Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, readable and exciting history
The second of Schama's beautiful volumes technically covers 1603-1776, but (naturally) spends most of the time discussing the era around the Civil War: it was here, after all, that Britons actually spent considerable energy deciding what sort of country they were: blank canvas after blank canvas was begun only to be torn up, until the monarchy cum Parliamentary democracy...
Published on 9 Dec. 2002 by R. S. Stanier

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong title
This book although well written, is in fact a comprehensive History of England. I found very little at all on Scotland and only one paragraph in this huge book about Wales. The title is totally misleading, Why did Scharma call it a 'A History BRITAIN' is a mystery.
Published 21 months ago by geoffrey chinnock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Admirable overveiw of British history, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Britain Volume 2: The British Wars 1603 - 1776: British Wars, 1603-1776 Vol 2 (Hardcover)
If you're a researcher and need to understand the background to the British Civil Wars and the beginnings of the most revolutionary period in Europe, then this is the book for you. Schama's eloquence is impressive; the books in this series are an easy read and just perfect if you need to access this period quickly and competently. I highly recommend the series - tv and literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British History, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Desert_Wind (Pheonix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Britain Volume 2: The British Wars 1603 - 1776: British Wars, 1603-1776 Vol 2 (Hardcover)
Ok here is the sad thing about education in the USA. They don't teach a whole lot of history today. I mean I went to grade school some 15 years ago and we learned about history, but not the extent I would of appreciated. So between Simon Schama, John Lukacs, and Black Adder I think I've learned about a lot of British history I didn't know before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History made readable, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very comprehensive but will require a second read through as it is packed with information. Looking forward to Volume 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and well written and very imformative., 4 Nov. 2001
This review is from: A History of Britain Volume 2: The British Wars 1603 - 1776: British Wars, 1603-1776 Vol 2 (Hardcover)
This book will help any age of student. Its contents are explained well and in a language that is very easy to comprehend. This is a book that can easily be read from cover to cover which I cannot say for some History books. I feel that anybody will find this book very interesting even if they are not students studying History. The book helps you understand the television series more because all the facts are written down in front of you. This book is this best gift anybody could by a student for christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part 1 of Book 2 is missingh, 24 Aug. 2012
ASIN: B002SQ3RMW audio Book. Simon Schama-History of Britain Book 2 .
It is fine but what happened to Part 1 of this book as my recording starts after the death of Oliver Cromwell?
Keith Rober5ts
07753680678
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still compelling, 3 Oct. 2003
By 
A. Davies "andrewd" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For me, this second volume of Schama History of Britain was the weakest of the 3, but still manages to come off as a wonderful narrative of the English Civil War and the dawn of the Empire. It's hard to criticise a work of such genius. Parts 1 and 3 kept more of a shared tone - fast moving, blockbuster reads - whilst this middle section slows things down for a long hard look at admittedly many of the crucial moments in our history. Still great, but a bit more of that ole Henry VIIIth scandal would have been great. I guess you can't change the story though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Britain Volume 2: The British Wars 1603 - 1776: British Wars, 1603-1776 Vol 2 (Hardcover)
Excellent supplier, excellent set of books. Sharma tells history in such an enthuiastic way that you are drawn in hook line and sinker into his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writing, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Britain Volume 2: The British Wars 1603 - 1776: British Wars, 1603-1776 Vol 2 (Hardcover)
Simon Schama is as good a writer on history as I have found - maybe sometimes his own version, but easy to read and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Britain Volume 2: The British Wars 1603 - 1776: British Wars, 1603-1776 Vol 2 (Hardcover)
The book is great and it arrived promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good product, arrived in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A History of Britain Volume 2: The British Wars 1603 - 1776: British Wars, 1603-1776 Vol 2
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews