Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable escapade
I really wasn't looking forward to reading this one, the picture on the cover I found a little off putting, I mean people with clocks for faces come one, it indicates the story is going to be pretty naff. But I was wrong, never judge a book by its cover the saying goes, well in this case it's certainly true. I really enjoyed reading this I like the way the clock fces...
Published on 4 Oct 2008 by edzshed

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time and tide and buttered eggs wait for no man
Back cover blurb:
The Doctor, Fitz and Anji land in the middle of a war zone. The chief weapon in this particular war is time itself: decelerated time fields bring armies to a virtual standstill, while accelerated time can age a soldier to death within seconds. In a nearby outpost, scientists are attempting to send subjects back in time. But two subjects bring a...
Published on 29 April 2009 by Captain Pugwash


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time and tide and buttered eggs wait for no man, 29 April 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: Anachrophobia (Mass Market Paperback)
Back cover blurb:
The Doctor, Fitz and Anji land in the middle of a war zone. The chief weapon in this particular war is time itself: decelerated time fields bring armies to a virtual standstill, while accelerated time can age a soldier to death within seconds. In a nearby outpost, scientists are attempting to send subjects back in time. But two subjects bring a strange temporal infection back with them...

As with Morris' previous Doctor Who novel, Festival of Death, this novel is all about time. The old Sci-fi theme of what would happen if you were able to go back in time and avoid your own death lies at the heart of the book, as a sinister race of clock-faced time beings, tempt their victims to try and rectify past mistakes before erasing them from the time lines altogether.

The Fourth Doctor and Romana would have fitted into this story well, there are some distinctly Douglas Adams like moments and the clock faced entities even reminded me of the café artist's sketch for Romana in Adams' 1979 serial The City of Death.

The novel starts well but gets a bit bogged down in the middle. Fortunately, Morris provides an effective and nail-biting ending that saved this from being a complete doozy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too much time, 3 Aug 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Anachrophobia (Mass Market Paperback)
A nice idea for a book, but a disappointing effort. This is a short story blown up to novel size, and it shows. The doctor and company are stuck in cliched situations for most of the book, the end is predictable and not fully explained, and the big surprise is so painfully obvious you wait a long time for it to finally happen.

Look at the cover. The image there is the best idea of this book. Nothing inside is quite as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's not all bad, 20 Feb 2012
By 
Book Critic (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Anachrophobia (Mass Market Paperback)
There were some things I liked about this, the allusions to the first world war and the imagery around that, the ideas about the immutability of Time, the inadvisability of messing with your own time-line, the use of time as a weapon - the time-storms, especially, were terrifyingly executed and excitingly done - The story had tremendous promise but none of it actually went anywhere. Full of loose ends, red herrings and good but not fully thought-through ideas.

As for the clock-face people; I thought there'd be an interesting explanation, an illusion caused by X, leading to Y and a really great conclusion but, no - it was just clock-faced people which is... a bit daft and disappointing.

The quality of the writing and the imagery is the only thing keeping this from a one-star rating. Worth a read, but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great title, flawed story, 13 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Anachrophobia (Mass Market Paperback)
Anachropobia is a great title, but the plot, and especially the clock-headed adversaries disappoint .
The basic idea _ incompetents and amateurs fiddling with time and coming ustuck is a science fiction classic, and has still plenty of legs.
And turning time into a weapon offers intriguing possiblities.
The trouble is that replacing preople's faces with clocks is just too reminiscent of the special effects tricks used when the production team is short of cash for special effects. The clockheads wouldn't look out of place on one of the shakiest of early Who sets.
But there are a lot of good things about this book.
There's lots of action, although sometimes I found the plot twists and turns hard to follow, with some very good supporting characters. Great descriptions of the chaos of a time war.
And the idea of the celestial numbercrunchers putting a planet and its inhabitants into receivership is truly scary.
Fitz and Anji continue to develop as realistic companion/foils for the Doctor.
Not so sure about the way the Doctor is developing. Now single-hearted and prone to fatigue, he's in some danger of becoming so human he'll lose his unique qualities.
But if Anachrophobia proves to be the beginning of another of those intriguing story arcs that Who writers do so well, I'll be buying the next -and the one after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable escapade, 4 Oct 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who: Anachrophobia (Mass Market Paperback)
I really wasn't looking forward to reading this one, the picture on the cover I found a little off putting, I mean people with clocks for faces come one, it indicates the story is going to be pretty naff. But I was wrong, never judge a book by its cover the saying goes, well in this case it's certainly true. I really enjoyed reading this I like the way the clock fces seem just as ridiculous to the characters as it did me. Another thing that I really bought into was the story being set around a time war where amongst the weapoms used are the slowing down and speeding up of time, it really is well thought out.

If you are reading the series in order a running one heart theme is definatly being built on here, if you are considering a stand alone novel then I would certainly say this is as good as any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72f5618)

This product

Doctor Who: Anachrophobia
Doctor Who: Anachrophobia by Jonathan Morris (Mass Market Paperback - 4 Mar 2002)
Used & New from: 0.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews