Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mammels
This book is the best of the authors series.It deals with animal behaviour rather than animal species although animals are used as descriptions of particular types of animal behaviour.
The well written text is divided into 10 finely researched chapters each with their own particular stories and examples.
The 10 chapters cover a)animal design-as relating to...
Published on 6 April 2009 by G. I. Forbes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a television transcript than a book
I haven't seen the television series on which this is based but I can imagine it - impressive scenes of animals taken all over the world, with David Attenborough's unmistakable earnest voiceover and cameos of him standing alongside some rare species in an isolated spot whispering to the audience so as not to scare the beast away.

It may be good television but...
Published 9 months ago by John Fitzpatrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 3 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Life of Mammals (Hardcover)
This is interesting, beautifully presented and you can almost hear David Attenborough's voice as you are reading it! Accompanied by superb photography this is a pleasure to read and makes a fantastic gift to the animal mad. Well worth the money and time taken to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life of Mammals, 15 Jan 2003
This review is from: Life of Mammals (Hardcover)
Bought as a present for my nephew, a young and very keen animal lover, he is very rarely seen without it. A most beautiful book with all the care and attention to detail that you'd expect from David Attenborough. The thought gone in to the television series and the book is outstanding and is good reading for both children and adult, with a curiosity for learning more about animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life of Mammals - David Attenborough, 14 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Life of Mammals (Hardcover)
Product received was in excellent condition as described and was sent out quickly and efficiently - thanks very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, a great read, 1 July 2008
By 
K. Mckay "Kaiko" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life of Mammals (Hardcover)
I bought this book just before I went on holiday and could hardly put it down! It's well written and doesn't use phrases and terms that an average person wouldn't understand. It is well illustrated which comes in very handy as if you're anything like me you won't have a clue what many of these animals look like. There is a lot of information squeezed in and some animals are only briefly touched on while others have a lot more pages dedicated to them, but with the age of the internet a quick Wiki search will satisfy any desire you may have to know more but I personally didn't feel the need. A definite recommendation for anyone with an interest in animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another wonderful book!, 11 Jan 2003
This review is from: Life of Mammals (Hardcover)
I have to say that this, like most of David's other series that have been written as books aswell, hits the top again! It is full of wonderful, well presented, information and pictures to acompany it.
I recomend it to anyone looking for a good book for a present for a friend or if they just want it for themselves. Whoever buys it will gain much enjoyment from this brilliant volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life of Mammals
Life of Mammals by David Attenborough (Hardcover - 17 Oct 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews