Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, it's just a toon. Right?
In the land of cartoons, everything stays the same. Sylvester will never catch Tweety. Wile E. Coyote will never catch the roadrunner. Elmer will never catch Bugs. It's comfortable, and we like it that way. But what do they think? Is Sylvester happy chasing Tweety all the time? Does Daffy like constantly being blown up, only to come back as good as new? Do we ever...
Published on 17 Feb 2004 by David Roy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by its cover??
In this case you certainly can judge the book by it's cover, it's a novel but it's a cartoon....does this sound like a strange concept to you? It did to me and I really wasn't looking forward to reading it, but it's ok, it's certainly well written and there's some brilliant concepts but for me it doen't sit quite right as an EDA, having said that I can't think which...
Published on 10 Mar 2009 by edzshed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, it's just a toon. Right?, 17 Feb 2004
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Crooked World (Paperback)
In the land of cartoons, everything stays the same. Sylvester will never catch Tweety. Wile E. Coyote will never catch the roadrunner. Elmer will never catch Bugs. It's comfortable, and we like it that way. But what do they think? Is Sylvester happy chasing Tweety all the time? Does Daffy like constantly being blown up, only to come back as good as new? Do we ever think to ask? Of course not. These are cartoons. They don't have feelings. Right?
The Crooked World, by Steve Lyons, takes us to a world where cartoons are real. Not only real, but stuck in the same motions again and again. Nothing ever changes here, and the inhabitants don't know any better. Cats chase birds and mice because that's just the way it is. Everything works like it does in the cartoons that you and I grew up with. Until the Doctor and his companions show up. Streaky Bacon, a hunter after the Whatchamacallit (a fast-running bird) to protect his crops, accidentally ends up shooting the Doctor in the chest. As the Doctor lies bleeding, Streaky realizes that he's not going to just get up again and run away like has always happened before. This sparks a virus that spreads like wildfire throughout the Crooked World. This isn't a medical virus. Instead, it's a free will virus. All of a sudden, toons are starting to actually think about their circumstances. Why should the cat never get the mouse? Why should the villains always fail but get away to scheme another day?
Having introduced these thoughts to the residents, the Doctor, Fitz & Anji decide they should stay to help the toons through the transition. Once the toons start to think, there is no going back. The only question is: how much bloodshed and real violence will occur while they come to terms with what's happened to them? What's the secret of Spooky Manor, and why can't anyone approach it? Does it hold the secret of what created this world? Or is it just a place for "those meddling kids" to operate?
I love this book. I have not seen a book that works comedy in with a poignancy that's unequaled in any Who book I've read recently. These are just cartoons, but Lyons gives them character beyond that, making you really care about what happens to them. He balances the superficiality of the cartoon with the richness of three-dimensional characters so superbly that I have to shake my head. He is able to make points about free will even as he demonstrates the absurdity of the situation. He's even able to get jokes in there which will make you laugh hard if you're familiar with the cartoons at all (the Scooby Doo parody is spot-on, with them having to take a long, winding route to get where they have to go because the van would break down if they get anywhere near a place that's even remotely spooky).
Even as you recognize where most of the main toon characters came from (Sylvester, Tom & Jerry, the Scooby Doo gang, Elmer Fudd/Porky Pig, Scrappy Doo and other recognizable faces, all with different names of course), Lyons is able to give them their own personality, shining especially bright as they slowly start to realize that there's more to life then what they've constantly been doing for who knows how long. Boss Dogg, the sheriff, is determined that things will go back to the way they were, and everybody should just "get over" all this free thinking stuff. Especially touching, however, is Jasper. He's "Tom" from the Tom & Jerry cartoons, so he can't talk. But he's desperate to find out what he's been missing once he's able to think, and he looks to Fitz for guidance. Not being able to speak, he tries to do the only thing he can do, scratch out four little words: WHAT SHOULD I DO? He's also the first one to have to face the consequences of what free will gives them. Streaky also falls to the depths of despair over what he's done and his confusion over what to do. Some of the scenes involving him brought a tear to my eye, especially when he hits rock bottom but can't do anything about it.
The regulars are handled competently, though they act more as catalysts in this story then anything else. Fitz fall for Angel Falls (Penelope Pitstop) and tries to show her other things you can do with free will, though he finds out more (or, I guess, less) than he's looking for once he gets her to accept it. Anji hooks up with the Skeleton Crew and becomes another "meddling kid." The Doctor, however, is wonderful. He knows that they are the cause of everything and he feels nothing but compassion for these toons. He brings the entire free will issue into perspective with his speech and questions at the trial.
The book only has a couple of problems, and one of them isn't even the author's fault, instead caused by the way these books are produced. In The Book of the Still, Anji makes a lot of Scooby Doo comparisons. Yet in The Crooked World, she joins up with something that is so obviously a parody of the whole Scooby Doo concept and she acts like she's never heard of such a thing. Obviously, Lyons didn't know that the previous author was going to put Scooby references in and thus he didn't think he needed to explain it. The other fault is an ongoing joke about wrapped sticks of dynamite never going off, but it really doesn't lead anywhere.
Other than that, though, I found this book perfect. I have never laughed and teared up so much at the same time as I did with this book. Steve Lyons has written a classic Who book, one that even non-Who fans can enjoy. It is just that good.
David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Crooked World, 14 July 2002
By 
Sean Brady (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Crooked World (Paperback)
A great idea for a Doctor Who book or any book for that matter. A world that is populated by cartoon characters, not unlike the cartoon universes of Hanna-Barbera and Warner Brothers in their heyday....and what happens to that world when aliens arrive and introduce very human concepts and ideas to the population.
What works here, and works well, is how the characters who live in Zanytown begin to question their own reality and choose to break out of the 'storylines' that make up their day to day lives. For instance, what would happen if Sylvester tired of chasing Tweety? Or if characters started to feel very human emotions as a consequence of their destructive actions? Author Steve Lyons does an excellent job of making this concept interesting and exciting. He excels at making the residents of The Crooked World evolve into more than the stock cartoon characters we have seen in hundreds of cartoons. He makes the reader care.
I do have a couple of problems with this book though. The Eighth Doctor comes across as a very bland character here, and is very much in the background. This was quite a disappointment as I was looking forward to how the McGann Doctor would interact with the inhabitants of this world. This is a Doctor who is usually enthusiastic and inquisitive, but not in this book.
Anji is still evolving as a character, and is handled well here. However, Fitz is beginning to grate on me. Here he is again, chasing skirt and being flippant. The problem is that this is all Fitz ever seems to do, and it's becoming stale. I'd like an author to shake up Fitz's cosy world and make him grow up...if only a bit. Anything would be better than the 'laddish' stereotype we keep getting over and over again.
Buy this book if you want to read an imaginative tale well told. It's the kind of book that you'll find difficult to put down until you've finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `I'd have gotten away with it too, if it wasn't for that meddling Time Lord!', 17 Jun 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: Crooked World (Paperback)
The Doctor has had a difficult time of it in recent books in this original adventures series. He's blown up his home planet, lost one of his hearts, spent a hundred years in exile in England, made a new mortal enemy, and, very unsuccessfully, run a brothel. In the middle of all this, the TARDIS materializes in a world populated entirely by cartoon characters from the Warner Brothers and Hanna-Barbera universes. Author Steve Lyons hits all the obvious targets, and a few not-so-obvious ones, in his exploration of what would happen if our most famous British Sci-fi character came into contact with some of the iconic US cartoon characters, such as Porky Pig and Wily Coyote.

More serious than you'd think from the cover showing a cartoon Eighth Doctor alongside Road Runner, Steve Lyons' novel is one of the shorter ones in the series, and whilst accessible and light it's not slapstick or silly. Granted, Scooby-Doo appears in it (although due to copyright reasons the cowardly canine detective goes under another name here). Ultimately this is lightweight fun but with a dark undercurrent; perhaps a sign of where this series is heading over the next year or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by its cover??, 10 Mar 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: Crooked World (Paperback)
In this case you certainly can judge the book by it's cover, it's a novel but it's a cartoon....does this sound like a strange concept to you? It did to me and I really wasn't looking forward to reading it, but it's ok, it's certainly well written and there's some brilliant concepts but for me it doen't sit quite right as an EDA, having said that I can't think which Doctor this would sit better with.

Not much more to say really, it's a silly but well written book that can be read as a stand alone novel, if you are reading the whole series in order you could skip this one but then why would you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ah, flipping great stuff.....cartoon fun!, 24 Jun 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who: Crooked World (Paperback)
dr who and the cartoon world. actually, there aint nothing crooked about this cool dr who novel. steve lyons gives us a great set of cartoonie characters, and even though the characters are based on many real cartoons, it doesnt stop this story from being funny and great and in a league of its own. just by the doctor being there the world is falling apart, great new storyline. its actually sad to see the great characters becoming less and less themselves as this novel goes along. sad but engaging and different. and every character gets a good slice of action. ah, well cool book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wierd but fun, 18 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Crooked World (Paperback)
What a strange book this is, inserting the Doctor and his friends into a Warner Bros cartoon. It works though as they meet the strangely familiar inhabitants and come to terms with a world where physical laws don't apply! Good fun all round but with a violent streak..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Crooked World
Doctor Who: Crooked World by Steve Lyons (Paperback - 3 Jun 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews