Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
H. Green "flamingice" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book to be enjoyed separately or as a companion to the BBC series. Beautiful photographs sit alongside wonderful writing in the way that Sir David Attenborough only knows how, bringing these facts of a strange and different world to life with vivid imagery. I think even if the photographs were not there it would be hard not to create a picture of this cold blooded world in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read., 29 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
A thoroughly enjoyable and interesting read. If you have an interest in Herpetology then some of the facts outlined may not come as any sort of surprise to you but all in all, very informative. I'm not a massive reader but I read this book over two evenings and would read it again!
It's by Sir Attenborough so naturally, you can be assured of how good it is.
The photography in the book and on the cover is stunning although a great many of the images look as though they are scans of old film images - some look a little blurred but all in all, stunning photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life In Cold Blood, 22 Sept. 2012
By 
Nathan Fisher (The UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
Naturally, this is a good book. Sir David doesn't 'do' bad books, nor television. Althought ostensibly written for the layman, there's enough of interest here to keep both the casual reader and the informed non-academic entertained. What makes him genuinely great amongst modern writers of the language is that he doesn't impart himself into what he writes: he has always understood that his subject takes precedence, and he is happy to let his knowledge, rather than his ability to turn a phrase or coin a pun, do the talking. Coupled with the simple elegance of his English and his willingness to allow humour to creep into what he writes, rather than his determination to crow-bar it in, this means that reading anything he commits to page is never less than a pleasure.

My sole issue with Life In Cold Blood (and it's not one that affects my rating of the book or series) is that it was billed as being the final installment of David's documentaries on animalia. This is patently untrue. Life of Mammals, Life of Birds, Life in Cold Blood (i.e. reptilia and amphibia)... where are the fish? Blue Planet was only narrated, not produced, by Attenborough and, besides, was an overview of the oceans as a habitat and their multivarious inhabitants, whatever their taxonomy. Had I the courage I would have questioned Sir David about this when I got my copy of Life In Cold Blood signed at the Trafford Centre in 2008. However, I'd been waiting in line for over two hours, so who knows how long he'd been signing cover after cover. In the event I managed nothing more than a "thank you so very much". And despite my being just another face in a queue that probably exceeded a thousand, he still managed a sincere smile. Truly, a national treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life in Cold Blood, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
S. M. Huxley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
I think this is the best series David Attenborough has ever presented.It is captivating with such beautiful photography. If you missed seeing the series on BBC then buying the DVD is a must
Sheila Huxley Wirral
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Attenborough does it again!, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
For everyone that is interested in reptiles and amphibians, this book which follows David Attenborough's herpetological based series is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
So much love for this book, definitely buying the others. It was reallllyyy cheap as well, definitely buying from this seller again too as it came really fast and with a book cover protector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life in Cold Blood, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
Who could not love these books they are filled with the most amazing photos and information, love watching the video I have purchased as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for reptile/amphibian enthusiasts, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
Attenborough as good as ever with lovely pictures. A must have on the book shelf if you are an amphibian/reptile enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars out standing read, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
its a attenborough book what more can i say the man is a legend , full of information as you would expect from David
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life In Cold Blood (Hardcover)
Come before it was ment too arrive which is very good ! But came with no recipet and wasnt very well package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life In Cold Blood
Life In Cold Blood by David Attenborough (Hardcover - 6 Dec. 2007)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews