Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's an evil force like you doing in a place like this?
Fear of the Dark is a Dr. Who novel by Trevor Baxendale. It's his fourth Dr. Who novel, and the first one to involve a different Doctor than the eighth. Baxendale does an excellent job with this one, creating his very own Who horror novel with some chills and a tight cast of characters. It's only marred by an ending that seems to take forever and some wooden...
Published on 8 Jan. 2004 by David Roy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but too many cliches, advance and retreat, and corny characters.
This starts out ok, if a little more like an episode of classic trek than doctor who. In fact it's a bit like the episode Devil in the Dark, with a monster lurking about in the tunnels etc . The characterisation and dialogue for the doctor is pretty good to start with, and you can picture the fifth doctor. Nyssa has little do for most of the book except be ill or asleep...
Published 2 months ago by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's an evil force like you doing in a place like this?, 8 Jan. 2004
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Fear of the Dark (Paperback)
Fear of the Dark is a Dr. Who novel by Trevor Baxendale. It's his fourth Dr. Who novel, and the first one to involve a different Doctor than the eighth. Baxendale does an excellent job with this one, creating his very own Who horror novel with some chills and a tight cast of characters. It's only marred by an ending that seems to take forever and some wooden characterization.
Baxendale is known for his traditional Who stories, and this one is no different. One can imagine the dank cave sets, perhaps wobbling a little bit as they were wont to do on the television show. It has a limited cast, and even fewer actual speaking parts. The only thing that couldn't be done is some of the special effects, and even those may have been able to be faked. Yes, this is televised Who on a book budget. And you know what? I loved it.
One of the things the television series often had going for it was atmosphere. Fear of the Dark has this in spades. It's spooky and it's (yes, this word will keep coming up again) dark. The dank mood of the caves just wafts off the page, and when one of the characters is completely cut off and alone in the dark (there it is again!), I could feel my own gut clench a little bit. Even when the characters are in bright lights, the book still feels a bit dimmed. Baxendale does a very effective job in conveying this, and the mood is perfect for what Baxendale is trying to show us. It's positively chilling when the Dark is siphoning away any visible light, and we watch as even open flames slowly dim until they are just embers, and then finally even these go out.
Often, when books go for an atmospheric effect, they do so at the expense of the characters. Baxendale is bitten by this bug, unfortunately. Then again, he could be going for the horror movie effect, where the cast is limited and nobody outside the inner circle is given any characterization whatsoever. While this may be true, it doesn't really work in a book. Some of Stoker's men have a few lines, a brief bit of characterization, and then they're gone. Cannon fodder is the term, I believe. It gets worse when the ship arrives and Baxendale adds even more faceless people to go with the two new full characters. In fact, we don't even know what happens to some of the crew, though it's obvious by implication. They just disappear and are never referred to again.
There are a few exceptions to this, though. Stoker is definitely the best of the bunch, alternately suspicious of the Doctor and then relying on him when it's clear he has a better grip of what's going on then she does. We learn a lot about her in the course of events, and I really enjoyed reading about her. Less well-done, though still effectively, are Lawrence, Bunny, and Cadwell. Cadwell has his own agenda but he seems a bit too stereotypical at times. Bunny is given lots of background, but it is sort of stereotypical as well. He has left his family for one final mission with Stoker, and he constantly misses his daughter (though no mention is made of him missing his wife, which is interesting). Lawrence actually is given more then the stereotypical tough-guy captain role, especially his interplay with Stoker.
However, it's the regular characters where Baxendale shines. The Fifth Doctor, so hard to get right in print (especially when compared to Peter Davison's performance of him on the show), is excellent. He's kind and considerate of his friends but just slightly tetchy. He's irritable at times, especially when things are starting to go wrong. Basically, he's so in-character here that it becomes obvious when something is happening to him and he starts doing weird things. With anybody else, the characterization would be so off that we would believe it's just the author messing up. Here, it's obvious what's going on and a little bit scary.
Tegan and Nyssa are excellent as well. Nyssa is innocent yet quietly competent. Tegan is a mouth on legs, but you can tell that she genuinely cares about people, especially her friends. She is willing to die for her friends if need be, and while she does feel fear, she is willing to do what it takes to save them. The novel takes place right after the television episode "Arc of Infinity," where she has met up with the TARDIS crew after being abandoned by them at Heathrow Airport 6 months before. Thus, the book delves deeply into her psyche as she determines what her place is within both the crew itself as well as life in general. She wants to do something with her life, and as scary as traveling with the Doctor can be sometimes, she hasn't felt alive like that since she was stuck back on Earth. She wants to help people, and she will always get the opportunity to do that when the Doctor is around. I loved her character in this book.
I haven't said a lot about the plot of the book, but that's mainly because it is stereotypical of the genre. A small group of people are terrorized by a malevolent force and must defeat it to survive. The ending confrontation drags on a bit too long and I started to get bored, but otherwise the book was one that I couldn't put down. Sure, the plot is a stereotype, but when it's done well, I don't care. This book grabbed me, and while it almost let me go at the end, it was definitely worth the read.
David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fear of the Dark, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Taking life easy for a few days, having a nasty cold, I've read a couple of the 50th anniversary editions of Doctor Who novels. The Fourth Doctor story, Festival of Death, was great and I've reviewed that.

This one is the Fifth Doctor story representative for the 50th anniversary celebrations. Fear of the Dark was first published in 2003, and is set after the tv story Arc of Infinity, when Tegan returns to the Tardis after the adventure in Amsterdam with Omega. Tegan, Nyssa and the Doctor are still feeling the loss of Adric, and Nyssa is haunted by nightmares of Traken. When the Tardis is attacked by some kind of psionic force, they land on what turns out to be the moon of Akoshemon, a planet where centuries of fear and horror have haunted the landscape. There the Tardis crew meet up with a team led by Jyl Stoker; but what are they doing there and what does it mean for the Doctor and his companions?

This is a great story; the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Tegan are captured perfectly. I love the way the author has captured Tegan's quickfire temper, and there is humour laced among the action and mounting horror of the narrative. Beyond that, the story itself is a clever, multi-layered narrative, which starts off seeming like its going to be quite straightforward but along the way turns into a very complex story with many sidelines. That's a good thing; the characters all get a chance to develop into `real' people, and the mounting tension and horror of the story becomes a real tangible thing. The Doctor's fear of his own vulnerabilities makes the story never seem like a sure-fire neatly tied up opportunity, and there is real tension and concern in the story right to the end. Totally, utterly recommende. This is a great Doctor Who, and a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Adventure With The Doctor, Nyssa and Tegan, 29 Jun. 2015
This is one scary; creepy and 'dark' story!

'Fear of the Dark' is a thrilling BBC Past Doctor Adventure with the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Tegan.

This book by Trevor Baxendale was originally published in 2003. It has now been reprinted for the 50th anniversary collection of 'Doctor Who' books in 2013 to represent the Fifth Doctor era.

This story takes place between the TV stories 'Arc of Infinity' and 'Snakedance'. It also takes place (I feel) directly after the Lost Stories by Big Finish with the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa and Tegan including 'The Elite'; 'Hexagora' and 'The Children of Seth' (more on this later).

The story is about the Doctor, Nyssa and Tegan visiting a moon of the planet Akoshemon that has a dark history. They meet a team of archaeologists searching for a special kind of mineral. But their discoveries unearth something terrible as everyone, including the Doctor, is forced to face the Dark.

The reprint book contains a good introduction by Trevor Baxendale about the story and the supporting characters. The book is divided into 23 chapters with a prologue and an epilogue. The book is unusually structured as a three-part adventure instead of a four-part adventure which is odd.

I like the prologue sequence focusing on Nyssa waking up in bed in the TARDIS, as she is my favourite 'Doctor Who' companion. Nyssa is troubled as a dark force or presence is with her.

Trevor Baxendale writes well for his supporting characters before killing them off one by one. The themes of darkness and fear are strongly resonant and the descriptive detail is pretty harrowing.

The monster of the story is darkness called the Dark itself as it spreads from beneath the moon of Akoshemon. I wondered how the Doctor and his friends would survive as it's pretty bleak.

The Fifth Doctor is well-written here. The Doctor faces his own fears and it's interesting how this Dark monster affects him and changes his personality, making him vulnerable and doubting his self-confidence. It was quite disturbing to read and it's a side never depicted in this Doctor before.

Tegan is well-established as a companion. I found that Tegan isn't the bossy, combative companion as she has been in previous stories. She's well-balanced in showing compassion to others, especially to Bunny Cheung. Tegan also gets to face her own fears when the Dark comes after her.

Nyssa is reasonably well-written in this story. Although I sometimes felt her character is rather side-lined, since she's used as a medium by the Dark for most of the story and is temporarily taken-over to unleash its horrors. But Nyssa's always a joy for me and I enjoyed reading her scenes in this book.

I would like to outline a few inconsistences regarding Nyssa, Tegan and the Doctor in connection to the Big Finish audios. This isn't the fault of Trevor Baxendale as the book was published before them.

Firstly, Tegan remarks on peashooters and elephants at some point to Nyssa. Nyssa seems not to know about elephants when Tegan mentions them. Yet recently, Nyssa encountered a few elephants in the 2014 audio story 'Moonflesh'. I've written my own story where Nyssa sees elephants too.

Secondly, Nyssa observes Tegan dancing with Jim Boyd and wonders what it must be like to feel close to someone. But Nyssa has been close to someone as she had a romance with Andrew in 'Circular Time'. I'm sure Nyssa has had many romances before Tegan re-joined the TARDIS.

This story indicates that this is Tegan's first story directly after 'Arc of Infinity' since Chapter Two begins saying it's her first morning in the TARDIS. But from 'The Elite', this doesn't seem to be the case. I would prefer to place this book sometime after the 'Lost Stories' trilogy with the Fifth Doctor.

Somewhere in the book, the Doctor is questioned about what his greatest fear is. But as already mentioned in 'Psychodrome', the Doctor's greatest fear is that of letting his companions down. But as Nyssa rightly pointed out in that story, 'you can have more than one fear'.

The supporting characters are superb and intriguing to read. There's Jyl Stoker; Bunny Cheung; Vega Jael; Ravus Oldeman; Captain Lawrence and Silas Cadwell.

Jyl Stoker is the no-nonsense leader of archaeologists on Akoshemon's moon. She's a tough and bitter woman who doesn't trust the Doctor at first and tolerates Bunny Cheung's moral stance.

Bunny Cheung is a big, powerful guy with a big heart. Bunny wants to be reunited with her family after his mission to Akoshemon's moon and see his daughter again. I like Bunny's scenes with Tegan.

Vega Jael is a Vegan working for Stoker on this archaeological mission. Vega is a gloomy, alien mining expert who predicts that death is coming for all of them. Vega sadly is the first one to die.

Ravus Oldeman is an ancient scientist who the Doctor and company find in stasis deep within the moon of Akoshemon. Ravus keeps a dark secret as he was part of a research project.

Captain Lawrence is the commander of the starship Adamantium. The Adamantium responds to a distress call sent from the moon of Akoshemon. Both Lawrence and Stoker once fell in love together.

Silas Cadwell is Lawrence's right-hand man aboard the Adamantium. But Cadwell has a secret mission of his own, as Lawrence doesn't know him well and Cadwell is intent on sorting out the Dark.

There's a monster called the Bloodhunter, a creature that kills instantly and drains blood from people's bodies for the Dark to devour. I found it terrifying when reading this book.

The real monster is the Dark and I did not expect this monster to literally be darkness itself. It makes this book very dark indeed and I was afraid for Nyssa, Tegan and the Doctor.

I would like Big Finish to adapt this novel into an audio drama someday. I wonder how Big Finish would adapt the book into a three-part adventure in an audio. This is because the first two episodes are very chunky whereas the third episode isn't so. How would they fill the gap of a fourth episode?

This book will probably get a BBC audiobook release someday with a 'Doctor Who' star narrating the story. I would very much like either Peter Davison; Sarah Sutton or Janet Fielding to read this story for the audiobook. It would be nice to read the book again with the audio in the background.

'Fear of the Dark' is one unnerving and creepy book to read. I don't think the book develops Nyssa well as a character compared to the Doctor and Tegan; but it's a gripping read. Be warned about reading this book in a dark room as the Dark may come through. I hope my review hasn't scared you.

The next story for the Doctor, Nyssa and Tegan is 'The Sands of Time'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who..Fear Of The Dark, 18 Dec. 2014
The moon of Akoshamon..is where a great evil lurks..where it has grown since the planets birth..The Doctor,Nyssa and Tegan are literally blown off thier feet at the start of this briliant story..The Dark kills without mercy..twists minds and makes people fear it..and even The Doctor is frightened and fights for even his sanity..Trevor Bexendale delivers this novel with amazing briliance..All the charecters have their own background story..and are very likeable even the sneeky Cadwell..and he is the twist to the story..I loved the characters Jyl Stoker and Bunny Chaung..The fear they all felt..even The Doctor..it jumped out at you..You wanted them all the survive..The sadest death was Bunny's..all he wanted to do was to be with his family..Nyssa was a great key point in the story as The Dark possesesed her first..The Doctor..as strong as he is..you think even to the end The Dark has him..They all fight for thier existance....and it really is a fight..This is one novel I really do one hundred and ten percent recommend..to any and all Doctor Who fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who - Fear of the Dark, 20 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Doctor Who: Fear of the Dark (Paperback)
This book is absolutely mind blowing. The fifth Doctor character is portrayed brilliantly as are Nyssa & Tegan. For a Dr who story it can get rather gruesome, but it works very well and the enemy is very believable.
Superb detail and descripton makes this one of the best books i've ever read. Very Very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but too many cliches, advance and retreat, and corny characters., 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This starts out ok, if a little more like an episode of classic trek than doctor who. In fact it's a bit like the episode Devil in the Dark, with a monster lurking about in the tunnels etc . The characterisation and dialogue for the doctor is pretty good to start with, and you can picture the fifth doctor. Nyssa has little do for most of the book except be ill or asleep. Tegan is written reasonably well. The other characters are corny. There are some shameless and crude attempts to get us to care about them, such as repeatedly talking about the young daughter of one of them and how she needs her daddy to come home. These characters are too cartoon for us to really give two hoots about them.

When Captain Lawrence arrives in response to a distress call, and has an antagonistic relationship with the female leader of the rogue mining team, I groaned then laughed out loud to read that, you guessed it, they had a romantic past together. I will leave you to take a wild guess as to how their apparent loathing of each other turns out. . . . Suffice to say that this was cheese of the corniest nature.

There is to be fair a good degree of interest story wise for the first half or so of the book. This degenerates rather, into a repeating pattern of the doctor insisting that they go towards the danger and then have to run away. This all feels a bit pointless. The end result is that the doctor feels pretty useless and if anything more likely to get people killed. He is never in control and rarely appears to have much to offer, but instead gets dragged along by the events. It's sort of the antithesis of the tenth doctors almost messiah like powers. I accept that the fifth doctor was much more dithering and unsure, but in this story he starts to feel more of a blundering liability than he should. To be fair this is made at least in part inevitable by him being under the mental influence of the enemy, but that to me renders him pretty un-doctor like for much of the time, which is not really what I want in a doctor who book.

When the remaining humans finally decide to blast off of the surface, they take an absolute age doing so. This being despite the monster that can kill them in a second being hot on their heels! They even allow someone to give a long explanation of their back story and current position, including why they think as they do, when there is no reason why he can't do this after they have safely taken off.

The various futile encounters with the blood sucker and the 'Dark' finally come to a climax during one of the many to'ing and fro'ings into the caves etc . The doctor finally has a brief lucid moment of doctorish behaviour and its all over. So it's not terrible and entertaining in parts, but rather let down by corny additional characters, too much pointless advance and retreat, and a doctor who is not himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Fear of the Dark, 11 April 2013
On a moon of the ruined planet Akoshemon, an age-old terror is about to be reborn. Something that remembers the spiral of war, pestilence and deprivation - and rejoices in it. The Fifth Doctor joins a team of archaeologists searching for evidence of the planet's infamous past, and uncovers more than just ancient history. Forced to confront his own worst fears, even the Doctor will be pushed to breaking point - and beyond.

An adventure featuring the Fifth Doctor as played by Peter Davison and his companions Tegan and Nyssa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Aug. 2013
Peter Davison is very good as Doctor Who and it was nice to get a sense of him being truly scared for once. I've noticed that writers tend to make Nyssa into a medium for the baddies to use but this time it works because it isn't played on. Tegan is just being wonderful Tegan and this book is an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Survival horror, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just like an original fifth doc adventure well written and spooky as hell love how the doctor is pushed to the very brink of desperation and fear recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable.. different and couldn't put it down! It's going to be one I read again and again. Great for the Doctors 50th anniversary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Fear of the Dark
Doctor Who: Fear of the Dark by Trevor Baxendale (Paperback - 6 Jan. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews