Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What, can the devil speak true?
This original Doctor Who novel features the Eighth Doctor as played by Paul McGann in the TV Movie and a number of Big Finish audio dramas. His companions are Fitz Kreiner and Compassion; the former a young man from Earth in the 1960s, and the latter a being constructed from the memories of one of her race - The Remote - encountered by The Doctor in a previous story...
Published on 1 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, could have been much better
What starts out as an excellent idea of having most of the plot told from 2 different people, turns into something confusing and difficult to follow. in the hands of say, Lawerence miles, who has done a complete book in the form of an diary entry quite brilleintly.
Again this a book in which fitz appears annoying and cynical, it seems only paul magrs can make him...
Published on 11 Sept. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, could have been much better, 11 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Banquo Legacy (Mass Market Paperback)
What starts out as an excellent idea of having most of the plot told from 2 different people, turns into something confusing and difficult to follow. in the hands of say, Lawerence miles, who has done a complete book in the form of an diary entry quite brilleintly.
Again this a book in which fitz appears annoying and cynical, it seems only paul magrs can make him witty and insinutive without making him annoying.
Again this is another of the novels in which compassion doesn't feature nearly enough. The only book I feel to 'use her' to full extent is the taking of planet 5. It seems only simon butcher-jones can get a handle.
As I mentioned earlyier, the book starts promisingly, but stalls towrads the middle where things of no realevence are given heavy coverage, which has resulted in a 'wurlwind' finish that is both confusing and unforfilling.
With most books reading it a second time clears up all grey areas, this however appears to have fundamental errors in it.
Not justin richards best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What, can the devil speak true?, 1 May 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Banquo Legacy (Mass Market Paperback)
This original Doctor Who novel features the Eighth Doctor as played by Paul McGann in the TV Movie and a number of Big Finish audio dramas. His companions are Fitz Kreiner and Compassion; the former a young man from Earth in the 1960s, and the latter a being constructed from the memories of one of her race - The Remote - encountered by The Doctor in a previous story.
The story is a great Gothic mystery, however it often feels like The Doctor Who aspect has been stuck on, and the Sci-fi aspects seem to have been chucked in just to make this fit the genre. A good read but unsatisfying in terms of The Doctor's involvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOTALLY BRILLIANT, 20 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Banquo Legacy (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a complete sucker for stories set in the 1890's. The 8th Doctor fits in so well into this time - a time for inventors, eccentrics, strange experiments. And so I bought and read The Banquo Legacy, my first 8th Doctor book for a year (since the enjoyable The Taint).
This contained it all. A dark, stately home, complete with secret passages, rooms galore and a Cellar. Strange experiments are taking place concerning Electricity, an assortment of personalities descend upon Banquo Manor. The Doctor, Fitz and Compassion are amongst them. Inspector Stratford wants to find out more about the strange goings-on. John Hopkinson, a solicitor, has his own reasons for being there. The Wallaces and their scientist friend Harries welcome them.
The story is written from the perspective of Hopkinson and Stratford. Did Lane and Richard take 1 personality each? However they did it, it is superbly written and always involving. The entries are written like a dairy with each man alternating his prose throughout the whole book. This works extremely well - never moreso than when the story reaches a climax.
From its macabre cover, to the personal reminisces of Stratford and Hopkinson - this is gothic Dr Who at its very best. Lane and Richards have taken all the aspects of gothic Who and grafted it into a story rich in interest and excitement.
Classic Who
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very pleasant surprise, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. Ag Edens "anthony edens" (manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Banquo Legacy (Mass Market Paperback)
i've recently come back to the bbc novels of the eighth doctor - ridiculous, as i'm now having to search for them second hand online when i remember them being released, quite clearly, at the time of publication

anyway i've struggled a bit with the stories involving compassion and her "transformation", but this novel came as a really pleasant surprise

when i first saw the style in which it was written (ie from the perspective of only two of the characters in the book), my heart sank - as i think that breaking with convention, in doctor who, tends to be a bit calamitous - however once i started reading this i really got into the plot and thoroughly enjoyed what was, essentially, a house of horrors, murder-romp - even the ongoing story arc of compassion and her flight from the time lords was (almost) put on the back burner

i would thoroughly recommend this book eventhough, i suppose, it does have to be read as part of the series - it leads neatly into the ancestor cell - the final part of compassion's story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent period set yarn, 1 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Banquo Legacy (Mass Market Paperback)
This book builds up the tension as a whodunit investigation. It creates an atmosphere of suspense and make the reader want to read on. There is also a subplot which runs through the series, that is left tanilisingly unfinished. Only 1 complaint, it starts to lose the attraction at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 26 Sept. 2008
By 
Tim Allan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Banquo Legacy (Mass Market Paperback)
I havent written a review for the 8th dr adventures sinec Parallel 59 but i had to write one for The Banquo Legacy. Seeing as the following novel (the ancestor cell) is an event novel, i started this book with low expectations. To my suprise this book was gripping, gothic, horrific and benefited from several twists and turns. This coupled with a genuinly frightning enemy had me hooked. The writers have wonderfully combined a murder mystery with a real gothic horror novel. The best book in the range so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Banquo Legacy
Doctor Who: The Banquo Legacy by Justin Richards (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Jun. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews