Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb introduction to an area many of us take for granted
I was looking for a information regarding the judgements people make when they see others. I am writing a thesis on this very subject at the moment and this book is absolutly superb. Thankyou Brian and John!!!
Published on 15 Mar 2001

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too much paper, to few words ........
like the previous reviewer, and indeed previous books by Cleese, the content is brilliant. The design of the book however allows far too much space to be taken up by over enlarged pictures, full page photographs, and other graphic design devices, that serve only to pad out the bulk, and add little to the thesis. I suggest that this bulk could be halved by good design,...
Published on 21 Mar 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb introduction to an area many of us take for granted, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Human Face (Hardcover)
I was looking for a information regarding the judgements people make when they see others. I am writing a thesis on this very subject at the moment and this book is absolutly superb. Thankyou Brian and John!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really brilliant read, 5 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Human Face (Hardcover)
I disagree with some of the reviews here that said this book needed more words. I found it to be immensely readable and hard to put down. The pictures really add a lot of interest and stop it feeling like a textbook even though the words are very thought-provoking and interesting. I like all of John Cleese's books that I've read so far and this one's a cracker too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too much paper, to few words ........, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Human Face (Hardcover)
like the previous reviewer, and indeed previous books by Cleese, the content is brilliant. The design of the book however allows far too much space to be taken up by over enlarged pictures, full page photographs, and other graphic design devices, that serve only to pad out the bulk, and add little to the thesis. I suggest that this bulk could be halved by good design, with no loss at all to the content or value of the book. Alternatively it would have been nice to have had more text, and a bit more depth, but that does seem to go against the trend in TV tie in books, in general, and this publisher in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Full of interesting information, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Human Face (Hardcover)
Overall I liked it. Lots of interesting information. I used it as reference for a university project so it was worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Human Face, 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Human Face (Hardcover)
I agree with a lot of has been said by the other reviewers. Too many pictures, not enough writing or substance. It goes on to talk about things that are not related to what i wanted to read about. I didn't learn an awful lot. One chapter was quite interesting, but that's about it. Wouldn't really recommend-i should have listened to the other reviewers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little depth, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Human Face (Hardcover)
No mention of the ratios and angles found thoughout nature, or how that information is used to do reconstructive surgery and orthodontics - a very dumbed down accompaniment to the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Human Face
The Human Face by John Cleese (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews