Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Comedy from The League of Gentlemen, 4 April 2002
By 
Jason Kenny (Preston, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
If you have ever wondered what came before the TV series...if you have ever thought how do they get their idea's...if you have ever wanted to listen to other characters or hear more about much loved characters from the TV series...then this CD is for you!
This has been released on Audio Cassette for quite a while but its CD release will hopefully remind people of just how good this is!
Set in the fictional town of 'Spent' the story revolves around the arrival into town of 'Benjamin' who has come to Spent for an Interview at 'The Plant'. As with the TV series he stays with his Aunt and Uncle, The Dentons. Fans of the TV series will recognise this plot, however not is all as it may seem.
Fans will recognise some other characters also. Charlie and Stella, Barbara and Pauline.
Some other characters however are quite different. Bernice takes on the role of 'Local' Radio DJ and if you saw the 'live' local show for local people then this CD will go some way towards explaining the use of characters such as Pam Auschwitz and Mr Ingelby, the local shop keeper who uses a Curly Wurly for a ladder.
There is a seperate story being told as well. A different plot to the TV series and the ending at the Power plant is brilliant! Well worth buying!
It is great to hear where such great TV characters came from...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Tubbs, 19 Sep 2005
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
No Tubbs, but interesting to hear how the most wonderful, goth horror inspired comedy started it's seedy little life. Some real little gems here and unlike certain other popular series (aka Little Britain) you are getting a real bargain in that there is tons of stuff that didn't make it to TV, but really works on audio. 3 cd's so also pretty good value for money. Oh, by the way, it made me laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, brilliant brilliant!, 9 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
League of Gentlement is shear and utter genius. If you are a fan of the TV show then you will love this audio CD. It is the original radio shows that formed the TV show. There are characters on the audio CD that do not appear on the TV show and it is worth buying it just to discover these characters.
You can listen to it over and over again and still be amused and awe struck by the brilliance of these performers.
What more can I say, other than BRILLIANT AND BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, surreal aural delights to entertain & disturb the mind, 21 Aug 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
If, like me, you first discovered the genius of the League through the TV series, then the 'On the Town' radio series (unless you were lucky enough to see them live in the early days) is a great introduction to the original Royston Vasey - here called Spent - & the genesis of many of the well-known characters.
Many of the sketches & the scripts will be recognisable, but a surprisingly large amount of the material & some of the characters do not appear in the TV series & so for LoG completists the 'On the Town' collection is a must.
I loved Mr Ingleby, the tiny shopkeeper, the blacksmith with his
worldly advice (almost poetic in tone)& Mr McCunn (careful how you pronounce the name) the bone-headed PE teacher.
Bernice Woodall is Spent FM's DJ & agony aunt (rather than the vicar that she will become) & is absolutely hilarious
(love the choice of the highly appropriate records she plays immediately after one of her rants)& Barbara, the transexual cab driver has a far more central role in the radio series, including a rather touching romantic coupling with Mr Ingleby.
What is noticable about the radio series is the amazing energy & inventiveness on display - although some of sketches are more rushed & shorter than how they finally ended up in the TV series. The aural aspect of radio comedy - where images & sounds add so much to the humour - is also to the fore. They could never have done Mr Ingleby in the TV series but he works brilliantly here. The sound effects for Mr Chinnery's disastrous encounters with his pet patients are also wonderful (especially the Monica the cow episode!)
The radio series was recorded in front of a studio audience & clearly illustrates the League's brilliance as live performers. As usual, the acting is exceptional & the chemistry between the three performing members of the League a real joy to hear.
The radio series is more whimsical than the TV series (probably due to the fact that the series was broadcast in a 6.30PM slot) but considering the restrictions that this must have put on the material, it is still startling dark (definitely not typical Radio 4 6.30PM comedy fare!)
If you're a LoG fan you wouldn't want to miss out on having all six episodes of the fantastic 'On the Town' series - there's even the chance to hear Jeremy do the beginning & end announcements for each programme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 21 Sep 2004
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I wasn't sure if I'd like this, as I've never bought an Audio CD before, but I'm such a fan of the Series I though I'd give it a go. Once I started listening it I couldn't stop, it was so hilarious. I absolutely love the 'new' Characters, the PE Teacher, Radclyffe (!!) that laugh! Legs Akimbo were fantastic as usual, I couldn't stop laughing. You'd never think this was made just for Radio, you can imagine every Character. Very, very impressive. Amazingly talented Gentlemen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny!, 29 July 2010
By 
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This is a must for all league of gents fans, you will recognise a lot of the sketches but it's still funny and there's a lot of different stuff too. Great for long car journeys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Town with the League of Gentlemen, 9 July 2010
By 
Ms. Nicola E. Gray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This is the first time I heard the League of Gentlemen's radio show and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to it. There are some characters that you already know from the television series such as Pauline & Mickey, the Dentons and the disatrous vet Dr. Chinnery. If you love the TV show you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars View into a time before "Royston Vasey", 26 Feb 2009
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
"Welcome to Spent - an isolated and rather odd town somewhere in the North. Its singular inahbitants lead blackly comic lives, from Dr Chinnery, the lethally incompetent vet and Pauline, the monstrous Restart Officer at the Job Centre, to the hideously exacting Dentons who impose their disturbing habits and pet toads upon their visiting nephew Ben.

These and other memorable townsfolk are ferried around by Barbara, a taxi driver half way through sex change, and served by Mr Ingleby, who brings a whole new meaning to the term 'small shopkeeper'.

Murderously funny and acutely observed, The League of Gentlemen's highly acclaimed brand of comedy shows human nature at its most extreme - and most hilarious."

Apart from that it gives you a slight impression on how the show developed to what it is now. Highly recommendable!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but Audible is terrible, 8 Feb 2014
The actual production is fantastic, everything you expect from the League. But I was extremely unhappy that I was forced to use Audible to download, and then iTunes to burn. Then I found that they add an advert to the end of the recording for Audible making this a very sour purchase. I will never use Amazon to buy music or audio books again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A local show for local people, 28 Dec 2010
By 
KM (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Came to this after the TV show. Not many surprises if you've watched the series but worth listening too - shows the germination of the main characters (& some that didn't make it to TV).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection)
On the Town with "The League of Gentlemen" (BBC Radio Collection) by Reece Shearsmith (Audio CD - 1 July 2002)
Used & New from: £71.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews