Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars India Explored
I've always found Michael Wood's books full of passion and insight and after watching his spectacular programme on Friday, I looked this up online immediately. I've just read it cover to cover (in one sitting!) and was relieved to find that what Michael Wood shows so elegantly on screen....is just as good in print! There is so much about ancient Indian history that gets...
Published on 29 Aug 2007 by J. Galea

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad
The research done by Michael wood is quite substantial. I found the story of British Occupation in India slightly disappointing as I would have expected much more detail, but understandably time and editing rules. I also find it disappointing that not enough is commented on the effects of partition in Bengal. Too much is always commented on over the effects on Punjab, but...
Published on 11 May 2008 by A. Mukherjee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars India Explored, 29 Aug 2007
By 
J. Galea (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of India (Hardcover)
I've always found Michael Wood's books full of passion and insight and after watching his spectacular programme on Friday, I looked this up online immediately. I've just read it cover to cover (in one sitting!) and was relieved to find that what Michael Wood shows so elegantly on screen....is just as good in print! There is so much about ancient Indian history that gets overlooked and I would recommend this to anyone looking for a thorough, in depth account. I found it just as impressive as his other books, but really enjoyed the journey aspect to this - beautiful scene setting and pictures that make it feel like an epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Michael Wood's Usual Standards, 4 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. N. T. Baxter "Neil" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of India (Hardcover)
I am an avid history reader, but before I read this book I knew only a rough outline of Indian history - perhaps even that's an exageration! So for me much of this was new and exciting. As usual, Wood's enthusiasm and writing skills make his work a pleasure to read, and also gives a real sense of the place and people.

I particularly enjoyed the first chapter looking at the earliest prehistoric times, especially the section on the fire cults and mantra based rituals that could go back almost as long as mankind has walked the earth. Mind boggling.

India is such a rich, interesting and diverse country that it is far beyond the scope of a single volume to cover everything important in sufficient detail, but as a sweeping overview full of colour and interest this book is a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fascinating history, 8 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Story of India (Hardcover)
Michael Wood has done it again - brought a relatively little known period of history to life in thrilling fashion. This is totally absorbing and the pictures are absolutely stunning. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story of India - Michael Wood, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of India (Hardcover)
This book accompanies the TV series and the DVD release of the series. An excellent book to have if you liked the programme and have the DVD as well. Nice to read it when you have watched the programme and for some additional information. I was born and grew up in South India so had some doubts about one image atleast which appeared to be a photograph arranged (without adequate research) for this book. But this is a minor issue when you consider the passion with which Michael Wood presents India. Far better than many programmes produced in India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars India by an Indophile, 15 May 2011
By 
Mr. R. Patel "R." (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of India (Paperback)
I have always enjoyed Michael Wood's documentaries particulary those concerning Alexander the Great and did not know he was an indophile until I saw his documentary on India, which was superbly made. I carried this book around with my on my journey of india and it may only glance much of the depth and history of the continent but it does manage to un-pick: a complex cultural identity and how the nation and country came to be such a melting pot of ideas, religion and culture.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and incomplete, 1 July 2009
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of India (Paperback)
In 300 pages the historian Michael Wood gallops us through the history of India. He charts the rise of immense cities in 4000 bc, all the way through to the rise of India as an emerging, 21st century global power. It is, of necessity incomplete. To cover in detail everything he outlines would take volumes.

This is a companion piece to the BBC tv series of the same name and in my opinion this book should be used as a guide and a reminder to the series in order to get the best out of it. The visual delights of the series and Wood's compelling narrative work so wonderfully that the book can only really be a pale imitation, fascinating though it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad, 11 May 2008
By 
A. Mukherjee "ASHES" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of India (Hardcover)
The research done by Michael wood is quite substantial. I found the story of British Occupation in India slightly disappointing as I would have expected much more detail, but understandably time and editing rules. I also find it disappointing that not enough is commented on the effects of partition in Bengal. Too much is always commented on over the effects on Punjab, but those who have lived through the effects of partition in Bengal cannot relate to the complete ignorance of the region.
All in all I have enjoyed the series immensely and I would definitely recommend it for people (including a lot of Indians) who want to know a bit more about India .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glimpses of past glory, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Story of India (Paperback)
With many colourful illustrations, this serves as an attractive souvenir of the BBC series, although the DVD is obviously better. The chapters themed by chronological time periods provide much intriguing information if you have the time and patience to tease it out of the somewhat rambling text: the followers of the Jain religion who gather annually to pour "great vats of milk, paste, saffron and vermilion over the giant statue" of their guru Babuballi; the ruler Ashoka, advised that he had to be "cruel to be great", who converted to Buddhism in later life, leaving his kingdom scattered with carved pillars instructing his subjects on how to live as he removed the death penalty, calling for the conservation of forests and respect for the beliefs and practices of others and so on.

I was looking for a book that would combine history with culture and politics, but to be fair this does not claim to be more than a history. With friends and contacts to ease his path, Wood presents a somewhat rose-tinted view of India: the squalor, dirt and pollution are cunningly omitted from all his pictures, and the ancient monuments and paintings gleam with colour, with little sign of the ravages of time. If you are reading this for a standard sightseeing tour, you may be a little disappointed by the often harsh and worn reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of India (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for someone who reads widely and deeply, and was just about to embark on a trip to India. I was not disappointed, as the receiver was delighted and enjoyed reading it immensely. In turn I was really pleased , as I had been intending to purchase the dvd of Woods' first rate tv series on the subject. The book was an excellent substitute, as the lady could take it with her! I got rave reviews as feedback, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of India (Paperback)
If you have travelled to India, always wanted to or merely have a sneaking wish to know more about the history and customs of this amazing sub-continent, this is a book for you. Written in a concise and very readable form, it is Michael Wood's truly compelling up to date account in language demonstrating his passion for the country and its people. It is designed for anyone with a love for the Jewel in the Crown of the British Empire. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of India
The Story of India by Michael Wood (Hardcover - 16 Aug 2007)
17.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews