Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind boggling!
This book ties in to the excellent TV series Earth Power of the Planet with the Scottish presenter Ian Stewart. It covers a mind boggling 5 BILLION years of the earth's history and looks at how the planet functions and the threat of global warming. I'm pleased to say the book has all the pace and energy of the series - Stewart has a good knack of making the science...
Published on 9 Dec 2007 by James H

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars inaccuracies
I very much enjoyed the TV series of Earth. I was however very dissapointed to find poor research in the book. The book states that the population of the earth near the end of the 18th Century was 20 million; whereas it was nearly 1 billion. As a keen historian and geographer I find this so blatantly inaccurate that it brings into question the validity of the rest of...
Published on 25 April 2011 by fergus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind boggling!, 9 Dec 2007
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
This book ties in to the excellent TV series Earth Power of the Planet with the Scottish presenter Ian Stewart. It covers a mind boggling 5 BILLION years of the earth's history and looks at how the planet functions and the threat of global warming. I'm pleased to say the book has all the pace and energy of the series - Stewart has a good knack of making the science understandable. A great introduction to a truly fascinating subject. Amazing pictures too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!!, 5 Jan 2008
By 
J. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
If you loved the series shown on bbc2 a few weeks ago, I guarantee you'll love this book. I've just received my copy today and I've only read a few pages but wow the stuff and information in it fabulous and awesome images. If you're into your volcanoes, impacts, earthquakes etc. Like I am :) I'd definitely forward this book to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible book, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Jan Starcevic (Prague, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
I loved reading this book and enjoyed every page of it. Reminded me of being a small boy reading books and exploring the whole new world of things. I strongly recommend it to anyone who is even remotely interested in knowing more about life and our planet. Very happy I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earth in all its majesty, 27 Mar 2008
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
Beautiful book and, like the TV series, is a well presented and informative guide to our planet, its formation and also addresses the problems that may occur from the legacy of human impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earth - The Power of the Planet (BBC BOOKS), 23 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. C. B. Mclaglen "beatrice allen" (Huddersfield, Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
This beautiful book is divided into sections, showing every aspectof the planet earth and how it works, illustrated to great effect with extraordinary photographs and with clear explainations from Iain Stewart and John Lynch who make wonderful programmes for television with an entartaining and true scientific knowledge and passion, and of an historical, cultural and human point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Terence C. Chilvers (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
A delightful read covering all aspects of earth's creation. A perfect read for a retired geography teacher such as me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars earth, 27 July 2012
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
This book was published as an adjunct to the BBC series of the same name and attempts to explain how our planet works detailing 6 elements impact(meteors), heat(volcanoes),atmosphere,oceans,ice and rare earth (a theoreticall discussion of life).
All the sections are well written and researched.The illustrations are adequate-the best being spread over 2 pages.
There is a short time line and a section for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Book, 28 April 2012
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my dad and he loves it. It has lots of great clear pictures and the explanations are easy to read.It can be read all the way through or just pick out different sections or even just look at the amazing pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 16 April 2011
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
This book is a good accompany to the Earth Series that was shown on the BBC. Good for general read, especially for teenage students as it can help them engage and research further on the topics covered due to the pleasant way the book is written and presented, along with good earth pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. R. Vasudev "R Vasudev" (UK, Lincoln) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earth - The Power of the Planet (Hardcover)
Easy reading complemented by fabulous pictures. Many of the phenomenon for the first time I saw them as photographs. Great value, especially if some one has risked being there, that very moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earth - The Power of the Planet
Earth - The Power of the Planet by John Lynch (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2007)
20.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews