Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my most used cook books, 12 April 2010
By 
S. R. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
Easy to follow recipes with reliable results.

Great Christmas turkey recipe, best ever recipe I've made for Toad in the Hole and Yorkshire puddings. Had several Rhodes books in the past and found the recipes a bit fiddly, but this book is much better, my copy is covered in food splatters....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book - Best Yet!, 10 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
I have several of Gary's cookery books but this is the best. Great Price too - Not to be missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE definitive cookbook, 11 Feb. 2013
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
I have lost count of the number of times that I have used this book. Out of all my cook books this is my favourite. Rhodes has a classy style which produces a smooth finish showing not only in the flavours but also the techniques and the way in which the recipes are written.

The recipes are well laid out and easy to follow. They turn out first time which means more on the table and less in the bin!

I would not like to estimate how many recipes there are in this book, it is huge! Good home cooking at its best, a must have for any collection and terrific value. Covering a myriad of sauces, roasts, veg, baking, cakes, puddings, fish, starters all from scratch but without taking all week to make.

Even if you are an accomplished cook already I would be very surprised if this book did not offer you the opportunity to improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book fot the british classics, 15 Oct. 2010
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
you can't go wrong with this book, recipes are just the best of british classics and they simply work, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made My Christmas!!!, 4 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
As an absolute novice to cooking Roasts, you would probably find it hard to believe that I chose Christmas day to start. I used Gary's book to help and actualy found it an enjoyable experience. According to all who sat down to eat the finished product (Turkey) it was the best they had ever tasted!! Thanks go to Gary for making my first atempt at cooking a Roast a successful one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome gift, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
This was a gift for a friend in the USA who wanted to try proper ritish recipes and who is absolutely delighted with it - I knew she would be as I have long had a copy. It was a second hand book ordered in UK. The postage was reasonable and she received it very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vegetarians take a closer look at Gary's British classics, 17 Dec. 1999
By 
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
You really will be surprised at the depth of flavours that are available in this classic cookbook. Get into the kitchen and follow Gary as he brings British food back to it's place on your table. Change a few of the ingredients and repalce with a few veggies, nuts. legumes or lentils and you too can enjoy full flavour and texture that comes with the British Classic. This book is a great read and the photography is up to the standard of a BBC nature programme. Honest it will change your veggie flavours and really will tantalise your taste buds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book that treats British recipes with the reverence they deserve, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
I think Garry is the finest exponent of traditional British cooking around. His recipes and drive for perfection lift tiring old English dishes up to the same level as any other style of cooking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for The Cookery Bookshelf, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
Peter Jay "petjay" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
An excellent book of recipes that typify Gary Rhodes' cooking style. Uncomplicated but tasty and enjoyable to cook. It is already one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars YET ANOTHER COOKERY BOOK, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
I have always liked Gary Rhode's approach to cooking and he gives easy recipes which are not too elaborate. His recipes are clear and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New British Classics
New British Classics by Gary Rhodes (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2001)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews