Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars113
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 March 2004
If you plan to buy only one book on seafood, make it this one. It is by far THE BEST book around. Rick Stein cooks simple, clean yet unbelievably flavoursome seafood ever.
There are 3 parts to this book - Techniques, Recipes and Information. In part one, Rick's clear explanations supported by good close up shots of how to prepare various seafood from skate to scallops is simply indispensable.
The second part is all about recipes - mothwatering stuff here, be warned. There are traditional dishes, with or without a modern twist as well as exotic consoctions from Asia and Africa. No fish is spared the Stein treatment: he works his magic on skate, cod, eel, sardine, monkfish, bass, herring, smelt,mullet, mussels, oysters, scallops, squids etc etc etc.
And finally, part three has enough info on seafood that will allow you to impress a marine biologist at the dinner table. And for the rest of us, Rick has included some basic recipes such as home-made mayo, italian salsa verde, lemobgrass butter etc.
This is a good honest book. Buy it.
0Comment|107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2002
Comprehensively the best book on fish EVER!
This is an absolute must-have for any one who cooks, wants to cook, or
simply enjoys eating sea-food. The book contains a whole section focussing
on technique, with detailed photos and step-by-step instructions on how to
choose, prepare and cook every type of seafood you've ever heard of (and a
few you haven't!). This ranges from filleting a sole or a salmon, shelling
and de-veining prawns, shucking oysters, and dressing crabs to how to
choose (and subsequently despatch) live lobsters and even how to prepare
sea-urchins (for the braver readers).

The book then deals with basic preparation techniques including grilling,
poaching, frying and smoking fish and explains which methods are suited to
which kind of fish. Again, there are loads of step-by-step photos so it's
easy to follow. All this is followed by a huge collection of recipes,
ranging from the very simple to the rather complicated. As well as many
original and unusual recipes, there are instructions on how to prepare
gravadlax, salmon en croute, moules mariniere and all the other classic
seafood dishes you can think of.
The book suggests alternative types of fish that can be used in most of the
recipes, to encourage the reader to buy whatever fish looks freshest and
best, rather than rigidly buying the one used in the recipe!
Finally, the book contains a section on identifying fish - it looks
interesting I have been so engrossed in the rest that I haven't even
read this section yet! This is a great book that any cook will enjoy!
0Comment|103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2002
This book is always my first stop when returning from the fishmonger - I own several of Rick's other books including the excellent English Seafood Cookery, but this is definitely the best when you are looking for inspiration - the clear pictures make sure of that.
It is a great book for people wanting to get interested in fish cookery. The comprehensive guide to preparing fish makes gutting and filleting less of a chore and the book contains recipes from quick supper dishes to elegant dinner party dishes including alternative choices of fish - useful for the landlocked like me who have access to a limited range of good fresh fish.
Rick Stein is especially strong on curries - better than most specialist Indian cookery books in my opinion.
0Comment|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2003
This is the first Rick Stein book that I have bought and I have to say I am very impressed with it. I needed a book which gave details of the varieties of fish available, how to prepare them and also the all imprortant recipes. This book gives it all. I would definately recommend it.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2003
Rick Stein, quite simply, is a must for anyone who just wants cook with no pretentious nonsence. Just using the best ingredients and isn't frightened to re-present something traditional (possibly unfashionable).
This book carries this on and as well as some brilliant recpeies it also doubles as a fantastic resource for anyone who wants to get down and dirty with fresh fish. want to know how to prepare and cook squid? Not sure how to store and cook shellfish? this is all you'll need.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2008
As a Professional chef, I am pleased that I can still find books that are truly inspirational and helpful. If you need to learn basic fish teqniques then this book you should buy. Rick knows what he's talking about especially when it comes to fish.

The book is divided into 3 parts. It starts with easy step by step techniques with photos of how to prep, cut and cook a variety of fish. The second part gives you recipes to try when you have mastered the techiques and then follows the third part which is gives detailed information and diagrams of fish varieties complete with their latin names.

I truly recommend this book for anybody who wants to learn new skills whether professional or amateur. It has helped me when producing new menus
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2001
This an excellent book if you're serious about cooking fish. The book gives you all the techniques from scaling and gutting to skinning and boning fish in clear easy steps. The book is laid out in an easy to read style with plenty of photos. Section at back of book showing all fish families is interesting. Definitely worth buying!
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2003
If you're having difficulty deciding which Rick Stein book to buy, I suggest you go for this one! Many of his recipes from other books and TV series are featured here and this book has by far the best layout
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2007
As non meat eaters, fish is a very important staple in our household. This book is a great reference manual, particularly if you want to be more adventurous with different types of fish. It gives great advice on how to fillet all types of fish, with clear instructions.

The recipes are simple to follow, well written, and much in the same style as Rick delivers in his TV shows. Even the most basic recipe, like fish pie, is outstanding, and I am always asked for the recipe when I cook any of his dishes for dinner parties. Of all my fish cookery books (and believe me, I have quite a few!), this is the one that I refer to time and time again, and the one that I know will deliver consistently good results.

Bon appetit!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2006
Rick Stein's passion for sea food is unparreleled to the extent that i would call him the best sea food chef in Britain if not further a field. This book looks at the classics in addition to prtraying new twists on od dishes. it shows how his travels around britain and the worl have influenced his cooking and the flavours he uses and the produce he uses.

His easy to follow receipes and flowing writing style allow even the most inept chef to start cooking wonderful seafood dishes that would inspire even the most adement seafood haters into considering tasting his delectible contributions to the world of food and drink.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)