Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Casualties Of War - Dr Who
A thoroughly enjoyable experience.
I normally read Dean Koontz, Stephen King etc...
This author Steven Emmerson kept me wanting more, I have bought his second book Dark Progeny and can't wait to read it.
Casualties of War is brilliantly written and it is very easy to visualise the scenes taking place. Some great characters and nice bits of humour added to...
Published on 13 Aug. 2010 by PeteC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War, uh-huh, what is it good for?
*Meant to give this four stars!*

Casualties of War is initially a slow-burner, The Doctor seems to have lost his memory but this isn't immediately evident from the way he behaves, however when he arrives in a sleepy English village he is soon up to his eyes in mystery, death and zombies and things pick up.
New writer Steve Emmerson has written in a prose...
Published on 4 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War, uh-huh, what is it good for?, 4 May 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: Casualties of War (Mass Market Paperback)
*Meant to give this four stars!*

Casualties of War is initially a slow-burner, The Doctor seems to have lost his memory but this isn't immediately evident from the way he behaves, however when he arrives in a sleepy English village he is soon up to his eyes in mystery, death and zombies and things pick up.
New writer Steve Emmerson has written in a prose style that is somewhat fragmented and occasionally disjointed but at least consistent.

The plot has several holes, but Casualties of War is certainly more accessible than previous original novel `The Burning' in terms of plot, character, and writing style. The Doctor may no longer know who he is, but he is still as enigmatic and fascinating as he always was, and this is the novel's strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Casualties Of War - Dr Who, 13 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Casualties of War (Mass Market Paperback)
A thoroughly enjoyable experience.
I normally read Dean Koontz, Stephen King etc...
This author Steven Emmerson kept me wanting more, I have bought his second book Dark Progeny and can't wait to read it.
Casualties of War is brilliantly written and it is very easy to visualise the scenes taking place. Some great characters and nice bits of humour added to what can be a very dark, frightening story.

I hadn't read any Dr who books but whilst reading this I could easily associate with the traits The Dr shows on TV.
It is 1918 in North Yorkshire, The Dr arrives to help a village which is trying to cope with escalating attacks on their animals at night, a local hospital which treats shell shocked and war wounded soldiers is suspected of being involved but no-one knows how.

I loved every page well !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casualty of sleep, 1 Aug. 2002
By 
Zachary "Zachary" (Maidstone, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Casualties of War (Mass Market Paperback)
A gripping read, any Dr Who book previous pales into insignificance.
The Eighth doctor comes to Earth during the First world war and falls into a sleepy village that is being inhabited by ZOMBIES!.
Once this has been established, a gripping yarn ensues, written as much like a detective novel as Agatha Christie would have been proud.
To tell any more will ruin the book, but just read what is simply one of the best Sci-fi/Dr Who novels around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New story arc still not good Doctor Who, 30 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Casualties of War (Mass Market Paperback)
"Casualties of War" is the second in a new Doctor Who story arc. It isn't a bad book, but unfortunately it isn't a great one either.
From my perspective, this book reads like a re-run of "The Burning" - which is unfortunate, since it folows on from that book. The Doctor turns up in a small English village, notionally without his memory and with his TARDIS unavailable as it is healing. A mysterious force from the beginnings of time is threatening the village and, after numerous casualties, the Doctor and some temporarily acquired friends triumph.
Unfortunately, for the second of so far two books in this story arc, I really had no impression that the Doctor is without his memory. His actions are so normal that this is unnoticeable. As in "The Burning", a variety of interesting characters are introduced solely for the purpose of killing them off. Once upon a time, death wasn't something that happened in every one of the Doctor's adventures. It would be nice if this happened again, even just once!
However, this is all a little too harsh. Steve Emmerson in what I believe is his first book shows that he certainly has the ability to write a readable book. Had it not been preceded by "The Burning", "Casualties of War" might have been a more enjoyable experience for me. So Steve, please write another!
[Review originally posted on Amazon's US site.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pack Up Your Troubles In Your Old Kit Bag and Smile..., 8 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Casualties of War (Mass Market Paperback)
I found 'Casualties of War' to be worthy of following in the footsteps of the preceeding 'Who' novel, 'The Burning'. In many ways it reminded me of an earlier, much-praised book, 'Human Nature', partially due to a similar setting and because the Doctor shares a picnic with a lady who shows a keen romantic interest in him.
The book loses a point just for the simple fact that it never explained *why* the villain was doing what they were doing, what they hoped to achieve, or where they got their power from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but insubstantial, 30 Aug. 2000
This review is from: Doctor Who: Casualties of War (Mass Market Paperback)
This second book of the current arc is something of an oddity. It's an entertaining enough read but it takes a long while to get started and then it fizzles out towards the end.
I like the idea of the Doctor loosing his memory, but retaining his fundamental characteristics and visiting various periods in Earth's time until his meeting in 2001 with Fitz. But this World War One set novel is not as good as "The Burning" and seems insubstantial.
It does not delve into what the Doctor has been doing for the twenty years or so between this and the Burning which I found a little strange as it was almost asking the reader to believe that the Doctor has been wandering around Britain for the whole of that time and this is the first strange thing that has happened to him.
It is well written though, and is an entertaining entry into the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Home Dr!: The book series gets a new lease of life, 5 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Doctor Who: Casualties of War (Mass Market Paperback)
I admit it, I started reading these Dr Who novels, and with a few exceptions, gave up after a year. They were too reliant on self reference and high concept and frankly became unchallenging and boring.
That was until I picked up the "The Ancestor Cell" on recommendation. Wow, I thought, here's a book range that might be worth keeping an eye on: why? because it dared to change all that came before it. With Gallifrey destroyed,and the Doctor with no memory it has given the writers almost carte blanche to create a new character, who is, and who isn't the Doctor as we know him.
Steve Emmerson's debut novel is a gripping and as stunning a Who book as I've ever read. All credit to Justin Richards' vision, of a Doctor that knows he different, but not why.
Characterisation in the novel is a delight, and we have what I can only describe as the "closest near romance" between the Doctor and the leading female character. Thoroughly entertaining, a book where you end up wanting more: clamouring to know where the Doctor will end up next.
I cannot recommend this or the amazing "The Turing Test" highly enough. Well done to all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Casualties of War
Doctor Who: Casualties of War by Steve Emmerson (Mass Market Paperback - 4 Sept. 2000)
Used & New from: £1.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews