Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make them all!
Anyone who has purchased a cookery book knows that they are unlikely to make every recipe contained in it. However, with this one there is such a wealth of knowledge, tradition and perhaps most importantly culinary passion that any home cook worth their 'maldon salt' will make most of them. And if it still doesn't inspire you and you can only muster the enthusiasm to...
Published on 13 May 2004 by Mike

versus
38 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great TV series though!
I like Rick Stein - a lot. He comes across as being passionate about food and it's production. I would go so far as to say that 'Food Heroes' was the best ever TV 'cookery' program ever!
So what's the problem with the book. There are two in my opinion. They say that you taste food with your eyes before you eat. The book therefore numbs all interest in cooking...
Published on 18 Nov 2002 by Tim Chaney


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make them all!, 13 May 2004
By 
Mike (Privett, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Anyone who has purchased a cookery book knows that they are unlikely to make every recipe contained in it. However, with this one there is such a wealth of knowledge, tradition and perhaps most importantly culinary passion that any home cook worth their 'maldon salt' will make most of them. And if it still doesn't inspire you and you can only muster the enthusiasm to make one recipe then make it the lemon tart on page 170 it's brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant results !, 28 Aug 2006
By 
Mrs. J. DOHERTY (zurich switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Instructions are simple and the results are brilliant everytime. Having had a number of successes from trying the recipes in the book, I also started to watch his series Heroes:Another Helping on TV. Made me want to get the book out and try more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cookbook which supports real food, 1 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rick Stein's Food Heroes (Hardcover)
This is an excellent addition to anyone's collection of cookbooks. It has a good selection of recipes and makes the most of real food. The book is backed up with a helpful directory of food producers and outlets. Whilst Rick Stein is undoubtably associated with fish, this book shows an enthusiasm for other food as well and a desire to support quality food producers. This book deserves to be read and its support for British food is most welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So useful, 24 Mar 2003
This review is from: Rick Stein's Food Heroes (Hardcover)
This book is great - great recipes of course, but also a really useful list of suppliers. My favourite though is the section at the back of recipes for accompaniments to serve with the main dishes. It's so nice to have a bit of help working out what the perfect foil to your hard work should be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rick Stein's Food Heroes, 21 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rick Stein's Food Heroes (Hardcover)
I couldn't help but buy this book having watched it being televised on BBC 2 and being amazed at how much research Rick had done towards it. Food Heroes is a wonderful book, with lots of exciting recipes, fabulous pictures and it is great that we have seen Rick do recipes which contain more than just fish which we normally associate with him!
Rick comes across as being extremely passionate about buying fresh and good quality produce from across England and highlighting those businesses which many of us have never heard of.
I have made the Mascarpone Ice Cream with Blueberry Compote which was delicious and have also cooked the Sea Bass with Stir-Fried Vegetables which has the most amazing flavours running through it!
I just wanted to thank him for making my Thursday evening's more interesting, I so look forward to 8.00pm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try the lamb curry..., 9 Mar 2009
By 
Melone "Melone" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
...it'll go down a storm. What a fantastic book not only to cook from, but to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cookbook everyone should have, 14 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rick Stein's Food Heroes (Hardcover)
A good cookbook with most enjoyable recipes. Good for Rick Stein for promoting quality british food and showing what real food tastes like. The directory of suppliers is included and this is an excellent reference source. Highly recommended and I hope more people support these food producers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book in very good condition, 5 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rick Stein's Food Heroes (Hardcover)
This book is inspiring - good recipes, beautifully written and illustrated. This copy was bought for a very low price second-hand in almost new condition. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars food heroes, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rick Stein's Food Heroes (Hardcover)
Saw this on my sisters cookery shelf and decided to try and get a copy bought it off the secondhand books and it was in good condition as it was described by the sellers and a really good addition to my cookery books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good choice, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rick Stein's Food Heroes (Hardcover)
Big book, full of good recipe's, and the best part purchased from a hospice shop so all the funds go back to that hospice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rick Stein's Food Heroes
Rick Stein's Food Heroes by Rick Stein (Hardcover - 5 Sep 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews