Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Goons at their hilarious best, as always
Spike Milligan, Peter Sellars and Sir Harry Secombe display why they are British comedy legends in this brilliant collection of episodes from 1957 and 1958. This is a classic example of the Goons doing what has made them the greatest comedy program in Britain's radio history. 'The Reason Why' is in a strange format as it is without the normal studio audience...
Published on 2 Jun 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good
Its ok as the the Goons go, but i felt it lacked something but cannot put my finger on. Maybe its the track "The Reason Why" it has no audiance feed back on it and the plots seem a bit weak.
Published 18 months ago by Alan Booth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Goons at their hilarious best, as always, 2 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Spike Milligan, Peter Sellars and Sir Harry Secombe display why they are British comedy legends in this brilliant collection of episodes from 1957 and 1958. This is a classic example of the Goons doing what has made them the greatest comedy program in Britain's radio history. 'The Reason Why' is in a strange format as it is without the normal studio audience participation, and I often find myself cringing at the ramblings of a trio of gentlemen doing exactly what they usually do to hilarious effect, yet somehow with the subtraction of a studio audience, it seems like amateur actors' audition tapes. The three remaining episodes more than make up for this disappointment. 'The Treasure in the Tower' is an example of the goons' hilarious ingenuity through flitting between 1600 and 1957 (the year of the recording) with side-splitting results. 'The Plastacine Man' sees Neddie Seagoon trying to become a jazz superstar. He enlists the help of Grytpype-Thynne, whose plan to bury Neddie at Stone Henge in order for him to be discovered has hysterical consequences. The title piece, 'The Silent Bugler' sees British agent Capt. Hairy Seagoon trying to track down the elusive 'Silent Bugler'. Arguably the best on the cassette, the search for the Russian spy, and his time machine. This episode is incredibly funny, from the mission brief, through the sensitivity test from Colonel Bloodnok, all the way to the final showdown at the Dresden State opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goon Show Classics "The Silent Bugler", 28 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This disc completes my collection of Goon Shows and contains, as the title says, some real classics.
I laughed till the tears ran down my trouser legs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goon but not forgotten!, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
What can you say about The Goons? If you have heard of them then you will already know how good they are, if you haven't well, they are a group of blokes who wrote a radio show that went out every week and had thousands of listeners in hysterics! The humour is very clever, frequently daft but always funny. Spike Milligan, Peter Sellers and Harry Secombe at their very best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy dad!!, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
this kept my dad entertained for days and days.. listening over and over and never getting bored!! i was definitely his favourite daughter after this purchase!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Its ok as the the Goons go, but i felt it lacked something but cannot put my finger on. Maybe its the track "The Reason Why" it has no audiance feed back on it and the plots seem a bit weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goon show classics, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Fabulous. Every Goons fan should have them. Timeless performances from the Masters of comedy. I will certainly be buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Goon Show, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Merlin (Gelligaer, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
A well recieved Xmas present for my elderly uncle who is nostalgic about listening to the Goon Shows on the Radio on Sunday afternoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
It's the Goons - what more is there to say? Memories of times sitting by the wireless come flooding back - sheer magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goon Show Classics, 29 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Vincent Waterfall "Oregolac" (Exeter UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
THESE WERE A DELIGHT TO HEAR AS I STARTED LISTENING TO THE GOON DHOW AFTER THESE WERE MADE AND I WAS HEARING THEM FOR THE FIRST TIME. ONE WAS A BIT STRANGE WITH NO AUDIENCE BUT OTHERWISE BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goon Show Classics: The Reason Why/The Treasure in the Tower/The Plasticine Man/The Silent Bugler. Four Original BBC Radio Episodes v.17 (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Old but good classic. Came quickly too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews