Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars164
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2013
I bought this book along with the Fellowship of the Ring and Return of the King Special Editions. The pattern on the spines of the three books match up to form an image of the White Tree of Gondor - it certainly looks good on the bookshelf!

This book is presented in a purple/red coloured cloth bound hardcover that looks both attractive and durable. Inside, the first thing you come across is a beautiful map of Middle Earth in black and white (and red) before the story continues. I won't say anything about the story itself as we all know about it and there are in depth reviews floating around on the web (both critical and applauding!). This review is for this particular edition of the book, and I think it is fantastic.

It's worth noting that this "special edition" is available as part of a box set with the other two books in the trilogy, along with a version of the Hobbit.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First published in 1954 TheTwo Towers is the second part of the epic saga, and Tolkien's masterpiece, The Lord Of The Rings. It has been a firm favourite of mine since I first read it over 25 years ago, and every time I return to the trilogy I find something new in this multilayered and deep piece of literature. I have worked my through it again recently, and with much temerity have decided to post a review of this stand out classic of classics.

In this second part of the trilogy, the tale becomes quite complex and breaks off into several strands. We are treated to Sam and Frodo's journey towards Mordor, The advenutures of Earagorn, Legolas and Gimli as they search for Merry and Pippin, and the adventures of the two missing Hobbits themselves. Along the way we meet the riders of Rohan, the men of Minas Tirith, Ents, Saruman and many other characters. There are tales of courage, bravery, treachery, wizadry, epic battles and lonely quests. This is a book that has it all.

I find when reading this that it not just the plot that I love, but the completeness of Tolkien's world. He has developed a whole history, mythology, geography and etymology for it, all incredibly detailed. The book does not describe these in detail, but has frequent sideways references to them. This is what sets it apart from other fantasies, the feeling of a complete reality in which the adventures are taking place, a rich and textured world. This adds a depth to the books which few others can match.

In all this is a great read in it's own right, and sets everything up nicely for the third installment. It has a lot of high advenure, and Tolkien's rich multilayered tale telling. It's a classic of it's time, and has to get 5 stars.  
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The second volume of Tolkien's epic trilogy never even wavers. If anything, it seems steadier and more controlled than "Fellowship of the Ring," as several characters become more central and the plot focus widens to envelop all of Middle Earth. It suffers from a bit of sequelitis in places, but the overall book is just as enthralling as the first.
Aragorn finds that Merry and Pippin have been abducted rather than killed -- for what reason, no one knows. Frodo and Sam have left on their own. So Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli race to find the orcs and retrieve the hobbits, but are stopped by the fierce Riders of Rohan, and then by an old and dear friend: Gandalf, who has been resurrected in the new form of a White wizard. Elsewhere, Merry and Pippin must use all of their wits to escape the orcs, and then find a strange band of allies that no one could have hoped for.
Meanwhile, Frodo and Sam head into Mordor -- with an eerily familiar figure, Gollum, following them. Frodo subjugates Gollum, forcing him to swear on "the precious" that he won't harm him. In return, Gollum promises to guide the two hobbits through Mordor, straight to Mount Doom. But the Ring is weighing more heavily than ever on Frodo, and is starting to reassert its old sway on Gollum...
One of the most noticeable changes in this book is the shift of focus. "Fellowship" was Frodo-centric, since the narration revolved around him, as did all the events and thoughts. But with the breaking of the Fellowship, the narration falls into three categories: Frodo and Sam; Merry and Pippin; Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli. This triple style allows individuals to shine more brightly, when they are called on to do more than hike with Frodo.
Tolkien also presented a wider view of Middle-Earth in general. While the slow slog through Mordor doesn't really tell or show readers much -- aside from what a hellhole Sauron is the middle of -- it's shocking to see the the effects of the orcs, Saruman and Sauron on places such as Gondor and Rohan.
But where Tolkien really outdid himself is Gollum. Gollum returns, in a substantially different state. Oh, he's still addled and addicted to the Ring, but he displays a dual love/loathing for the Ring, a weird affection for Frodo (who, from his point of view, is probably the only person who has been kind to him), and displays a Ring-induced multiple-personality syndrome. Very rarely can bad guys elicit the sort of loathing and pity from the reader that Gollum does.
One noticeable aspect of this book is friendship. When the Fellowship sets out from Rivendell, virtually everyone is a stranger, with the exception of the hobbits. However, in this book we get our view of how much Sam loves Frodo and wants to help him. Sam is fully aware of how much Frodo needs emotional support, and he's quite willing to be a pillar of strength for his friend. We see Gimli and Legolas's affection for Merry and Pippin; and Legolas's willingness to kill Eomer if Eomer hurts Gimli shows how far this Elf and Dwarf have come.
This book is substantially darker than "Fellowship." Frodo is starting to stumble under the weight of the Ring, and other characters die or are seriously hurt. The scene where Pippin's mind is trapped by Sauron is a very disturbing one, as is a violent and saddening scene late in the book. But there is also some wry humor, like Legolas's snippy comments about pipeweed as Gimli and the hobbits smoke up a storm, and Sam's debate with Gollum about whether they should cook the rabbits.
Tolkien's second "Lord of the Rings" novel is a thrilling fantasy adventure, exploring more of his invented world than "Fellowship of the Ring" did. "The Two Towers" starts heading into darker territory, and will leave readers panting for more.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Given the hugely emotional and action packed ending to book one of this incredible saga, it almost feels like opposing a force of nature by not starting book two almost immediately, without even stopping to take a breath. Regardless of that, the reader will begin the story with an almost overwhelming sense of trepidation and fear for the two brave little hobbits who have so far exceeded everyone’s expectations already. The other members of the fellowship are left to support the forces of good as they battle for the soul of Minas Tirith. Frodo and Sam, however, have formed their own duology of hearts as they prepare to take on the might of Sauron and his ilk as they approach the famed cracks of Mount Doom in downtown Mordor.

One wonders at which direction Tolkien will take the mind - and the soul - of the reader in this volume. After the heart breaking beauty of Lothloriel and the soul destroying grief of the loss of a much loved party member at the legendary Bridge of Khazad-Dum, it was almost too much to bear to read of the pain inflicted on our heroes as they left the sacred home of the elves. And what an experience it was! At least as readers we can return to those pages of the book again, and again, and again whenever we feel the need to escape the torrid world of reality. So many descriptions, phrases and unexpected displays of emotion, awe, and even love almost overwhelmed the reader, despite the fact that they may well have read, and experienced, the genius of Tolkien several times in the past.

The story starts, quite literally, where volume one ended. Aragon the rest of the party are madly searching for signs of Frodo and Sam whilst simultaneously fighting off a small army of Orcs. It turns out the the hobbits were kidnapped by the Orcs and taken for questioning by Saramon. And so the hunt is on. But the mind of Aragon is just about torn in half by grief, guilt and madness as he struggles to accept recent turn of events with comrades lost in battle and much adored halflings left in his charge either taken by the enemy or lost and presumed drowned in a nearby lake. Soothing words by comrades bring sense to the man destined to rule the West and his mind is back in place as he manages to fend off madness and see the truth for what it is. Frodo and Sam have still got the ring and so Pippin and Merry need to be rescued from the ultimate forces of evil. And all of this is made clear to the reader in the space of the opening chapter!

The fields of Rohan don't have the aesthetic quality of Lothlorien, (what does, this side of Heaven?) so Mr Tolkien does not waste words (or time for that matter) telling the reader about something that is not there. The book opens at a fast pace and does not let up. Before you know, Aragorn and his party have caught the foul scent of the Orkan raiding party and hope for a happy reunion soars. Time passes, the sun rises, sets and rises again, but all to no avail. Hope for a successful rescue fade but they soon meet up and befriend the riders of Rohan and discover the foul Orcs they were searching for are slain. But where are the halfings? Are they still alive? Were they mistreated by the foul demon-spawn that are servants of Sarumon (and by extension, the Dark Lord himself?).

None of this is my place to reveal.

Read these books, you must. Even in the times of almost overwhelming darkness that befall the forces of good in this tragic, epic tale, you will find the ultimate English wordsmith crafting beauty out of the most barren of environments. And what joy do the Elves bring to any story! Legolas, he that is more of a God than an Elf, grace and bless the pages of this book like an Angel sent down from above. Drama, betrayal, even elements of the dreaded Shakespearian tragedy bloom out of the barren fields of Rohan like flower buds in the most desolate desert. Experienced fans of Mr Tolkien will recognise the fact that I am barely five percent through this fantastic tale. But i am completely hooked, and immersed, and totally in love with the world that absorbs my heart, my soul and my mind every time I turn on my kindle, or open my faded paperback copies of this classic.

Books are meant to be lived, and not just read. In Tolkien’s world, you may well live, love and die in here.

But if that is to happen to me, then I could not be happier.

BF NGreggorio!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First published in 1954 TheTwo Towers is the second part of the epic saga, and Tolkien's masterpiece, The Lord Of The Rings. It has been a firm favourite of mine since I first read it over 25 years ago, and every time I return to the trilogy I find something new in this multilayered and deep piece of literature. I have worked my through it again recently, and with much temerity have decided to post a review of this stand out classic of classics.

In this second part of the trilogy, the tale becomes quite complex and breaks off into several strands. We are treated to Sam and Frodo's journey towards Mordor, The advenutures of Earagorn, Legolas and Gimli as they search for Merry and Pippin, and the adventures of the two missing Hobbits themselves. Along the way we meet the riders of Rohan, the men of Minas Tirith, Ents, Saruman and many other characters. There are tales of courage, bravery, treachery, wizadry, epic battles and lonely quests. This is a book that has it all.

I find when reading this that it not just the plot that I love, but the completeness of Tolkien's world. He has developed a whole history, mythology, geography and etymology for it, all incredibly detailed. The book does not describe these in detail, but has frequent sideways references to them. This is what sets it apart from other fantasies, the feeling of a complete reality in which the adventures are taking place, a rich and textured world. This adds a depth to the books which few others can match.

In all this is a great read in it's own right, and sets everything up nicely for the third installment. It has a lot of high advenure, and Tolkien's rich multilayered tale telling. It's a classic of it's time, and has to get 5 stars.  
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First published in 1954 TheTwo Towers is the second part of the epic saga, and Tolkien's masterpiece, The Lord Of The Rings. It has been a firm favourite of mine since I first read it over 25 years ago, and every time I return to the trilogy I find something new in this multilayered and deep piece of literature. I have worked my through it again recently, and with much temerity have decided to post a review of this stand out classic of classics.

In this second part of the trilogy, the tale becomes quite complex and breaks off into several strands. We are treated to Sam and Frodo's journey towards Mordor, The advenutures of Earagorn, Legolas and Gimli as they search for Merry and Pippin, and the adventures of the two missing Hobbits themselves. Along the way we meet the riders of Rohan, the men of Minas Tirith, Ents, Saruman and many other characters. There are tales of courage, bravery, treachery, wizadry, epic battles and lonely quests. This is a book that has it all.

I find when reading this that it not just the plot that I love, but the completeness of Tolkien's world. He has developed a whole history, mythology, geography and etymology for it, all incredibly detailed. The book does not describe these in detail, but has frequent sideways references to them. This is what sets it apart from other fantasies, the feeling of a complete reality in which the adventures are taking place, a rich and textured world. This adds a depth to the books which few others can match.

In all this is a great read in it's own right, and sets everything up nicely for the third installment. It has a lot of high advenure, and Tolkien's rich multilayered tale telling. It's a classic of it's time, and has to get 5 stars.  
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First published in 1954 TheTwo Towers is the second part of the epic saga, and Tolkien's masterpiece, The Lord Of The Rings. It has been a firm favourite of mine since I first read it over 25 years ago, and every time I return to the trilogy I find something new in this multilayered and deep piece of literature. I have worked my through it again recently, and with much temerity have decided to post a review of this stand out classic of classics.

In this second part of the trilogy, the tale becomes quite complex and breaks off into several strands. We are treated to Sam and Frodo's journey towards Mordor, The advenutures of Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli as they search for Merry and Pippin, and the adventures of the two missing Hobbits themselves. Along the way we meet the riders of Rohan, the men of Minas Tirith, Ents, Saruman and many other characters. There are tales of courage, bravery, treachery, wizadry, epic battles and lonely quests. This is a book that has it all.

I find when reading this that it not just the plot that I love, but the completeness of Tolkien's world. He has developed a whole history, mythology, geography and etymology for it, all incredibly detailed. The book does not describe these in detail, but has frequent sideways references to them. This is what sets it apart from other fantasies, the feeling of a complete reality in which the adventures are taking place, a rich and textured world. This adds a depth to the books which few others can match.

In all this is a great read in it's own right, and sets everything up nicely for the third installment. It has a lot of high advenure, and Tolkien's rich multilayered tale telling. It's a classic of it's time, and has to get 5 stars.

This unabridged reading from Rob Inglis is pretty good. For the most part it is excellent, though he can be a little flat in his delivery at times, and some of his voices are ill suited to the characters at times. All in all though it's a good reading. At 14 discs and clocking in at 16 hours 43 minutes of listening, this is perfect for the car on long journeys! I have to say that I listened to it back and forth to work over about a week, and my interest was maintained throughout, a testament to the skill of both author and reader. 5 stars all round.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2003
The two towers is a wonderful book on its own with amazing songs and poetry. The characters are brought to life in this set of cds with amazing voices. The songs are not spoken but sung, the elvish is very well spoken and fluent.
You'll want to listen to the cd over and over again. Its the best thing after watching the movie. Tolkien's books are knowen to be of amazing quality and one of the best classics of all time. This is a tale for an age but will be enjoyed more when you are older when you see the real quality of this work.
This adventure starts with the departure of boromir and the chase by Aragorn, legolas and gimli to find Merry and Pippin who have been captured by orcs. It later goes on about Frodo and Sam's frantic journey to destroy the ring, they are met by a character that they do not expect...
I would recomend this as a gift to anyone as it inspires everyone who reads it and they will wish they were there.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2001
The second part of Tolkien's exceptional story, "The Lord of the Rings", The Two Towers carries the cast further into their quest and ever closer to the land of the Dark Lord, Mordor. The book is just as well written as the first and is a must for anyone who has read the "Fellowship of the Ring". If you have already read the first book you don't need me to tell you how great the story is and you probably already have a copy of "The Two Towers" but for anyone new to the story, take my advice and read all three, I guarantee that this will be the best read of your life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
The Two Towers is the middle of Tolkien's epic saga, The Lord of the Rings. Widely considered as a classic, this trilogy begins in the rolling fields of the shire and takes us through a journey of enormous proportions till at last we reach our destination in Mordor. The character development as we go through this saga is second to none as we watch our heroes Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Gandalf, Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli and Boromir all do great deeds,to enable the fellowship to complete it's quest.

In this version of the book, it has a wonderful cover design which draws on the story itself and cleverly depicts the battle of Helm's Deep, a key battle in the story. As this is part of a set, it also has a sleeve design which when placed together with the other books in this set forms one of the most prominent images from the three books, the white tree of Gondor. A well crafted cover, with maps featuring inside the sleeves, I would recommend this version of The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers to any one who wishes to own their own version of this masterpiece.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse