus of Shock Tactic however is Sam, and despite my despair at too little Fitz, this is probably the way it should be. At the end of Autumn Mist she made it clear she wanted to leave the Doctor for no real reason and now that the TARDIS has landed back on Earth, in a time frame close to her own, she’s leaving after helping the Doctor with this one last thing. Miles makes her likeable, he has her berate protestors and at the same time realise she would have been with them at one point.

True to form Miles has created some wonderful support characters. Llewis is basically any office worker under the sun, moaning how Peter bloody Morgan always gets the good jobs, but when he has a chance to shine throws it away spectacularly. Compassion, Kobe and Guest are interesting as the villains of the piece and the gradual introduction to them being the Remote is great character building. The fact that they tie into Faction Paradox also helps.

So Interference is half way done and in all honesty Lawrence Miles has cemented his place as top writer for the range already. An interesting story, meets brilliant characters with plenty of in-jokes and references to the show littered throughout. The few minor niggles are easily negated by the sheer brilliance of the rest of it. All in all it’s a joy to read. Roll on book two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped and Underachieving, but not bad., 30 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Interference Book Two (Doctor Who) (Mass Market Paperback)
Miles' story picks up from where we left off at the end of Inteference Book 1 - and it is all one story with no real separation, so don't even think of reading this book if you haven't read book one yet. Seriously, it won't make any sense to you.
However, here things tail off somewhat from the levels the first book achieved. While there Miles was throwing out interesting plot-points and weaving a gripping tale, here he has to bring it all together and tell an actual story. And it doesn't really work. The Eighth Doctor's incarceration doesn't work because nothing is made of it, astounding given that it persisted almost throughout the first book and well into the second. And the motivations of his captors are just, well, unbelievable. You'll know what I mean when you've read it. The ending to the Eighth Doctor's section, when Miles tries to convey a wordless communication using words, doesn't work. Fitz's rebirth is one of the most convoluted things I've ever seen.
Meanwhile, something bad happens to the Third Doctor's continuity. I won't say anymore, other than to say that this didn't seem like the catastrophe I was expecting. Miles handles it well, writing something fitting that works well in the current storylines. But there are other problems with the Third Doctor's storyline, most notably the lack of any explaination as to what drew him to Dust in the first place.
But the real problem with this book is that the Eighth Doctor's story feels far too long - there's not actually a whole lot happening, and it certainly doesn't feel more than the average book - and the Third Doctor's story feels too short - it goes there, does it's stuff, but very little actually happens. It feels more like an extended story from Short Trips than something of worth of its own.
Overall, it's a good read, though mainly on the grounds of things that carry over from the first book. Not bad, not good, just kinda there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 21 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This story gives Doctor Who, series and concept, a timely kick up the arse. To describe the book as "insulting", as some reviewers have done is an act of lunacy. It's a spin-off of a TV show, not a rewrite of The Bible! Miles has written the book that has sparked off the whole current cycle of Doctor Who novels. It even appears to tie in with Miles' New Adventures novel "Dead Romance". Read it, skip the next two books, which do fall into the dull, pretentious category and enjoy this excellent sequence of stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Twisting Adventure, 8 April 2000
Lawrence Miles not satisfied with killing off the Doctor and then selling his mortal remains in his novel Alien Bodies, he now plays havoc with the Doctor's third incarnation in this adventure which seems to take place in several diferent timestreams. Still it and part 2 are a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still Too Much Interference, 29 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Doctor Who: Interference Book Two (Doctor Who) (Mass Market Paperback)
In the second part of this substantial tale, Fitz finds his loyalties slipping, the Faction finds and loses its way, the 3rd Doctor discovers that there is something to be said for fate, Sam becomes the star of the show (or three) and the 8th Doctor struggles to face an uncertain future. You will either love these books or hate them, but as a new beginning of sorts they are a good place for fans to start reading the 8th Doctor's ongoing adventures.
The one thing that really troubles in this book is the blood and violence. There are fights, guns, torture... it goes far beyond anything that you might expect from the series. Now, while books offer that chance to break down the boundaries of TV - if the events run against the themes and sensabilities of the original, you're left wondering whether this has gone a step too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re-Writes Dr who History, 16 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Interference Book Two (Doctor Who) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an extremely well written book, and while most of the action concentrates on the 8th Doctor and companions the 3rd also gets a decent chunk of this book. Characterisation of both Doctors is excellent, and its nice to see the all conquering 3rd Doctor totally out of his depth. Bothy Doctors learn that the universe has become a much harsher place. Many plot threads from book 1 are tied up, but some plot threads from both books are left dangling, no doubt these will be picked up in future books in the series. Books 1 & 2 of "Interference" totally re-write the history of the Doctor, we can be sure of nothing in the "Who" universe anymore, everything has changed. Just wait till you see the fate of the third Doctor - Metebelis 3 is no more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Interference Book Two (Doctor Who)
Doctor Who: Interference Book Two (Doctor Who) by Lawrence Miles (Mass Market Paperback - 2 Aug. 1999)
Used & New from: £3.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews