Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every diver should have a copy
This is a book for people who have always wanted to dive with sharks, but don't know were to find them. It contains a directory of more than 250 of the world's shark-watching hotspots, form cage-diving with great whites in South Australia to snorkelling with basking sharks in the Irish sea. With web sites to help you organize the experience of a life time, it is the guide...
Published on 25 Aug 2002 by victoria metcalfe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but thats all
not real pictures in shark descriptions , lots of false information , nearly all based in new zealand and south africa , there is loads of places in the world which are absolutely infested with mako sharks , great hammerheads , great whites and bull sharks and never even gets a mention in this book .

seems like they want you to go only where theyve been...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. D Green


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every diver should have a copy, 25 Aug 2002
By 
This review is from: The Shark Watcher's Handbook: A Guide to Sharks and Where to See Them (Paperback)
This is a book for people who have always wanted to dive with sharks, but don't know were to find them. It contains a directory of more than 250 of the world's shark-watching hotspots, form cage-diving with great whites in South Australia to snorkelling with basking sharks in the Irish sea. With web sites to help you organize the experience of a life time, it is the guide to any shark enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snap this one up!, 30 Sep 2002
This beautifully illustrated book is a ground-breaking guide on shark watching and an inspiration for shark lovers who despair of horror stories which perpetuate the myths about these amazing animals.
Thoroughly researched, the authors spent three years painstakingly checking every scrap of information from thousands of dive operators and experts around the world, resulting in a guide you can really trust for its accuracy.
The book begins with sections on shark diving, the risks involved, shark photography, natural history and shark conservation, each one crammed with facts about sharks and useful practical information to enable the reader to get the most out of any shark watching experience. The conservation chapter sensitively explores issues such as shark finning and commercial fishing with useful contacts for those inspired to support the shark conservation effort.
The shark directory details 24 shark species on any divers 'must-see' list with succinct information on each species. Clear illustrations and a useful checklist aid identification and there are sections on the potential danger to divers, the distribution of the species as well as details of all the good places to encounter them.
The directory of shark watching sites follows on from the species directory and gives comprehensive maps and detailed information on things such as location, species encountered, viewing opportunities, whether bait or cages are used and other wildlife which might be encountered, along with contact details for an impressive 250 shark hot spots around the world.
A truly indispensable guide for shark watchers everywhere.
Ruth Searle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shark Watchers, 21 Jan 2003
By 
Natalie Winter (Surrey, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Its hard to add much to the other reviews here as I agree that this is a must buy for any diver with an interest in sharks. In fact I've bought it twice (I gave my first copy to a dive instructor in Galapagos and had to replace it).
One thing I would say against it is that I would like the species coverage to be better (for example sandbar, spiny dogfish and port jackson shark are missing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual same old shark resource guide, 2 Jan 2003
By 
Darren Carpenter (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have brought and read a number of shark guides, handbooks, references and they all seem to repeat the same information or deliver the information in the same manner.
This book stood out from the rest as soon as I started reading it. I actually learnt something new !!.
This book really is a 'must have' for any person interested in Sharks. It is well written and well researched. The author obviously has a passion for the marine world and the animals that inhabit our ocean world.
Buy it now !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Shark Watchers, 12 April 2009
This is a fantastic comprehensive book about sharks, and the highly likely places to see them. The authors included fantastic maps for a quick glance and also listed the sites individually. They also included websites, expectations, accommodation and local information of the area.

It also comes with a low down of the common species of shark encounters and a brief description of them. I found this fascinating.

At least now I can plan my dive trips appropriately. I did not regret buying this book. I wish I found this book earlier. Even my husband found it informative (and he has very high expectations!). Something you cannot download off the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok but thats all, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D Green (MEXICO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not real pictures in shark descriptions , lots of false information , nearly all based in new zealand and south africa , there is loads of places in the world which are absolutely infested with mako sharks , great hammerheads , great whites and bull sharks and never even gets a mention in this book .

seems like they want you to go only where theyve been .

loads of places infested with man eaters what you would never imagine , and im dissapointed as i think this should be included really , not just for educational purposes but also for general safety .

its a bit like saying theres only american pitbulls in u.s.a , when infact theyre all over the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Shark Watcher's Handbook: A Guide to Sharks and Where to See Them (Paperback)
But it is a bit dated in layout and design. There is nothing wrong with the contents as such but I wouldn't recommend it as highly anymore. It's getting too old and a new edition would be great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shark Watcher's Handbook: A Guide to Sharks and Where to See Them
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews